Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, but a lot of fun
Uneven, but a lot of fun, with some serious thoughts about politics, class and the economy of modern Spain nicely hidden in the mix of sex and absurdity.

This (very intentionally) harkens back to Almodovar’s anarchic, rough edged early sex farces like Pepi, Luci Bom, but now he's re-approached that kind of story with the technical mastery of a lifetime...
Published 5 months ago by K. Gordon

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strange, but not all that good
I've decided to rewrite this review, feeling a year on that the film is not very memorable, except for the singing scene with the three camp flight attendants which is excellent. Javier Camara is very good, but seen to better effect in Chef's Special, which is an unpretentious, enjoyable farce. It seems to me Almodovar was at his best when he made his sexiest films -...
Published 23 months ago by schumann_bg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, but a lot of fun, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uneven, but a lot of fun, with some serious thoughts about politics, class and the economy of modern Spain nicely hidden in the mix of sex and absurdity.

This (very intentionally) harkens back to Almodovar’s anarchic, rough edged early sex farces like Pepi, Luci Bom, but now he's re-approached that kind of story with the technical mastery of a lifetime making ever more sophisticated films.

That cuts both ways. On one hand, the gorgeous color-popping polished visuals and high-level performances make this even more of a joy to watch. On the other hand, it’s very smoothness takes some of the bite out of Almodovor’s early punky biting the hand that fed him, pushing the limits of film in post-Franco Spain.

But forgetting all that serious mumbo-jumbo, this is fun sexual and political farce, 90% of which takes places on an airplane that may be doomed. Led by three very funny, very gay flight attendants determined to keep the upper-class passengers distracted from what’s really going on, using everything from musical numbers to mescaline (the economy class passengers have simply been drugged and put to sleep; a perhaps heavy handed but effective comment) – the flight gets wilder and wilder as those ruling class passengers reveal their secrets – sexual, social and personal - and their libidos. As do the flight crew.

Certainly not Almodovar’s best work, but often filthy, funny and smart. And if a good number of the jokes don’t quite hit, those that do, will sometimes make you laugh, while others will make you smile ruefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strange, but not all that good, 9 May 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
I've decided to rewrite this review, feeling a year on that the film is not very memorable, except for the singing scene with the three camp flight attendants which is excellent. Javier Camara is very good, but seen to better effect in Chef's Special, which is an unpretentious, enjoyable farce. It seems to me Almodovar was at his best when he made his sexiest films - particularly Law of Desire, but that since Bad Education his work has declined, and this one isn't nearly as funny as it should be and feels very constrained in all senses, if having something recognisably his. His early exuberance was much more fun and has not been replaced by any real depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly light Almodovar in undeniably entertaining, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
The latest film by Pedro Almodovar is unexpectedly light but it is also undeniably funny. The unlikely source for inspiration by the Spanish auteur seems to be the hilarious film Airplane! (1980), which itself was a parody of the 1970s disaster movies.

A plane bound from Madrid to Mexico soon finds itself in serious trouble, flying in circles and looking for a runway for emergency landing after its landing gear is found to be broken (thanks to a couple of clumsy ground crew workers played at the beginning of the movie by Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz in very fast cameos).

With a plane male crew that seems to be about 80% gay (the movie includes tons of gay jokes), the first class (the tourist class has been conveniently drugged) includes a corrupt businessman on the run, a women who is both a psychic and a virgin desperately trying to end being one, an aging lothario, a porn actress (Almodovar regular Cecilia Roth) who claims to have hundreds of sex videos of Spains's most powerful men, and a mystery man who turns out to be a Mexican hit man.

The comic highlight of the movie has the three gay male stewards perform a campy cover of the Pointer Sisters catchy hit "I'm so excited" (hence the title of the film in English).

The movie is certainly not very deep, and some Almodovar fans will probably be disappointed, but those who watch it with an open mind and are not easily offended by raunchy humor, will probably find themselves entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mile High Club - Almodovar Style, 27 May 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
You always expect something good from Almodovar and this is no exception, well almost as this is far from being deep as his work tends to be. This is a slice of whimsical fun all wrapped up in a potential air disaster. Also I remember this being advertised as starring Penelope Cruz and Antonio Banderas - well it doesn't, they both make a brief cameo at the beginning and that is it. The real stars are on the plane. This is Peninsular Airways and the cabin crew in Business Class are all gay - now whilst that might be a bit stereo typical it also makes for great fun.

Early on in the flight they realise that the landing gear is in a condition that could be described as `sub-optimal' making a conventional landing impossible. Meanwhile the passengers that have not been drugged start to ask questions. We also get to hear their back stories which range from being a dodgy banker, an international dominatrix, a would be nympho and a failed actor to name but a few. The cabin crew meanwhile do their best to distract the passengers by indulging in rarefied skills that include exotic cocktail making and cabaret. Seriously if your plane is going to crash you want these guys being the ones to tell you.

I absolutely loved this film; it puts a smile on your face right from the opening credits right up until the end. There is nearly something for everyone here and though some of the themes are dark it is all done with a flair for the funny. Javier Camara as steward `Joserra' is excellent he is also great in `Chefs Special' and `To Hell with the Ugly' too. That said Almodovar gets excellent performances out of all the cast and the song and dance routine is just too good to only watch once - definitely a keeper and so easy to recommend - I just wish I had seen it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I'm nowhere near excited., 18 Jan. 2015
This review is from: I'm So Excited (DVD)
A friend of mine recommended this movie, saying that he laughed the whole time. I didn't laugh once, I found the movie incredibly boring, and all the sex, drugs and booze actually made the movie even more unpleasant in my opinion. For me it's a total waiste of time and by far the worst movie from the talented Almodovar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for a friend, who loved it. It's a very funny film with an unbelievable yet gripping storyline. Very different from Almodovar's usual films, but worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual film - very entertaining :), 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
I like the atmosphere of this film and the totally free and open minded way of telling the story. I think it's quite different from the other Almodovar films I've seen, but I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frothy Almodovar fun., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
In an air disaster this is the type of cabin crew you need! Send all the passengers to sleep or ply them with alcohol. Almodovar comedy at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fun, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
Camp as Christmas but wonderful fun - Almodovar back to his fun best. Don't know why it hasn't been more successful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm So Excited! [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid almodavar fan this is his weakest movie. Best scene is the lip sync to I'm so excited - but that 3 minutes cannot save this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'm So Excited! [DVD]
I'm So Excited! [DVD] by Pedro Almodóvar (DVD - 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews