Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hell of the north
Les Woodland has his own unique writing style, which takes a bit of getting used to...when you do..he's sat right there with you, like some old acquaintance, regaling you with anecdote and fable. 'All Bumps' is a great primer and also very insightful into the early history of the race .You really can taste the grit between your teeth and the heroic effort of Roubaix...
Published 16 months ago by donald workman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, but a little light on the story and too much on the facts....
I enjoyed the history of this book, but was a bit disappointed by the over reliance on factual references. I realise it is designed to illustrate the evolution of the great race, but would have preferred a bit more depth on some of the characters.
Published 10 months ago by Peter Flowers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hell of the north, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Les Woodland has his own unique writing style, which takes a bit of getting used to...when you do..he's sat right there with you, like some old acquaintance, regaling you with anecdote and fable. 'All Bumps' is a great primer and also very insightful into the early history of the race .You really can taste the grit between your teeth and the heroic effort of Roubaix riders...brilliant Les.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love the smell of cobbles in the morning..., 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
The Paris-Roubaix has always been an iconic race for me. The hardest of the hard, I have cycled some of the course, I have watched the race, just reading about it is not enough. I remember riding as fast as I could on cobbles and feeling my brain thrashing around in my skull and thinking I cannot imagine how this can be done... Maybe I should do the sportive?
I bought the book to learn a bit more, I would not say it is particularly well written. It jumps about a bit and I found myself having to go back a bit to establish what the author is saying.
As a factual book it is great, but I feel the author could have made more effort to convey just how hard a challenge this race is. When it is wet it is a nightmare because the cobbles are unpredictable, slippery, you cannot see whether there is a shallow puddle or a pothole in front of you. When it is dry the dust is murder, you cannot see or breath. Wind on a flat course like this turns an already tactical race into a chess match on a road, the constant twisting and turning changing the wind direction and tactics constantly. The list of winners is a who's who of the hard-men of the sport. I remember Magnus Bäckstedt and Sean Kelly ribbing each other about their winners cobbles on Eurosport and the honour of having their names on a shower cubicle. Great stuff!
It is worth a read and that is why I have given it 4 stars. I just think the author could have conveyed some of the 'atmosphere' of the race and not just the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic book for a classic race, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating insight into what must be rated as one of the most exciting one day races in the entire cycling year.
If you like to know a bit of background history to the sport that you enjoy watching then this is a book that is a must.
Easy to read, packed full of info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
a good read for cycling fans quite indepth regarding early years of the race, but not too long. well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mighty fine book, 24 April 2013
By 
Alan Bates (Springfield, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read: great on the history of the race, the characters and how the race and technology evolved.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent well written history, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
Lots of interesting snippets and stories of the race and it's history. An excellent read even if you are not interested in cycle racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight to this historic race, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
As a cycling fan I had some knowledge of the background to the Paris - Roubaix but after reading Les Woodland's book I now have a far better understanding. Some of the stories are quite bizarre and the book held my interest throughout. I did find the some of the chapters leapt around a bit in time but this was never a major problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not a book for cricketers, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
read them all,plus magazines.this book is outstanding,so much detail,history of race ,information about j.goddet surprising.racing cyclists from the past were given clothes and many had their racing ability explained, bikes and some of their changes are mentioned.i understand this great race and the love the local people have for it much better now. j. anquetil,cancellara,hinault,,,ride alongside all the other great riders who have struggled to find a safe path over the loaf sized cobbles ,sometimes wet, to finish is a real acheivement to win it is for many just a dream..i have been a cyclist and followed cycling for fifty six years, buy this book, you wont regret it i intend to buy the book in case kindle packs up. ps. dont dont forget puncture patches before readind,its that good. ....before you ask i have read this book and i havnt been paid for my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paris Roubaix, 28 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
Very detailed and very well researched. would highly recommend to anyone interested cycling history. A very good holiday read on holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 May 2014
By 
Gotte (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story. All the bumps of cycling's cobbled classic. (Kindle Edition)
I've got another of Les Woodland's books, Cycling Heroes,, and I really like his style of writing. There is a clarity but also and a great affection and a poignancy when describing the cycling world of old, and there's no better race to illustrate that than the brutal Paris Roubaix. I thoroughly recommend this book as a way of immersing yourself in the history and the culture of the race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews