Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Mary Poppins
Having seen the recent film starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, had to read the book. Not disappointed. Thank you.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. F. S. Rogan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview, but light in detail!
As the title of my review would suggest, I found this book interesting, but there were many times within it where I felt there was a jump or a gap. Throughout the book you are given snippet insights into the working life of Travers, however very little is told about her as a person in any real detail at all.
For the price, it gives you a good general...
Published 9 months ago by katie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Mary Poppins, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. F. S. Rogan "Felicity" (Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the recent film starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, had to read the book. Not disappointed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author not the nanny, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed finding out about P L Travers. If you want to know more about the author of the Mary Poppins books it's worth the time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Life Mary Poppins:The. Life and Times of P.L. Travers, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
Having read this account of Pamela Travers, and also having seen the film "Saving Mr Banks", it really puts a different light on the film " Mary Poppins", in fact makes it more enjoyable, and understandable, knowing how and why the characters were created.
This little biography is truly well written, and is extremely enjoyable.
I would recommend it in every way, then download and enjoy the full "Mary Poppins"collection, as I did.
Believe me,there is an awful lot of reading there, approx 8 full books in total, and a lot of them not included in the film.
Regarding the film "Saving Mr Banks", Tom Hanks makes a wonderful Walt Disney, but be prepared to take a
Couple of tissues with you, as it is a bit of a tear jerker!
Well worth the read in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview, but light in detail!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
As the title of my review would suggest, I found this book interesting, but there were many times within it where I felt there was a jump or a gap. Throughout the book you are given snippet insights into the working life of Travers, however very little is told about her as a person in any real detail at all.
For the price, it gives you a good general overview,however, if you're after a detailed read this book may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars real life mary poppins, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
short novella on the life of mary poppins. interesting, but at times dry; although as ms travers went to great lengths to keep her private life out of the media; I do not think any wriitngs about her would be any better a good all round biography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatic, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable to read, couldn't stop reading till it finish took me a day....but the film saving mr bank is much better,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly edited, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
This was laden with errors and had an annoying use of present tense. The adoption of her son was barely mentioned. It felt incomplete and generally disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
Interesting biography, expands on "Saving Mr Banks".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Life Mary Poppins: The Life and Times of P.L. Travers (Kindle Edition)
A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews