Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HE'S COMING FOR YOU,
I love the irony of having a part 2 to a film called "The LAST Exorcism." That would make the first film "The Next to the Last Exorcism" a title that wouldn't sell. Since this is Louisiana, it should be "Far From the Last Exorcism."

First the disclaimer. I disliked the amateur attempt of the first film with the hand held camera. They dropped the hand held...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It must have been hard to make a film this dull
Okay, I try to do a little more than just blatantly slag off a film, but with `The Last Exorcism Part II' it's kind of hard not to.

I didn't expect to enjoy the first film and, amazingly, I was in for a pleasant surprise. It may have been a `found footage' film, but it was enjoyably creepy, despite being an overused genre about an overused subject matter...
Published 11 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It must have been hard to make a film this dull, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Okay, I try to do a little more than just blatantly slag off a film, but with `The Last Exorcism Part II' it's kind of hard not to.

I didn't expect to enjoy the first film and, amazingly, I was in for a pleasant surprise. It may have been a `found footage' film, but it was enjoyably creepy, despite being an overused genre about an overused subject matter.

Therefore, based on the first movie alone, I decided to watch the sequel. I really wish I hadn't. It's a completely different type of film for a start, i.e. not `found footage.' I guess the film-makers wanted not to just do a rehash of the first movie and try something different. What they came up with was simply one of the more boring films ever made.

We follow the girl from the first story, now trying to lead a normal life. But she can't. The spirit she fought before wants to be in her again. Things bump around wherever she goes, therefore, in turn, making her jump. That's about it. She has a gaggle of female friends who do little more than giggle and make clichéd remarks. Plus there's a love interest for out main lead. It adds nothing to the plot, other than detracting yet further from anything vaguely scary.

The Last Exorcism (part one) was nothing that special, but at least it was watchable enough to be enjoyable (if you like low budget horror flicks). Part II, on the other hand, is just dull with no redeeming features.

Maybe I should have known better than to watch a sequel to a film with the word `last' in the title. Dear film-makers, PLEASE make part II the absolute last this time. I won't be watching `The Last Last Last Exorcism' if it ever sees the light of day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spoilers in this review but nothing could spoil this film more than its script., 4 Oct 2013
By 
B. Adams (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was 50/50 after the first film, I really liked aspects of what it had to offer and even the ending as much as it went a bit OTT it still had enough there for me to be intrigued enough to watch the sequel.... Oh how I wish I hadn't.

They destroy Ashley Bell's character Nell with mind-blowing dull script that has very little to no meaning to the concept of the film. What this film needed to do was tell the viewer what happened to Nell after that night in the woods, they don't need to go into vast detail but you need to understand how/why she survived a demonic cult early birth and what they did with her during this time and why. The entire sequel is about her relationship with Abalam and it collapses because you're not given any context.

Her dead fathers appearances are also extremely odd and well dreadfully thought out. He's a ghost right? But a ghost in solid form that can move her like a person who is alive? Is that what we are meant to believe? .... mmm ok but no that just doesn't work, I'm ok with the whole divine entity coming back to give her good advice or look out for her, but coming back from the afterlife with a shotgun? Hahaha ohh that one cracked me up....

The ending. This film was bad, it was dull, it does nothing to the concept of the original story, but what gets this film a 1 star is the ending. The concept of Nell accepting Abalam would actually be quite a good twist if the consequence of this hadn't of simply made Nell a super charged Carrie character which made no sense at all. IF a true demonic entity was to gain access to this world via the possession of a human body and miraculously this agreed possession allowed them to have and to use some kind of hell powers that mean causing death and fire is just a simple thought process, would they really go for a drive?.... is that what an eternity in hell makes you desire? ... returning to the women's hostel to kill them all - pointless adding nothing to the already confused weak script and the special effects... well they are so bad I would imagine even the first series of Buffy The Vampire Slayer would hold their head in shame.

So much more could have been made of this films concept, a much darker story with innocence being corrupted and conquered if they would have just spoken to me ... I jest, but how this script got approved is beyond me and very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HE'S COMING FOR YOU,, 3 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I love the irony of having a part 2 to a film called "The LAST Exorcism." That would make the first film "The Next to the Last Exorcism" a title that wouldn't sell. Since this is Louisiana, it should be "Far From the Last Exorcism."

First the disclaimer. I disliked the amateur attempt of the first film with the hand held camera. They dropped the hand held camera and opted for better effects.

Nell is at a half way house via a medical ward. She has a day job as a maid and suffers from major "hallucinations." It seems in order for the demon to get loose, he must impregnate a somewhat pure vessel and Nell is apparently the last Christian virgin on the planet. The plot was rather mundane for demonic possession films. The acting could have been better, but was par for a sequel. The movie opens with a quick, distorted, ineffective flashback that does nothing to help anyone who hasn't seen it.

On the plus side of the film was the scare factor. It was able to effectively use sound, shadow, screams, background noises, and disappear/ reappear to create suspense and tense moments that would make most kids in a dark room go nuts. I liked the film for this reason, although I was not gaga about it. They at least did their homework. Now to bring it home with an effective script would be the next step. Makes for a satisfactory horror film rental if you just want the effect.

Parental Guide: 1 F-bomb shouted by Nell. No nudity or sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed reviews but I loved it!, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I know this film has received mixed reviews but me and my hubby really liked it! The acting of Nell is tremendous, going from shy jumpy girl to real freaky scary!
Nell makes you wonder with her if she really did imagine the whole thing and she seems to 'get better' by trying to lead a normal life .....until things start getting creepy!
I like the twist at the end as well, for me that really finished the film off nicely.

Bottom line: If you're not really into paranormal/horror films to begin with then I doubt you'd like it so give it a miss. But if you're into paranormal/horror, don't let the bad reviews put you off, it's worth a watch! I'm actually going to go and buy the film for my collection now :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst exorcism film ever?, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Continuing from the first film Nell Sweetzer wakes to find herself in hospital. She then tries to start a new life by moving into a home for girls. However she's still plagued by dark visions. Before long it's obvious that the evil Abalam is back...

In conclusion, as far as sequels go - this one is dire. The plot doesn't persist well in any way from the first film. In reality it pretty much self destructs. Not to be too blunt Nell (Ashley Bell) tries in vain to make this uninvolving film bearable. If you enjoyed the original, then lower your expectations considerably! For anyone else this disappointing "horror" isn't worth your time or money. The 18 certificate seems unjustified too, as there's no adult scares/content here at all. 1.5 stars.

Extras/Special Features:

Interview with Eli Roth.
Featurettes.
Trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A boring succession of horror movie clichés..., 7 April 2014
While the first movie was a decent found-footage-style exorcism movie, its sequel is just boring... It feels like everything is an excuse for a jump scare: it is just lazy. Don't expect anything surprinsing during these 90 minutes, it is a complete waste of your time. If you are in this kind of movie, there are much better one than this thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's google, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I did like it if you are a horror movies fan and the copy was good so go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last Exorcism Part 2, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very fast delivery. Excellent condition. I had already seen this film at the cinema and really enjoyed it. Anyone who enjoyed the first movie will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Well worth watching, Few shocks make you jump. Really enjoyed the second dvd .. If you like HORROR give it a try ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Silly movie, with a good idea just as the credits roll, 29 Nov 2013
The girl from 'The First Last Exorcism' is back, and now she just wants a normal life, so she moves in a home for troubled people, and starts flirting with the boy who nearly shot Bruce Willis in Unbreakable.

Not long after the credits though, the shadows come back, and the flies start to buzz, and the director thinks its a great idea to make a very loud noise every now and again to make the audience jump....

The first movie was fun, but the ending was silly and ruined the rest of the film. But the idea was sound, and the performances were great, and it was scary for the first two acts.

This film however, goes in the opposite direction, the film for the most part, is rotten to the core, and I feel sorry for Bell, because she really is good in her role. But back to the film. It's devoid of any scares, plot, character development and was just made to make a quick bit of cash for the company.

It failed miserably here in the UK and never even made the top ten, but the sting in the tail is the ending, it flashes an idea that could have been good, and then finishes.

So all in all, its a stinker, a really bad clunker that has a great performance from the lead and a good idea come the last minute, which makes me dislike the film even more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Exorcism: Part II - Extreme Uncut Edition [DVD] [2013]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews