Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We serve the butchers...
Heidi, DJs at a local radio station, and together with Whitey and Munster, form part of the Big H Radio Team.

A box containing a vinyl record arrives for Heidi. She assumes it's a rock band on a mission to spread their word. As Heidi and Whitey play the record, it starts to play backwards, and Heidi experiences a flashback to a past trauma.

Whitey...
Published 20 months ago by Corey Newcombe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GOAT HAS FREE WILL
This is a new take on "Rosemary's Baby" done in the Rob Zombie near porno style. Heidi (Sheri Moon Zombie) is part of a hip radio talk team in Salem. She lives in a modest apartment building with three elderly women and an apartment that never rents. On Tuesday she finds out the goat has free will and by Thursday she is chasing the rabbit. She is haunted by weird dreams...
Published 22 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's missing about it to be a masterpiece, 17 May 2013
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I was honestly quite surprised (in a good way) by this movie. I saw some previous titles from Rob Zombie and he never really appealed to me. I always found him to be a kind of grown-up teenager who still wants to play with monsters and his own horror movies memories, and wants to share them with us. But frankly who cares?
So I was admired by his new movie, because it's elegant, it's stylish, it's dark, it manages to convey you a sense of suspension, a nightmarish atmosphere, almost like John Carpenter's masterpiece, "Prince of Darkness". Of course the film is full of references and tributes to other movies (Shining, Carpenter, Melies, etc...) but it seems that Rob Zombie has finally grown up an adult, and doesn't really need to shock anymore, but to impress in an almost subconscius way.
That said, the story is flat, although full of great ideas, but they never come together and make a point so you can really enter the world Rob has been so "charmingly" painted before your eyes. What's missing to be a masterpiece is that you don't sense, you don't feel what's going on (the plot is basically about a not feeling good woman who gets caught by witches for a satanic sacrifice). You're just admiring a string of beautiful scenes, but you' re almost not welcome to touch it and be part of it. So eventually, after so many expectations, you get let down by the movie. I'm not saying that the ending is not visually beaufitul, but it leaves you cold: it doesn't develop all the pieces of the puzzle, that don't come alive, they just stay clichès.
Had it been a little more like David Lynch, where you maybe don't understand everything, but you feel the nightmare,the mystery, the depth behind waht you see, it would have been a masterpiece. Instead it's just a brilliant and very fine (maybe too much, and this is the main surprise about Rob to me) example of cinematographic talent, who lacks of heart.
Because, at the end of the day, who can be still impressed by screaming witches, red ceilings, dark corridors, wicked songs, if they remain just icons, just surfaces with nothing new, more or special underneath?
But still this is a big leap forward for him and I'm confident his next movie will be, eventually, his masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie does understated, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Zombie does understated (for him). The movie wears it's influences on it's sleeve (The Shining, Rosemary's Baby etc) but it's easily Zombie's most accomplished film to date. It's character's aren't as memorable or amusing as the Firefly family (from House of A 1,000 Corpses & The Devil's Rejects. Captain Spaulding anyone?) but they are all the more human for it & the movie itself features some amazing scenes. Future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Ok but a bit boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well shot film by the Master of Horror., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I received this film it was a surprise as It had not been released in the US that long. It is a great Film but if you are expecting "House of a Thousand ......" or "Devils Rejects" then it is not as fast moving. The camera work and direction of the Movie is harking back to the horror Films of the 70's. Very well put together showing that Rob Zombie is up there with the Tarantino's of this world. I loved it it will become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Could not describe this film as a horror at all, I was bored through most of it. The beginning looked a little promising so I was determined to watch until the end, however it didn't get any better and left me wishing I hadn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rob zombie's the lords of salem, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Although i didn't find this movie scary i appreciated its artistic style, it continues mr zombies love of classic style horror movies
that leaves most of what you see to your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie at his best, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
M. Hill (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow what a movie! I love all Zombie's movies and I think this one really pushed the boat out. I know some people find it rough around the edges, but I love that, a real seventies feel. The film is very dark and right up my street. This is very much Rosemary's Baby territory and I think Rob and the gang pull it off. My only issue (as with wil all Rob Zombie movies) is Sherri's ass. Should I feel this turned on watching a horror movie???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a film of two halves, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
W. A. Armstrong "W.Armstrong" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I 've just finished watching the movie in question and I've no idea why. why that is , that I actually watched it to the end.
The disappointing thing is , this could and should have been a good movie. The main actors are excellent throughout , the soundtrack is atmospheric and Rob Zombie builds the tension expertly in the opening 45 minutes of this movie, but sadly, all of the good work slowly unravels as you watch it .
This really is almost a movie of two half's, the first , a well crafted, slow-burning horror movie , full of a steadily building tension , the second a farcical , self indulgent , mess. Whilst watching this I actually wondered how the actors kept a straight face during certain scenes - which , sadly , have to be seen to be believed.
There's no doubting that Mr.Zombie has a good directorial eye when he chooses to use it and you see glimpses of his talent here, building a realistic world in which his characters live within the town of Salem. Mood and atmosphere are here in spades but the later aspects of the movie ruin all of his goods early work. The later portion of this movie would greatly have benefited from the use of shadow and trusting in the audiences imagination - rather than the sometimes , almost clinical lighting , that only helps to highlight the absolutely ridiculous absurd elements of this movie.
Whilst I think Mr.Zombie has a great deal of talent and is far from a one-trick-pony, he certainly cant be allowed to produce work of such amateurish quality again., NOT if he expects people to enjoy his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sheri moon was great as usual!, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
But..the visuals and story line lacked originality which is wierd for a rob zombie film which I love and have all of. I had to get this to complete my collection but its not one ill watch over and over like the rest and yes I would have still ourchased it for my collection bc Rob Zombies my all time favorite director/producer filmmaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lords of Salem [DVD]
The Lords of Salem [DVD] by Rob Zombie (DVD - 2013)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews