Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We serve the butchers...
Heidi, DJs at a local radio station, and together with Whitey and Munster, form part of the Big H Radio Team.

A box containing a vinyl record arrives for Heidi. She assumes it's a rock band on a mission to spread their word. As Heidi and Whitey play the record, it starts to play backwards, and Heidi experiences a flashback to a past trauma.

Whitey...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GOAT HAS FREE WILL
This is a new take on "Rosemary's Baby" done in the Rob Zombie near porno style. Heidi (Sheri Moon Zombie) is part of a hip radio talk team in Salem. She lives in a modest apartment building with three elderly women and an apartment that never rents. On Tuesday she finds out the goat has free will and by Thursday she is chasing the rabbit. She is haunted by weird dreams...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We serve the butchers..., 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Heidi, DJs at a local radio station, and together with Whitey and Munster, form part of the Big H Radio Team.

A box containing a vinyl record arrives for Heidi. She assumes it's a rock band on a mission to spread their word. As Heidi and Whitey play the record, it starts to play backwards, and Heidi experiences a flashback to a past trauma.

Whitey plays the record, dubbing them the Lords of Salem, and to his surprise, the record plays normally and is a hit. Another box arrives presenting the Big H team with free tickets, posters and records to host a gig in Salem.

But Heidi and her cohorts are far from the rock spectacle they're expecting.......

Zombie either makes movies that are either works of genius, or utter pants. Thankfully, this is just as good, if not better than his previous works. And it's all to do with his vision, and his stark, layered imagery.

Every scene and shot is breathtaking, lighting and cinematography wonderful, and this all adds another layer to an already rich narrative.

It's not necessarily scary, just very eerie, and it harks of The Shining, Holy Ground, and The Ninth Configuration.

Zombies movies are involving and important because they do not conform to generic cinema, and that's probably why many don't like his movies.

They simply don't understand them, hence labelling them boring, or rubbish.

They are strangely beautiful, and in many respects, poetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GOAT HAS FREE WILL, 12 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a new take on "Rosemary's Baby" done in the Rob Zombie near porno style. Heidi (Sheri Moon Zombie) is part of a hip radio talk team in Salem. She lives in a modest apartment building with three elderly women and an apartment that never rents. On Tuesday she finds out the goat has free will and by Thursday she is chasing the rabbit. She is haunted by weird dreams and visions. Francis Mathias (Bruce Davison) plays the investigator, checking out new music by "The Lords of Salem."

Michael Berryman and Sid Haig are in unrecognizable roles, a waste of their talents. Zombie fans will enjoy this blasphemous film. All others I would recommend watching before buying.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, full frontal nudity (some not that pretty), simulated oral sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mediocre Tale of Vengeful Witches, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
This marks something of a departure for the infamous director, Rob Zombie. Unlike his earlier horror films, this one is much less bloody and offensive. Unfortunately, it is also something of a missfire. A group of female Salem witches are burned at the stake back in the 1600's, and they come back to possess the minds of a group of women living in modern Salem, including an American radio hostess called Heidi. Heidi is the end of the line of the family who killed the witches hundreds of years ago, and the witches want her soul as retribution for what was done to their coven. Sadly, the film sleepwalks for over an hour. It's style clearly owes a lot to Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, but it is simply not in the same league. It is closer in spirit to Halloween III, although I think that Halloween III is better. The first death scene comes after about one hour and fifteen minutes, when a man is bludgeoned to death with a saucepan, and even that scene is dull. The big closing scene, when all the modern day witches come together, is very much an anti-climax. So, why does this get 3 stars? The actors are very good, particularly Meg Foster as the leader of the witches. The make-up and special F/X are good. It is hardly a lame duck horror film, but it could have been so much better. The bottom line is that the film contains no shocks and fails to scare, but it is still a passable effort, though more as a thriller than a horror. Not sure why it was an 18 Certificate, a 15 Certification would have been more than adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A natural successor to The Devil Rides Out and Rosemary's Baby- Rob Zombies masterpiece., 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
With his third original effort Rob Zombie has nailed it. The Lords of Salem is a huge departure from his trippy hippy horror films and his two remakes of the Halloween films. This is a dark brooding affair. Indeed I can only think of a few seconds of light comedy involving Ken Foree as a DJ colleague bumping and grinding to some delicious music.

The Lords of Salem uses elements from Ken Russell's best films, also The Devils, Hammer's The Devil Rides Out and Rosemary's Baby. There is even flashes of The Shining. But this all original and all Zombies work. The nature of the movie revolves around Sheri Moon's character, she plays a DJ who gets a request to play a record, that record possesses her and she slowly changes. Just watching her methamorphisis into single fun loving woman to bad natured and possessed is quite brilliant. Satan is at work, but the movie could easily be a metaphor for heroin addiction as she stays confined to her flat and refuses to see her friends. Her landlords are witches and protectors and go to any lengths to protect her. Dee Wallace who has been out of the horror game for ages is great. Hearing her mutter the C word is interesting.

Barbara Crampton is also here and it is so refreshing to see Zombie not forgetting horror's past. The imagery near the finale is breathtaking. And I may annoy a lot of people here, but I feel this film is superior to The Devil Rides Out. I feel Zombie got the Satanic rites spot on, it is a film that leaves you thinking afterwards. A force that cannot be stopped. The film has divided many fans especially Zombies ones, but I can't see why, this is a genuine classic- we're lucky to have him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not done by numbers!, 22 Feb 2014
By 
R. Pestridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Mr. Zombies' films, I had read mixed reviews of this one. I tried to avoid trailers, spoilers etc. as I think in this media overkill age they tend to ruin the experience of watching a film. Call me old fashioned, but I don't want my 'film experience' to be spoon fed to me.

I'm not going to tell you what happens, other than to say this is not the most commercial work Rob Zombie has done and in turn is quite 'arty' and beautifully filmed (why there's no apparent UK Blu-ray release, is a complete mystery??). For me it harks back to films like John Carpenters 'The Fog' & elements of Kubricks 'The Shining'. It is NOT a 'slasher' style film, which I believe many were hoping for/expecting (Don't expect another 'Devil's Rejects'). There is still plenty of stark and disturbing imagery - atmospheric stuff.

This is an experience. Turn the lights out, turn the volume up and jump into the vision (and occasionally off your sofa!).

Great film, look forward to see where he goes after this............?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Lord, I'm Bored, 29 April 2013
By 
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Rob Zombie fans, of which I'm one might be smacking the 'unhelpful' button quicker than you can say 'try my frieeeeed chicken' here; but please, please just hear me out!

Here's where I'm at; 'The Lords of Salem' neglects all the things that we've come to love Zombie for and is a huge disappointment.

Firstly, the wierdness, excessiveness and tongue-in-cheek humour of 'Corpses' and 'Devil's Rejects' is virtually all missing and when it does come is forced and a bit 'trying too hard'. It's like watching elements of Tarantino or Park Chan Wook done badly as opposed to being fresh and different like before (sorry!!).

The completely over the top gore and nastiness is toned down a lot; no problem, but if you've captured a loyal following of fans on the back of this you need to make sure you replace it with something solid all round. This leads me on to one of the loosest, poorly contextualised plots I've ever seen and really weak characterisation. Throw into the mix an iffy script, one paced storyline and some suspect acting and you're sadly getting into 'turkey' territory! Sadly I was doing the fateful 'how long's left' clock watch towards the end it got that bad.

If you're still with me, here's my main gripe. If 'The Lords of Salem' has been done as an intentional retro B Movie we'd have all laughed along willingly - trouble is though it feels as if we're meant to take is seriosuly. In other words, it's not quite 'so bad it's good' and this strangely makes it even worse!

Watching 'The Lords of Salem' will leave you with that numb feeling you get when you know you've watched something bad. You don't know why and can't be bothered to analyse why.....you just 'know'.

Sorry folks; but from one Zombie fan to others, brace yourself for a big let down.

PS - Sid Haig's part is absolutely tiny (correction, completely cut)....another disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a HUGE letdown! Avoid at all costs., 11 May 2013
By 
Craig (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a Rob Zombie fan since his White Zombie days this was a major letdown. I absolutely love his first three films - "House Of 1000 Corpses", "The Devils Rejects", "Rob Zombie's Halloween" and his fifth movie "The Haunted World of El Super Beasto". But after the abysmal that is Halloween 2 I was hoping his next live-action movie would be a return to what he does best, how wrong I was. Lords Of Salem is a boring and confusing piece of trash! After reading the films description I was hoping for something along the lines of 80's Cult Classic "Trick Or Treat" but from the opening scene its just a dragged out mess that doesn't get better at any point in the film.

Maybe the haters finally got to Rob and this was his way of showing he can do "something different" or maybe he just doesn't have it as a director/writer anymore, only time and his next movie will. Obviously the Diehard/Hardcore Rob Zombie fans who can't say a bad word about him at all will praise it and say how awesome or amazing this movie is, but trust me its lightyears from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lords of So-So, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
If nothing else, Rob Zombie shows that he has a knack of directing films that hark back those halcyon days of the 70s grimy, exploitation cinema. I thoroughly enjoyed House of a 1000 Corpses and The Devil's Rejects principally because - ironically - they felt fresh in comparison to the formulaic, indentikit horror films that I was fast becoming desensitised to.

The Lords of Salem again displays his flare for stylism, as I settled down for some beers and the type of bloodthirsty carnage which requires a hot shower afterwards to wash away your disgust. Bliss. However, for some reason it didn't hit the mark for me as much as his previous two.

Sheri-Moon Zombie is back again as one part of Salem's DJing trio; however in this incarnation she is more restrained as the unlucky recipient of an evil recording which lets loose a centuries-old curse, threatening to release Satan onto the Earth. It's impossible not to draw comparisons with the likes of Rosemary's Baby and Omen; due to the plot, cinematographical similarities, and - more importantly - its eschewing of splatter with a creeping dread. Which is fine itself but to be honest I didn't particularly feel creeped-out at all; some scenes are decidedly bonkers but only the type of hippy-trippy 60s/70s imagery that you would expect from Zombie.

The actors are all adept at their roles, which always makes for an enjoyable cinematic experience; I thought Sheri-Moon and the local historian (played by Bruce Davison) were the backbone of a film that was surprisingly high on character development.

In short, not a bad film at all which encapsulates what made 70s horror special (not least the relentless fatalism so indicative of the time) and shows what a talented director he is. However those, like me, looking forward to some more shamelessly shocking horror are going to be left a little disappointed. If this is symptomatic of Zombie yearning to be taken as a more 'serious' director then i'd rather he didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid. It's art house rubbish., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lords of Salem [DVD] (DVD)
The trailer make this film look like something it's not (a good film) which is a shame as I quite like Rob Zombies work (even Halloween 2 had it's moments but this is a poor effort. It's more like an arthouse movie than a horror or thriller film, with it drifting off into "arty" set pieces which make little sense and get annoying after the 3rd or 4th one.

It's well shot and directed which is why I've given it two stars (you can't give half stars on here) , but the story is full of promise and fails to deliver. None of the actors seem interested, with the exception of Ken who's great as always and at 1 hr 41 minutes, it greatly outstays it's welcome.

I for one hope Rob Zombie finds better material to work with next time (even though he wrote this one) as I can't and won't watch another film like this again. Avoid :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Visually this has some good parts in it but the story of the witches and the whole set up of the revenge plot was a little thin and parts were just bizarre. Not a bad horror but not as good as the other rob zombie movie devils rejects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lords of Salem [DVD]
The Lords of Salem [DVD] by Rob Zombie (DVD - 2013)
£5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews