Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story
Two of Hollywood's top actors at the moment in Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper make this a great story about choices and guilt. As one story merges into the second and then comes full circle it has been crafted brilliantly. The performances are excellent especially Gosling who just doesn't seem to be able to put a foot wrong.
Published 4 days ago by LINGO

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Place Beyond The Pines
A Place Beyond The Pines is a slow burning drama about love, fatherhood and consequences. The story is in three distinct parts starting with Ryan Gosling finding out he has a child. He travels with a fair, performing motorbike tricks. A year ago he had a fling with a local resident which resulted in his son being born. He doesn't know this until he returns with the fair...
Published 7 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Place Beyond The Pines, 21 Aug 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Place Beyond The Pines [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
A Place Beyond The Pines is a slow burning drama about love, fatherhood and consequences. The story is in three distinct parts starting with Ryan Gosling finding out he has a child. He travels with a fair, performing motorbike tricks. A year ago he had a fling with a local resident which resulted in his son being born. He doesn't know this until he returns with the fair and bumps into her again.

And so begins the catalyst of the story. The first part is purely setting up the scenario for the consequences of each characters actions to follow. Arguably the first hour is the most gripping and entertaining. Ryan Gosling is a force to be reckoned with and holds the screen with a dominance rarely seen these days. His dogged and cack-handed pursuit to be the best father possible leads him down the wrong road and he ends up robbing banks. He is someone you are willing to do the right thing but also someone you know is just never going to get off this road.

Ultimately his fate sets in motion the events of the rest of the film. We next follow Bradley Cooper's cop, Avery. This is where the film loses momentum and takes a distinctly different turn. This part shows a man broken by recent events and struggling to come to terms with his actions. When he realises that there are members of the force who like to dabble in some extra-curricular activities he decides to take this to his chief who promptly tells him to bury it. His faith in justice is waning and he decides to look out for himself and uses his knowledge and position to get himself promoted.

Bradley Cooper does well to present a man teetering on the edge but the story isn't as engaging. It drags a little and only picks up when Avery decides he has had enough and wants look out for number one.

The third part is a jump into the future. 15 Years to be exact. This is where the film really begins to lose its momentum. We now follow the exploits of both characters children and what happens when their worlds collide. It doesn't add anything and is extremely predictable. In fact the film could have done with 20 minutes being cut off the run time as it feels a little too long.

Overall it is a good solid drama and has some interesting moments. The first half is gripping and engaging and unfortunately the rest can't live up to that. Everyone involved gives it their best and the quality of the acting and style of the film couldn't be questioned. It just feels a little long winded and drawn out which is the reason it loses its punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sins of the Father, 26 Oct 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"The Place Beyond the Pines" is a drama in three distinct parts that I thought didn't quite work. The film starts with the viewer following the tale of stunt motorcycle rider Ryan Gosling who,after discovering he has a son to a former lover , starts making bank robberies in an attempt to pay for his upkeep.However his ex girlfriend now lives with a more mainstream ,respectable man who wants to be the baby's father. After a dramatic event , the film then follows the story of Bradley Cooper's ambitious cop who reacts badly to getting embroiled in police corruption. This part of the story sees the film lose it's way a little. The final part of the movie moves the action forward by fifteen years and ends dramatically following an ill fated friendship between the teenage son of Gosling and the wayward teenage son of Cooper's cop (who is now incidentally running for District Attorney). I didn't really empathise with any of the main protagonists in this movie and the three parts of the film didn't quite gel together in my opinion. The film was also overlong ,running in at over two hours. I had hoped that it would end after an hour and a half after the second phase of the film ended. There is some decent acting to be seen , but "The Place Beyond the Pines" didnt quite hit the mark for me and it wont live long in my memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 April 2014
This review is from: The Place Beyond the Pines (DVD)
This film is exceptional only in how unbelievably dull it actually is. Barely anything happens throughout. Only watch if you're very close to death as it feels like this film goes on for eternity.

Starts of with promise, as the main character has some skills on a bike and what-not. Finds out he has a kid and decides that bank robbery is for him. Don't expect excitement though as he is quickly killed off after virtually nothing happens. Then the next part of the film looks at corrupt cops and again, after the arrest of said cops, nothing happens for a while. I am told that more happens after this but at this point, my eyes had glazed over, and I was thinking about more interesting things, like statistics, or the annual growth of gnomes.

It tries to be a slow burning, gritty drama in two (apparently three) parts, but fails utterly, with a mis-matched plot that goes nowhere. They should have picked one part and made that into a proper film. Either an action based, stunt driver criminal type thing with some chases and the like, OR a gritty drama about police corruption, OR whatever happens in the last bit.

Would I watch this again? No? Would I get anyone else to watch it? Maybe as a legal form of torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 13 April 2014
By 
miss "cherry" (oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a slow start that it lost me before it even got going. May have improived but not enough to make me carry on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 11 April 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Place Beyond the Pines (DVD)
Two of Hollywood's top actors at the moment in Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper make this a great story about choices and guilt. As one story merges into the second and then comes full circle it has been crafted brilliantly. The performances are excellent especially Gosling who just doesn't seem to be able to put a foot wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does Gosling ever do bad films?, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without a single central character to root for and a long way from your typical 3 act structure, this is the sort of film your cinema theorists will tell you should never be made. But a good story, a good screenplay, a good director and a great cast mean you can dispel with the rule book and achieve a great film. This is the kind of film that represents a risk for the studio but is a sure-fire hit with the critics and fans of independent cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I TOLD YOU THAT STORY, SO I COULD TELL YOU THIS ONE, 6 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Luke (Ryan Gosling) is a bad boy motorcycle rider who travels with a circus and has one night stands. Eva Mendes was one of those conquests. A year or so later they meet again. She has his child and a boyfriend (Mahershala Ali). Luke doesn't want to be an absentee father and forces his way into their life through gifts which he pays for with his newly acquired bank robbing addiction.

About 50 minutes into the film, we are introduced another main character, policeman Avery (Bradley Cooper). Then act three start about 40 minutes later (16years or so) with all the children grown and only Eva Mendes among the adults looking any older.

The ending is supposed to be heart warming, but doesn't make it. The film is long, but it is not deep. The action moves like a man running with one shoe nailed in place. I never felt for any of the characters. The scene with Bradley Cooper crying was just horrible. That was grade B acting topping off a stiff performance. Gosling on the other hand gave us a strong performance and Mendes was never developed. What was her problem? She wants him, she doesn't want him, she wants him, she doesn't want him.

It wants to cycle back, but then sputters, it doesn't take off. It might make do for a Redbox rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, after sex scene, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and solid movie!, 18 Aug 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'The Place Beyond The Pines' could be described as a 'film within a film'. Ryan Gosling stars at the beginning as a local celebrated stunt-bike driver who discovers that he has a young son, in an attempt to support his family, he gives up his job and commits a series of successful bank robberies to provide cash for them. Eventually, he reaches a sticky end, although I won't reveal what happens.

The film then focuses on Bradley Cooper's policeman character. The ambitious cop is eager to move up the ranks in a police department reeking of corruption. He has a wife and son, neither of which he allows to stand in the way of his big plans, and he shows them little love and affection.

Both of these stories serve as the prequel to the current day situation in which two troubled high school boys (who become friends) have to live with the legacy of fifteen years ago that they've inherited. The only refuge is found in 'the place beyond the pines'.

I am a great admirer of Ryan Gosling's work and his performance here is absolutely fantastic, he really looks and acts the part of the tough, mysterious and tattooed stunt driver.

Derek Cianfrance should be congratulated for what is only his third feature film, to say it was an ambitious film with over two hours of action and drama taking place is an understatement, but he did a superb job of putting together a compelling and original movie which would have made a brilliant book. The three act structure worked very well and were all tied together in a satisfying way. Complete with an all-star cast, beautiful cinematography and an excellent soundtrack, it will take some film to knock 'The Place Beyond The Pines' off my list of top three movies of the year.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Place beyond the pines. Great, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. P. Smith "ELDORET" (LANCS UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful acting from all.Typical American character unable to do the right thing so turns to crime and ultimately his downfall. A film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice film, 7 Mar 2014
well acted, good script and storyline and excellent characterisation, poignant and thoughtful - definitely worth a watch on a rainy sunday afternoon – highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa89d768)

This product

The Place Beyond The Pines [Blu-ray] [2013]
The Place Beyond The Pines [Blu-ray] [2013] by Derek Cianfrance (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews