Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly...
Published 18 months ago by MR M.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD, GIVE ME A BREAK
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD, GIVE ME A BREAK, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant because it's NOT identcal to original movie !!, 25 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So the new EVIL DEAD is here. The original 1982 movie was a groundbreaking & original film. And this remake is a total success because it DOESN'T try to imitate the original frame by frame. That would have been lazy and pointless as the 1982 film, in my view, was impossible to improve upon.
This new version retains all the atmosphere, has an unnerving & superbly original upside down opening scene of the car heading for the cabin ( loved that) & the subtle changes are evident throughout the movie but the good thing is that THEY WORK and are a refreshing & welcome change. I was sceptical at first about the movie but this remake is as good as or even better than Sam Raimi's original film. Cleverly the original beige Buick car is seen in this film, the shocks are startling & is it scary? Brilliantly so. The gore is plentiful & the possessed characters are nightmarish.
I love this film because it clearly has respect for the original. Being produced by Sam Raimi, Robert Tapert & Bruce Campbell is a clear sign as to why this film is a total success. 10 out of 10 from me. A rare score for a remake? I think so !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the standard for the rest of 2013!, 8 April 2013
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Having relatively recently experienced the tepid, CGI heavy offerings of the remakes of John Carpenter's 'The Thing' and 'The Fog', I wasn't getting my hopes up about the Evil Dead remake which is directed and co-written by Uruguayan filmmaker Fede Alvarez. The 1981 original was considered one of the most violent films of its time and was consigned to that group of film's known as "video nasties".

If you've not seen the original and aren't convinced by the fairly pedestrian synopsis provided, check out the red band trailer, not the watered down UK version; that ought to convince you!
Having now seen the whole movie, I can testify that it lives up to the hype! The premise behind the group's trip to the cabin is more realistic than many other movies of a similar ilk. This is no hiking trip gone wrong. This group are here for an intervention to get one of their own to go cold turkey and get clean of heroin. This makes it all the more plausible when they choose to remain when things start going wrong...

Shiloh Fernandez (Deadgirl, Red Riding Hood), Lou Taylor Pucci (Jack and Diane), Jessica Lucas (Cloverfield, The Covenant) and Elizabeth Blackmore are all able enough in their roles but for me, it was Jane Levy (Suburgatory) that stood out in this film. Levy's performance as the girl hooked on heroin trying to get clean is as equally convincing as her turn when possessed by a malevolent demon.

Evil Dead is a particularly slick and brutal horror that is most certainly not for the faint-hearted. The special effects are really well done and it's nice to see a horror movie that merits its "18" certificate and doesn't take any prisoners when it comes to the gore. I consider myself a fairly well-seasoned horror fan and even I was squirming in my seat at times! The publicity for this film stated that there's no CGI in Evil Dead. However, I fail to see how such effects could have been realistically achieved with practical work but I'm no expert!

Those hoping for some of the humour present in the original films will be left disappointed. To my mind, this isn't a problem since the genre is currently awash with horror-comedies and subsequently, it's refreshing to see a film that simply revels in the fact that it is a visceral and violent horror.
The pace of the film is quite simply relentless, seamlessly taking the viewer through a gamut of maiming, mutilation, dismemberment, immolation and exsanguinations; and that's just for starters. Although a remake, this film isn't identical to the original and that's no bad thing. This is very much a modern retelling of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead and does not suffer having been dragged into the 21st century.

On a negative note, I thought the film still had a studio-set feel to it, when I was hoping for something a little grittier and less polished. However, in the grand scheme of things, this is a very small point against a fantastic horror film!

In short, Evil Dead has thoroughly impressed me. I would suggest that Evil Dead has set the standard for forthcoming releases this year and is a breed apart from recent sub-standard remakes and derivative horror comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reboot of The Evil Dead., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
Considering how few remakes actually equal or better their originals, I didn't hold out much hope for the new Evil Dead, though I couldn't have been more wrong.
Even as a fan of the original Sam Raimi Evil Dead films this 2013 update is a worthy addition to the franchise. The clever thing about the film is that it's less of a remake and more a re-imagining set within the Evil Dead "universe", Director Fede Alvarez cleverly sets the film within the settings of the original The Evil Dead, and then creates his own film which holds up independently as a great horror movie in its own right. It lacks the quirkiness and humour of the original and a central hero "Ash" character, though what remains is a far darker, bloody and violent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great..., 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Galliworm (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
I made the mistake of believing the hype surrounding this movie and was left a bit underwhelmed by it all.
Positives - it doesn't try to be a remake of the original, but a stand alone movie in its own right. It doesn't rely on CGI effects, preferring good old fashioned prosthetics (the electric carving knife scene is a corker!). The cast are effective (if a little un memorable) and the sets are terrific.
Negatives - no central character you want to root for. Not very scary for a movie that is supposed to be "The most terrifying film you will ever experience". An abrupt ending that made me ask "Is that it?"
All in all, well made but not the terror-fest I hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better on the second viewing without the expectations., 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Aron Freeth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film had one of the best trailers I've ever seen. I hadn't been this excited for a movie release in years and the red band Trailer nailed it! Problem was it ruined the film! Almost every shock sequence was in the trailer and when I came to watch the film at the cinema, I was disappointed.

I thought i'd purchase this movie on DVD after its release to give it a second chance and i'm glad i did. Without the HUGE expectations the second time around i enjoyed the movie much more. I love the story line for why they're out in the cabin in the first place and the gore really is top notch! I Still don't like the ending which is why I've only given 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remake. Not quite as scary as the original, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (Amazon Instant Video)
Excellent remake. Not quite as scary as the original, but a great effort. Great acting, very good special effects and does justice to the original concept. very enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly scary!!, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Ordered this for myself after watching it on tele a few weeks back. Horrors dont usually bother me but after being quite sceptical before the film began, i thought id give it a fair chance and see if it was any good. Within 5 minutes of it starting, i was literally gasping in shock!!! Not many films have that effect on me but this is something else! Give it a go. Its worth a watch. But anyone that can't handle a huge amount of blood and gore - beware!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bog standard remake., 3 Nov. 2013
By 
D. keir "little big" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was searching for a good horror film to watch, and reluctantly chose this one. The reason for my reluctance was i have seen the original and most remakes are awful especially in the horror genre. At first my fears were met. I found the characters to be the young, pretty kind you would find in some high school drama. You know the kind of horror film you would find some adolescent boys watching with their girlfriends, so a cheesy and light hearted horror aimed at teens.
It turned out this film was drenched with blood curling gore. More surprisingly original gory scenes that are both unexpected and shocking. You'll find yourself turning from the screen and feeling the characters suffering. It's not just the gore though which most horror fans are desensitized too. This film has what most horror films fail to portray and that is a haunted atmosphere of genuine suspense and apprehension.
Anyone who who would be put off by it being a remake, should rest assured that with a few small changes, this could be an original stand alone film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars evil dead, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
martin (southampton uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this is a remake of the classic sam raimi original.this story is similar;but the character names have changed.the special effects are way better than the older movie,,,(but the classic has 10/10 for original unholy/wrath of god aspect)i"ll give this 10/10 for the gore aspect & special effects;but sam raimi"s original is far better.....so a 3* rating is all i can give it...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead [DVD] [2013]
Evil Dead [DVD] [2013] by Fede Alvarez (DVD - 2013)
£4.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews