Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay in the cave!
Took my 47 year old, to quench her need for to see a `cutesy' prehistoric animation, I must say I was pleasantly surprised the film was rather good. The narrative is engaging and the animation is some the best I have seen lately. As another reviewer has said the story is quite funny in the way it deals with fear of the unknown, being alone and life in general when you...
Published 16 months ago by Sussman

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Croods not for me
This is going to be short,this is a family film,something to keep the kids amused on a wet afternoon.Visually it's quite striking at times,the animation is faultless but that's the norm these days.
There are some very good set pieces,especially the chase scene near the start,the trouble was I just did not find it funny,in fact it was almost irritating.
Fine for...
Published 5 months ago by SCREEN77


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay in the cave!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Croods [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Took my 47 year old, to quench her need for to see a `cutesy' prehistoric animation, I must say I was pleasantly surprised the film was rather good. The narrative is engaging and the animation is some the best I have seen lately. As another reviewer has said the story is quite funny in the way it deals with fear of the unknown, being alone and life in general when you trying just to survive to the next day. Your inner child should really like this film, well worth a very good five stars. I must say my 47 year old was very well behaved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for Everyone!, 25 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Croods [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I took my family to see this film - age range of 9-65 and everyone came out saying how much they had enjoyed it. We have seen loads of animated films and thought we had seen it all, but this proved we haven't. There is plenty to be amused by and the story is interesting - the scene when the family are introduced to fire is really funny (the character is advised to hide from it in the tall dry grass) but there is one scene involving the dad which is quite moving (my 10 year old was crying). The basic story is that our cave family is the only one left in the area and the father has taken an overly-cautious approach to life to keep the family safe making them spend a lot of time closed in their cave. The daughter is bored and frustrated and one night sneaks out of the cave and finds a boy who can make fire. He tells her the end of the world is coming and the action begins from there after the familys cave is destroyed. Should they trust the new boy and follow him to the mountains or keep with the fathers idea of finding a new cave to hide in? The ensuing journey has plenty of ups and downs along the way and there's the message about sometimes taking risks in life to make it better. Visually the film is stunning, the animation is fantastic and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradies galore, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Croods [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Loved this film, funny, serious, warm. Paradies almost every aspect of family life. I dare you to not recognise someone you know in each character, especially Eep. Good all round family film and a must for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awesome, 3 April 2013
Animation is breathtaking. The opening scene is mesmerising. The humour flows from one scene to the next. There is laughter, sadness, tension and joy.
One of the best films of the year so far. Definite ten out of ten. I would say that younger viewers may get scared, so be careful to sit with the little ones as the end scenes approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for everyone!!!, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Croods [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great story eye popping 3D brilliant animation and amazing characters. I would review it 100/10!!!!!!! Looking forward for getting it for christmas.And what's with the late release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Croods [2013] [Deluxe Edition] [Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + Digital Copy] [US Import], 22 Jan 2014
The Croods [2013] [Deluxe Edition] [Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + Digital Copy] [US Import] Join the first modern family as they embark on the journey of a lifetime across a spectacular and unforgettable landscape. When their cave is destroyed, everything the Croods have ever known is rocked by seismic shifts and generational clashes as they discover an incredible new world filled with fantastic creatures - and their world is changed forever. If they don’t evolve, they’ll be history!

Voice Cast: Nicolas Cage, Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds, Catherine Keener, Clark Duke, Cloris Leachman, Chris Sanders and Randy Thom

Directors: Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco

Producers: Jane Hartwell and Kristine Belson

Screenplay: Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Cinematography: Yong Duk Jhun and Roger Deakins [Visual Consultant]

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Russian: 5.1 DTS, Estonian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Latvian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Lithuanian: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Ukrainian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish, Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Russian and Ukrainian

Running Time: 96 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 3

Studio: DreamWorks Animation

Andrew’s Blu-ray review – DreamWorks is the definition of a hit-or-miss animation studio. 'Rise of the Guardians' was superb in both substance and style, especially likes of 'Puss in Boots' [that I thought was awesome], whereas 'Madagascar 3' and their most recent dreadful animation 'Turbo' have all been definitely thumbs down, big time.

At some point all the CGI children’s films that come out nowadays sort of blend together. The occasional release stands out, it's usually a PIXAR production, but even that's an iffy prospect these days, but mostly it feels like a whole lot of sameness. Most of them are colourful, have simple plots, and have a few funny moments. In other words, they work perfectly fine as electronic babysitters.

We're in prehistoric times and the Croods are a loveable family of Neanderthals trying to do what every Neanderthal is trying to do, not get killed. It's a dangerous world out there, so the Croods tend to stay inside their cave cowering in fear. As Grug Crood [Nicolas Cage], papa caveman of this clan, always says, "Never not be afraid."

The Croods family is taught that curiosity is just about the most dangerous thing a caveman can have, so of course their daughter Eep [Emma Stone] is naturally curious. A good old strained father-daughter relationship is brewing here. But, the movie wouldn't be complete without a few comedic generic characters like the sassy grandmother [Cloris Leachman], the doltish son [Clark Duke], the congenial mother (Catherine Keener), the wacky baby, and the loveable stranger [Ryan Reynolds]. Now that they've got the formula down it's time to run the characters through the predictable paces, picking up a few zany animal friends along the way.

So, now you know what you're in for. As far as a children’s film goes, there's much worse out there than 'The Croods.' At least the animation is stunningly brilliant to look at. No matter that none of the animals featured appear to have come from this planet since not one of them appears to fit into the evolutionary chain at all. Giant flying turtles, land whales with stubby legs walking around in the desert, and leafy elephants just to name a few of the stranger creations in this film.

At some point you just have to say, "Hey, if it makes Junior happy, I'm in." As far as competing with the strongest entries in the DreamWorks catalogue, 'The Croods' is great. The hardnosed father is taught a lesson by his spunky young daughter in acceptance and living life to the fullest. In turn, she discovers that maybe her dad really does care about her and all that paranoid parenting actually meant something.

That said, there's some really fun animation in this film. It's as if they said, screw the geological record, we're making our own evolutionary creations. Because of the inventiveness of the world of 'The Croods' and the creativity applied in the animation, the movie rises above the other formulaic children’s films. Not by much, but enough that it stands out among the rest.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The Croods looks absolutely stunning in 3D and there's nearly no difference in brightness or definition between this version and the stand alone 2D image (also included in this set). Colours are just as bold, details are just as fine. The image never appears any darker in 3D, which is a plus, particularly in the film's naturally darker scenes. Details still look incredible, right down to the finest terrain textures, whether gritty earthen elements or lush natural vegetation.

The 3D effects are brilliant. General depth impresses me greatly. The transfer shows off the sprawling landscapes really good, again both the rocky lands to start and the more colourful vegetation areas later. Shots down on the ground are particularly impressive in terms of realistic spacing and depth. A few odds and ends do stand out; animal beaks and noses sometimes seem to extended beyond the front of the screen, while dust particles and other floating objects on the air seems to drift far back into and well out of the screen. Very little of the dreaded "crosstalk" effect was visible throughout the film. Overall, this is a brilliant 3D transfer.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Provided with a 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix, 'The Croods' matches the exceptionality of its video presentation with its audio. This is an immersive, entertaining audio mix that sucks you in and never lets you go.

There are plenty of examples where the movie's sound design makes great use of the seven channels. The opening chase scene where the Croods attempt to procure breakfast by stealing an egg, uses every channel in its arsenal. The action zooms from one speaker to another. The sound travels flawlessly back and forth through the sound field. There are other moments, like when the earth starts cracking up, where the surround takes hold, providing deep, rumbling bass. Explosions of lava and smoke erupt from the earth's surface, causing the sub-woofer to roar.

The rear channels are equally impressive. The soundscape of 'The Croods' prehistoric world is a lively one. Once they enter the jungle the rear channels are alive with all sorts of far off jungle noises. This is an extremely interactive audio presentation and it is definitely one that the whole family will enjoy.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

The Croodaceous Creatures of Croods [HD] [8:00] A lightly interactive supplement in which two of the film's characters teach audiences about the various creatures in the film through voiceover, graphics, clips from the film, animated drawings, and more. Included is the Bear Owl [0:43], the Piranhakeet [0:38], Belt [0:37], the Liyote [0:29], the Punch Monkey [0:45], the Turtle Dove [0:43], the Turkeyfish [0:42], the Girelephant [0:33], and the Sharkodile [0:42].

Belt's Cave Journal [HD] [6:15] Guy shares his companion Belt's history with the help of some basic animation.

Croods' Cuts [Lost Scenes] [HD] [8:00] A Writers/Directors Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco introduction [0:25] is followed by the following deleted scenes: Crazy Grug [2:36], It's Rain [3:08], It's a Great Cave [1:09], and Termites [1:15]. The filmmakers also introduce each scene and explain why scenes were removed from the final cut. Scenes appear in a very basic state of progression.

Be An Artist [HD] [35:00] An introduction [0:17] to the supplement with Supervising Animator Sean Sexton is followed by his lessons on how to draw the following characters from the film: Belt [12:00], Macawnivore [15:22], and Mousephant [7:45].

The Croods Theatrical Trailer [HD] [2:11].

Sneak Peek [HD] Previews for Turbo [2:26], Shrek the Musical [1:03], Epic, various Holiday-themed films including the DreamWorks Holiday Classics collection, and Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

World of DreamWorks Animation [HD] Titbits from Shrek, Madagascar, How to Train Your Dragon, and Kung Fu Panda.

DVD Copy [Standard Definition]

Digital Copy [For Portable media Players]

Finally, The Croods offers a hugely satisfying animated movie experience, particularly beyond the fairy-tale and predictable superficial dynamics. Under the surface is warm, welcoming story, a fun, honest, heartfelt tale of discovery, of satisfaction, of accepting new things, of understanding the greater world. It's a very sweet and touching experience amidst all of the humour, most of which hits and none of which falls completely flat. To be sure, there's not much room to reinvent the wheel, in this case, being the modern Family animated film, but there's something to be said for sprucing it up and getting the most out of its capabilities, which The Croods does very well. The DreamWorks Animation Blu-ray 3D release of The Croods delivers an awesome 2D picture as well. The 3D transfer and the amazing sound are a brilliant factor to purchase this 3D extravaganza. A very nice array of extras are included, and the animation is sure to leave audiences of all ages extremely satisfied and all in all I was so happy to get this brilliant 3D package and has gone pride of place in my Blu-ray 3D Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars towards the light, 5 Mar 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Croods (DVD)
I did enjoy this film, much more them my kids, who are under 7, which leads me to believe that it is set for older kids probably over 10s. The animation is great as anyone would expect from Dreamworks. I liked the story as well. The only complaint I had about the film was that it did get a bit repetitive towards the middle of the film.

Meet the Croods the last surviving cavemen. They survive by following the rules fear everything, and stay in the cave as much as possible. This is fine for most of the family but Eep the older daughter has a natural sense of daring and adventure, one night leaving the cave Eep meets a guy called Guy, who is scrawny but inventive and survives by his intelligence rather than his strength. Guy tells Eep the world is going to end in earth quakes and volcanic explosions, and he is moving to higher ground towards the Sun. The father/leader of the Croods (Grub) has a natural dislike for Guy for two reasons one his daughter likes him, and two his ideas are inspiring the family to forget the most important rule of fearing everything. However Grub realises he need Guy if his family is to survive.

An enjoyable family film. With great characters and good character development, al little predictable but the animation and few funny one liners make up for this all in all a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for all but the very young, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. Hitchins "Techie" (Costa Blanca, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not surprised this is nominated for an Oscar. Good story and great effects; however, as it is a story of caveman survival, it does have some scary moments, so I would not recommend for very young children. The 3D Blu Ray worked well on my Philips player, which has the latest firmware. Together with my HD600 projector and 3D LX, this gave a prefect performance that even my wife enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good story., 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Croods [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a very good adventure of a caveman family and is really funny at times. The characters are well-thought out and each have their own appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FEAR KEEPS US ALIVE, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an animated tale of a teen girl and her natural desire to explore the world and the angst that it causes the father who wants to keep the family safe in a cave...in this case it is not a metaphor. Emma Stone was perfect for our on screen teen girl Eep, complete with her signature cracking voice. The world around them is falling apart and their only chance for survival is to follow the new Guy (Ryan Reynolds) to the objection of Grug (Nicolas Cage).

In spite of what sounds like an adult theme, it is aimed at the kids. The comedy is slapstick and simple jokes. The animals are wildly colorful so as to not be frightening as they chase humans. As an adult I didn't find the film boring, yet its lack of depth allowed me to have frequent breaks and not miss any plot points. Eep provides girls with a positive role model, something that is becoming the norm in these animated sagas.

Cloris Leachman played the voice of Gran, most likely because Betty White was too busy playing football. Great film for the kids, so-so for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Croods [DVD] [2013]
The Croods [DVD] [2013] by Chris Sanders (DVD - 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews