Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly...
Published 21 months ago by MR M.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The New Evil Dead
The Original Evil Dead is a cult classic that continues to scare and make you laugh in equal measure today! The remake is not a patch on the original for many reasons.

When studios decide to remake classic films they have a choice. They can follow it shot for shot (Psycho) or make a completely new film (The Thing), they could even copy the original but add a...
Published 1 month ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!, 25 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly original upside down opening scene of the car heading for the cabin ( loved that) & the subtle changes are evident throughout the movie but the good thing is that THEY WORK and are a refreshing & welcome change. I was sceptical at first about the movie but this remake is as good as or even better than Sam Raimi's original film. Cleverly the original beige Buick car is seen in this film, the shocks are startling & is it scary? Brilliantly so. The gore is plentiful & the possessed characters are nightmarish.
I love this film because it clearly has respect for the original. Being produced by Sam Raimi, Robert Tapert & Bruce Campbell is a clear sign as to why this film is a total success. 10 out of 10 from me. A rare score for a remake? I think so !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Evil!, 4 Jun. 2015
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
In truth this was always going to struggle to appease many of the horror hordes, Sam Raimi's original film held up as some sort of religious artifact that should never be tempered with - this even though it was considerably trumped by the sequel (erm: remake). Is it fair to say that even before it was released there were those hating it? It certainly seemed that way.

Can you judge this piece of horror film making on its own terms? Are there a new breed of horror film fans out there whom haven't seen Raimi's trilogy and therefore can go into it and get the tar shocked out of them? I hope so because this is a rip-snorter of a remake. Full of jumps, guts, gore, and genuine moments of terror, with Fede Alvarez and his team adding some fresh touches to Raimi's original nightmare.

It is what it is, a horror remake of an old favourite that ramps up the horror and uses the tools available to splinter the ears - turn the stomach - and fray the nerves. It's illogical, daft even at times, but this is one of the better horror remakes of recent times, a real pant soiler. Bravo you undead muthas. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reboot of The Evil Dead., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
Considering how few remakes actually equal or better their originals, I didn't hold out much hope for the new Evil Dead, though I couldn't have been more wrong.
Even as a fan of the original Sam Raimi Evil Dead films this 2013 update is a worthy addition to the franchise. The clever thing about the film is that it's less of a remake and more a re-imagining set within the Evil Dead "universe", Director Fede Alvarez cleverly sets the film within the settings of the original The Evil Dead, and then creates his own film which holds up independently as a great horror movie in its own right. It lacks the quirkiness and humour of the original and a central hero "Ash" character, though what remains is a far darker, bloody and violent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The New Evil Dead, 3 Jun. 2015
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Original Evil Dead is a cult classic that continues to scare and make you laugh in equal measure today! The remake is not a patch on the original for many reasons.

When studios decide to remake classic films they have a choice. They can follow it shot for shot (Psycho) or make a completely new film (The Thing), they could even copy the original but add a few little changes for the modern audience. Results will depend on the quality of the film makers and the vision they have. This Evil Dead decides to re-invent most of the story in an attempt to flesh it out and give its characters a bit more depth.

In doing so it loses all of the originals gutsy bravado and genuinely scary scenarios. Here its starts off badly and progressively descends into the very pits of hell it aims to scare you with. The dialogue (or should I say DIRE-logue) is terrible. Its cheesy and unnatural in most cases. The brother sister relationship that attempts to anchor the story and make the audience care is just painful and the non descript friends are just pointless fodder.

The special effects are suitably gory and modern but again there is not a single moment that will scare you or even send a shiver down you spine. This is a noisy ham-fisted retelling of a story that in truth didn't need retelling.

The original story has plenty of flaws but mixed humour and horror perfectly and had some amazing stand out moments. The story was never its strongest suit and its even more obvious in this new version. If the book of the dead cannot be destroyed why didn't the people who discovered it in the first place just bury it 10ft under ground? The lead Character, David, copes remarkably well after having a bullet put through his shoulder, his recovery time is on par with Wolverine. It is these moments that stand out in the remake.

The original was tongue in cheek, this one doesn't even know what it wants to be. Maybe it was just missing some charisma in Bruce Campbell? Unfortunately this just ends up being terrifying for all the wrong reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic remake., 19 April 2014
When a remake of The Evil Dead was to be made fans of the originals moaned as another classic horror could be about to be ruined.
But as somebody who has never seen the old one or its sequels I decided to watch the remake first then go back one day and watch the old movies.
I'm so very happy I did as this reboot is one of the best and surprising horror movies in a long time maybe of all time.
I have began to get a bit sick of recent horror movies as a lot of them coming out lately are either constant found footage films(which I love when done right)or rubbish straight to DVD drivel so it was so lovely to see a horror movie that tried something different and was the first one in probably about 4 or 5 years that I gave a full 5 stars to and that surprises me as not many of the horror films I have ever seen especially in the last decade get that amount of praise.
The film itself starts off a little slow and think it will be the same old same old but in about 15 to 20 minutes it turns into a gore filled,action packed,scary rollercoaster of a thrill ride but I must warn you though you may know already this is not for the faint hearted or weak of stomach and is certainly not for granny or mum but who knows they may like it.
The actors also which makes a very nice change from other recent scary films are all excellent(actors in most horror films lately are so bad they could be mistaken for woodworm)especially the quite stunning Jane Levy who plays the main role of Mia and is excellent as both the hero and the villain but for me is best as hero with without doubt one of the finest performances in a horror film I have ever seen and that's either male or female and nice to see a woman lead a film like this.
The film is more exciting than scary with jaw dropping uses of gore and highlighted with a incredible end sequence(believe me it will blow you away)but there are some genuine frights and the movie is extremely dark in most places and is a proper horror flick not like some other films that are just too stupid to be scary.
Its not the finest horror ever made but I would put it in a my top 10 ever towards the 10 mark but for me the best horror over the last 5 to 6 years and as I said before lovely to see a 5 star horror at last.
If others say this sucks its up to them but I think its awesome and probably the best horror remake of all time.
Groovy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD, GIVE ME A BREAK, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point horror, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Ben (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Evil Dead is a remake of the 1981 classic and wastes no time in jumping straight into the action.

A strong opening tells the audience exactly what's to come and then the story begins...

Exposition at its most blatant and unapologetic is demonstrated, within 5 minutes you are told exactly who everyone is in relation to one another and what you need to know about them. Doing this in any other film always feels forced and clunky but it works in Evil Dead, we just don't care about how long they've been friends or the fact that one of them is a high school teacher and thats why he loves old books. It get's all that necessary information out of the way so we can dive into the horror and trust me, once the horror actually starts there's not a second of a breather.

I love the fact that there is a totally legit explanation for the fact that they can't leave the cabin in the woods, it gives such a realistic and morbid tone that is lacking in other horror films. The thinking and logic of it is a simple touch that just puts the audience at ease and allows them to enjoy the film rather than poke holes in the plot like - "Why don't they just leave?"

The whole film is just a rollercoaster of gore and horror and I loved every second of it. It builds and builds at an incredible rate and the climax is a spectacular, old fashioned fight for survival. An absolute bloodbath is a completely satisfying end to a film that pulls no punches.

As far as comparing it to the original, I don't think too much of a comparison can be made. It's a modern take on an old film by a new generation of film makers, they make their own version and don't pander too much to try and "remake" the original as such. I like the idea that it can exist in a parallel universe with the original, this is talked about a lot by the original film makers. There are throw backs to the original for the die hard fans but it doesn't feel crowbarred in just to please the fans.

The blu ray is good, all the gory fun is spectacular in high definition and the surround sound is a treat with all the splatters and atmosphere.

Evil Dead will leave you speechless and hopefully it will make you laugh, cringe and maybe throw up?

A very strong horror film that doesn't take itself too seriously but delivers a gut punch that has been missing from most of todays horror.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The most remaky remake ever remade, 22 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
There are two ways to watch the 2013 version of Evil Dead. If you weren't watching horror in the eighties then you'll probably view this as a competent little horror flick. The acting is decent, as are the special effects. There are a few bits that make you jump and other scenes are reasonably creepy. Therefore, you may conclude that, if you were looking for a decent horror film, then you have found one.

Then there's the other way of looking at it. If, like me, you were a fan of Bruce Campbell's shenanigans in the eighties, as he depicted the wise-cracking `Ash' who was in the original trilogy, then you may be thinking why did you bother watching this?

I knew the remake had no humour. I was prepared for that. I can enjoy an outright horror film without the `tongue-in-cheekness' of the original. However, the central characters are pretty damn unlikeable. Without the humour, they're a miserable bunch who you won't really care much about - they're just a collection of stereotypes, i.e. the blonde, the brunette, the jock, the geek and the other one - `Mia' - who is a teenager trying to get herself off drugs (and failing) and therefore hardly someone we can identify with (hopefully). The opening drags as we're supposed to `get to know' the characters. It felt like this part occupied the first half of the film. I checked the timer and it had only been on for 23 minutes (it felt like 45). Never a good sign.

So, the film plays out pretty much the same as the original. All the aspects are there - the bucketloads of blood, the tree, the thing we never see that runs through the wood and the trapdoor under the cabin. Therefore, if we've seen it before in the original, there's little point in us watching it again. Yes, the film has a more `polished' feel, but there's nothing new here. They tried to stick to the original by keeping to the plot, which just leaves those who've already watched the original finding little new with what's been done to the new version.

If you've never seen the original and you like horror, you'll probably like this. However, I just felt that `no Ask = no point.' Another great classic plundered and failed. If you want to watch a half decent remake of a horror classic, only the 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A superb remake of a superb film..., 26 Aug. 2013
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I really like the original Evil Dead film directed by Sam Raimi, so I was quite excited about this remake. Usually, horror remakes are terrible (Friday the 13th, anyone?) but after hearing strong reviews and being disgusted by the trailer, I became really hyped for this movie. I'm happy to say that it didn't disappoint. Evil Dead is a gory, twisted and very fun horror remake that fully lives up to the original classic. I'm not saying that some day this remake will be considered a classic, but it was still an incredibly entertaining hour and a half. The acting was good across the board, unusual for a horror film. Jane Levy in particular was very strong as lead character Mia. The storyline payed homage to the original while adding some new things too. I really thought the reason they came to the cabin and why they couldn't leave was a very smart move and actually improved on that aspect of the original. The effects were gory and fantastically done. I'm so happy that they didn't resort to overuse of CGI, instead using prosthetics and make up. A scene where rain turns to blood was brilliantly done. A flaw I had with the film was that some of the characters (like the blond girl) aren't very well developed. Mia and her brother are though, and there emotional backstory adds some depth to the otherwise gruesome plot. In the end, Evil Dead is well worth your time and money, and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gore Bore So Much for a Snore., 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I understand the energy and input to make a reboot/sequal out of a classic evil dead.

But you would think that today's film makers or money makers are in it for the cash, coming from the origianl team who brought you the classic this film does stick out like a sore thump in an ettempt to re-do a classic.
Before i wathced this film i have to admit that I was sort of excited as I was told Ash Williams (Bruce Campbell) was at the end credits, but only saying Groovy.

So now onto the film itself, it felt like the film was entirely shot in studio instead of the creepy forest from the original, the book was not as scary as the original nor was the film scary like the original.

Gone is the atmosphere that to me in the original was the pinnacle of the film, creepy, horrific and dame well spooky, what this film does instead is gives you gore. I think the audience is sick to death of gore by now, and by the end, the last final scene sucked like hell, that demon was so easy to kill off and looked boring.

I do like parts of this film, but only parts, but by the originals standards, it doesn't do me anything.

However do like the idea of a cross over with Ash, but please do it justice this time. Sam Raimi take control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead [DVD] [2013]
Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] by Fede Alvarez (DVD - 2013)
£2.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews