Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. S. F. H. Gilani

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is honestly one of the worst horror films I've seen for quite some time
This film represents everything wrong with modern day horror movies. It's a remake of a movie that didn't need remaking, and despite the tone of the original this one takes itself far too seriously. It relies on excessive gore and frivolous attempts at jump-scares to make it 'frightening' and not once manages to build any tension or suspense. The characters make...
Published 15 days ago by Adasha


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly original upside down opening scene of the car heading for the cabin ( loved that) & the subtle changes are evident throughout the movie but the good thing is that THEY WORK and are a refreshing & welcome change. I was sceptical at first about the movie but this remake is as good as or even better than Sam Raimi's original film. Cleverly the original beige Buick car is seen in this film, the shocks are startling & is it scary? Brilliantly so. The gore is plentiful & the possessed characters are nightmarish.
I love this film because it clearly has respect for the original. Being produced by Sam Raimi, Robert Tapert & Bruce Campbell is a clear sign as to why this film is a total success. 10 out of 10 from me. A rare score for a remake? I think so !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is honestly one of the worst horror films I've seen for quite some time, 5 Dec 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
This film represents everything wrong with modern day horror movies. It's a remake of a movie that didn't need remaking, and despite the tone of the original this one takes itself far too seriously. It relies on excessive gore and frivolous attempts at jump-scares to make it 'frightening' and not once manages to build any tension or suspense. The characters make unbelievable choices that are not only nonsensical but against their own characterisations. Everything just 'happens', with the absolute minimal effort expended giving any form of justification or background to the events that unfold. It throws so many overused plot devices at you, you could play TV Tropes bingo and everyone would win.

This is honestly one of the worst horror films I've seen for quite some time, and I think there hasn't been a really good horror movie made for over a decade. We are living through an era where true horror - the type that makes your stomach tighten and prevents you sleeping that night - seems to be a forgotten art. How many Saws, Hostels or near-identical zombie/mutant/inbred films must we go through before we remember that horror != schlock? Maybe I'm getting cynical, or maybe I'm 'used' to the genre, but I think back to classic nightmare fuel like Alien, or The Thing and I realise that no modern horror scares me any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great..., 17 Dec 2013
By 
Galliworm (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I made the mistake of believing the hype surrounding this movie and was left a bit underwhelmed by it all.
Positives - it doesn't try to be a remake of the original, but a stand alone movie in its own right. It doesn't rely on CGI effects, preferring good old fashioned prosthetics (the electric carving knife scene is a corker!). The cast are effective (if a little un memorable) and the sets are terrific.
Negatives - no central character you want to root for. Not very scary for a movie that is supposed to be "The most terrifying film you will ever experience". An abrupt ending that made me ask "Is that it?"
All in all, well made but not the terror-fest I hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD, GIVE ME A BREAK, 14 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nifty Re-Invention of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead, 24 Nov 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a spirited and highly effective re-imagining of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead, a movie which is of course one of the all-time horror greats and a standard bearer for all that's good about scary films - Evil Dead Trilogy [Blu-ray].
Here, a group of five, twenty-something Americans, gather for a few days in a rundown and secluded log cabin. David is going to help his younger sister Mia to go cold turkey and kick her drug habit. He's assisted by three friends, Eric, Natalie and Olivia.
Mia's mongrel dog, Grandad, gets excited by the strong odours coming from the basement in the cabin. The friends take a look and find the remains of many woodland creatures suspended from the rafters.
Eric discovers an ancient old book, which is covered with decayed skin, and innocently he starts to read the incantations. What Eric doesn't know, is that he's rousing the evil spirits who lurk in the forest...
Sam Raimi, in the original version, struck gold with a very clever fusion of the zombie and ghost genres - his monsters were a magnificently chilling hybrid of both spooks and the living dead. This modern retelling has the same fundamental premise, but it is also more than just a slavish frame by frame reboot. However, the film still pays homage to the original, by recreating some of the stand out sequences which gave worldwide notoriety to Raimi's pic, for example, the rape of Mia by the forest.
Mia warns David of the evil hiding in the woods, but he interprets that as an excuse for her to leave the cabin and get back on the drugs. He insists that she stays put, and before long, Mia is the first to fall victim to a possession. The story then turns very nasty indeed. For instance, there's one scene involving a syringe, which gave me very unpleasant memories of Audition - Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001]. There's also some very grim unpleasantness with an electric carving knife and a nail gun...
The original Evil Dead had a comedic element, largely stemming from the character of Ash, played by the horror icon Bruce Campbell. The comedy was only a very minor ingredient, more akin in spirit to An American Werewolf In London rather than Shaun Of The Dead - An American Werewolf in London [Blu-ray] [Region Free], Shaun of the Dead [Blu-ray] [2004]. This remake strips the story back to its horror core, all the comedy is removed, there's no clownish character like Ash.
During recent years, there have been some superb horror remakes, including House On Haunted Hill, The Hills Have Eyes and Dawn Of The Dead - House On Haunted Hill [DVD] [1999], The Hills Have Eyes/The Hills Have Eyes 2 [Blu-ray], Dawn Of The Dead (The Directors Cut) [DVD] [2004]. This remake of Evil Dead is on a par with the aforementioned films.
This flick doesn't quite achieve 5 stars, simply because none of the five characters takes hold of the movie and makes it really special - the film suffers from the absence of an actor with the charisma of, well, somebody like Bruce Campbell. However, the closing 15 minutes is extremely gripping, such that I'd give the film 4.5 stars if I could.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
P.S. The best horror films I've seen in 2014 are Wolf Creek 2, Venom and American Mary, all of which I can thoroughly recommend to any horror aficionado - Wolf Creek 2 [Blu-ray],Venom [DVD], American Mary [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free].Wolf Creek 2 is stunningly good, it has to be seen to be believed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After the success of Marcus Nispels Texas chainsaw massacre in 2003 we have had most of the classic horror films of the 1970s and 80s remade. This is a good effort and continues the mythology of the book of the dead. The visuals continue the modern horror aesthetic of a brown, yellowy grungy vibe (inspired by Nispel) with lots of splatterings of gore and blood that will appeal to the post Saw/Hostel generation. It is far more violent than the original film, this made me go yuk whereas the original made me go agh! It's also faster paced then the original and the humour has gone as this film is a straight up horror piece.

Star of the original trilogy Bruce Campbell said in the extras that this film can be seen as a separate story, one in a parallel universe, where the question remains as to how the book ended up in that cabin. I also like the fact that there is no Ash in this (only one man can play that role) and that the film features a strong heroine, something the franchise will benefit from. A crossover evil dead featuring Mia and Ash would be something to look forward too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars overrated crap modern remake, why all the positive reviews?, 27 Sep 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie i judged based on being a stand alone seperate to my love for the original and i still hated it. Whats bad you say? The story is lame, the characters have no development to them and are unlikeble you want them to die asap, bad acting, not scary, gore for the sake of it. I did think the music score was ok and some of the directing shots were nice but it just failed to entertain as a stabd alone horror movie let alone a remake to a horror classic. Hollywood cant do decent remakes in this era they lose focus of what made the originals so good.

Stick with the original- fun,tons of atmosphere, inventive, ash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars you get exactly what you expect., 30 Oct 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
You cant really talk about this film honestly without talking about the originals, without them this film wouldn't be worth mentioning.

That's not to say its a bad film, but its not a great film worthy of any attention. The story to the entire series of evil dead films (with one notable exception) is a flimsy excuse for a slasher movie that takes place in one cabin. It's not exactly the deepest plot if we are honest but it was inventive, something new and cheap to make since you have only one location.

The things that made the film work were the inventive nature of the film and the charisma of Ash. This film is a remake of something that was inventive in its time, but isn't anymore. And it lacks a character like Ash, along with a lot of the humor that set apart the originals.

It needed something in place of that gimmick, in place of that humor and what I think they attempted was to flesh out the story to the next level. But it just wasn't enough in my opinion, the story doesn't go anywhere interesting, it doesn't explain anything really. All it does is layer more unexplained things onto things that were already unexplained.

I wont say this is a bad, but I cant say its good either. Its middle of the road, acceptable, dull, predictable. You get what you expect to get out of watching it and you probably wont feel too disappointed because there are some good scenes, decent performances and general artistry.

But it just doesn't have the uniqueness of the originals, it couldn't by its nature capture originality while remaking something, but what I mean is it brought nothing unique to table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Respectable remake, worth a watch, especially on Prime, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
Watched this on Prime (great quality streaming of this title btw), expecting it to be pretty terrible. I think some people are confusing Evil Dead with Evil Dead 2. It wasn't until the second movie that it became a comedy, the tone of the first much more serious.
This movie pretty much is a straightforward remake in my eyes, you have events unfolding in a very similar manner. The reason they are there in the first place is different, but it's the same number of people, who are clearly cast based on similarities to the original cast.
Interesting decision not to go CGI heavy, and overall I enjoyed the production values. In fact, it really is just a visual/audio update of the original, which while bringing nothing new to it, because it's based on such a good movie in the first place, I still found entertaining. Perhaps I was just THAT bored.

The only thing that really I didn't care for, was the acting. None of the actors were remarkable, and therefore none of them had you screaming "Don't be stupid!!! Don't go there, don't fall for it!!". That's why I docked a star, and since I can't give half stars, it's a half a star over what I would have rated it as.
Definitely is worth a watch if you enjoyed the original, or if you are just into the horror genre at all. Given all the terrible terrible horror films that they've been releasing (they just DON'T make them like they used to) which just think gore is all you need, I found this not only watchable to the end, but entertaining also.

Decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars token horror remake #6747245, 16 Dec 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Another boring, pointless cookie-cutter horror remake...when will they stop? Stealing bits wholesale from the original Evil Dead, then adding some of the most generic horror clichés you can think of into the mix, this ends up being about as exhilaratingly scary as a daytrip to Weymouth. It's easy to sit back and criticize this stuff, but why don't they do something interesting? In the bonus documentary, this is described as not so much a remake as a "re-imagining", which is ironic because the lack of imagination and creativity going on here is remarkable. Okay they had an FX budget and there's a few gruesome set-pieces, but even these don't really shock, it's all been done before. The iconic 'evil entity racing through the woods' trick is overused in the first 20 minutes but to no effect. Again, why not put some kind of new twist on that, or do it a bit differently?

The script doesn't really improve matters either. Here's an actual line of dialogue:

"Everything is going to be fine. Everything is going to be fine. Everything is going to be fine. I don't know if you've noticed this, but nothing has been fine".

There is actually one highlight. In the opening stages one character more or less introduces himself to the main girl with: "I'm your brother" - just so that, like, the audience knows they're brother and sister, and stuff. That bit was the highlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead [Blu-ray] [2013]
Evil Dead [Blu-ray] [2013] by Fede Alvarez (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews