Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We serve the butchers...
Heidi, DJs at a local radio station, and together with Whitey and Munster, form part of the Big H Radio Team.

A box containing a vinyl record arrives for Heidi. She assumes it's a rock band on a mission to spread their word. As Heidi and Whitey play the record, it starts to play backwards, and Heidi experiences a flashback to a past trauma.

Whitey...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GOAT HAS FREE WILL
This is a new take on "Rosemary's Baby" done in the Rob Zombie near porno style. Heidi (Sheri Moon Zombie) is part of a hip radio talk team in Salem. She lives in a modest apartment building with three elderly women and an apartment that never rents. On Tuesday she finds out the goat has free will and by Thursday she is chasing the rabbit. She is haunted by weird dreams...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rob zombie's the lords of salem, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Although i didn't find this movie scary i appreciated its artistic style, it continues mr zombies love of classic style horror movies
that leaves most of what you see to your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie at his best, 22 Aug 2013
By 
M. Hill (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow what a movie! I love all Zombie's movies and I think this one really pushed the boat out. I know some people find it rough around the edges, but I love that, a real seventies feel. The film is very dark and right up my street. This is very much Rosemary's Baby territory and I think Rob and the gang pull it off. My only issue (as with wil all Rob Zombie movies) is Sherri's ass. Should I feel this turned on watching a horror movie???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a film of two halves, 20 Aug 2013
By 
W. A. Armstrong "W.Armstrong" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I 've just finished watching the movie in question and I've no idea why. why that is , that I actually watched it to the end.
The disappointing thing is , this could and should have been a good movie. The main actors are excellent throughout , the soundtrack is atmospheric and Rob Zombie builds the tension expertly in the opening 45 minutes of this movie, but sadly, all of the good work slowly unravels as you watch it .
This really is almost a movie of two half's, the first , a well crafted, slow-burning horror movie , full of a steadily building tension , the second a farcical , self indulgent , mess. Whilst watching this I actually wondered how the actors kept a straight face during certain scenes - which , sadly , have to be seen to be believed.
There's no doubting that Mr.Zombie has a good directorial eye when he chooses to use it and you see glimpses of his talent here, building a realistic world in which his characters live within the town of Salem. Mood and atmosphere are here in spades but the later aspects of the movie ruin all of his goods early work. The later portion of this movie would greatly have benefited from the use of shadow and trusting in the audiences imagination - rather than the sometimes , almost clinical lighting , that only helps to highlight the absolutely ridiculous absurd elements of this movie.
Whilst I think Mr.Zombie has a great deal of talent and is far from a one-trick-pony, he certainly cant be allowed to produce work of such amateurish quality again., NOT if he expects people to enjoy his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sheri moon was great as usual!, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
But..the visuals and story line lacked originality which is wierd for a rob zombie film which I love and have all of. I had to get this to complete my collection but its not one ill watch over and over like the rest and yes I would have still ourchased it for my collection bc Rob Zombies my all time favorite director/producer filmmaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as devils rejects but way better than halloween 2, 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie from Rob Zombie, Didnt have the same fast pased gore as house of 1000 corpes or devils rejects, but certainly a lot better than both halloween and the not so great halloween 2. Slow paced but this adds to the overall creepy feel of the movie, with a great cast off horror icons to top it all off. Would recommened giving Zombie's latest a try. What happened to Meg Foster? Her transformation from Evil lynn in He-man Master of the universe, to the main witch in lords of salem, was turly terrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Birkett "Birkett" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Although it isn't his best film, it was a very interesting concept and I really enjoyed it. The character development is a bit lacking and the ending was a bit too vague for my liking but overall despite its bad reviews I enjoyed the experience. Give it a go, don't let everybody else sway your opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very different, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
this movie was completely the opposite of what i was expecting from a rob zombie film. rob zombie seemed like he wanted to go in a artistic route and i really dug this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RZ's Latest!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Although not a perfect film by any stretch, I've gotta say that I appreciate that RZ attempted to tackle different themes in this film that his previous films House of a 1,000 Corpses and Devil's Rejects.

There are moments of genuine creepiness, some amazing visuals and SOME great performances, what the film lacks is a coherent plot and satisfying ending. Buuuuut definitely worth a watch.

An interesting but flawed experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Zombie's Best, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Rob Zombie's music and films he rawness and inspiration is seen and heard. 1000's corpses and Devils Rejects are his best by far. His take on Halloween was great even thought I objected in hearing Micheal Myers voice which made him out to be human which in the other film he was anything but, anyhow Rob is to be congratulated on his versions of both Halloweens...

Now this film on the other hand is something of lesser effort in telling of a good story. It seemed to lack real true horror, it was a low budget yes but even low budget films do give a lot of think about and also leave a mark to keep you talking about for days, this sadly does not... I'm sure you know the story line of a female DJ who receives a record and when played summons a spell on all the females of the town Salem, there is a twist in it yes but nothing to shock... Rob I love your work but this is not your best and you are truly capable of doing great stuff, let hope your next film is AWESOME and up there with Rejects and Halloween...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lords Are Calling!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
First of all if you love your blood and guts horrors then give this a miss, but if your like me and you like wierd and twisted films then this is a must! This film has had alot of stick but to be honest if you don't get it then you will be confused, you have to watch for references and more thought about horror not just a simple slasher film!

Also Sheri Moon Zombie gets alot of stick for her actressing but her classic 70's style is something not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lords of Salem [DVD]
The Lords of Salem [DVD] by Rob Zombie (DVD - 2013)
£7.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews