Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Death in the Family
Euphemia Martin, the young, resourceful, sleuthing heroine of this novel, is an Edwardian parson's daughter and like that actual daughter of the vicarage, Jane Austen, is a very minor scion of the aristocracy with a formidable mother who married for love.
She shares Austen's quick wit and intelligence and her acid humour provides nothing less than at least one...
Published on 17 April 2010 by Ewan W. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A very light detective story
A nice holiday book, nothing you have to break you head over. Very easy read. Sometimes maybe a bit silly, but I still enjoyed it and might read some of her other books.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. D. Lees


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Death in the Family, 17 April 2010
By 
Ewan W. Wilson "Butlerdunnit" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Death in the Family (Paperback)
Euphemia Martin, the young, resourceful, sleuthing heroine of this novel, is an Edwardian parson's daughter and like that actual daughter of the vicarage, Jane Austen, is a very minor scion of the aristocracy with a formidable mother who married for love.
She shares Austen's quick wit and intelligence and her acid humour provides nothing less than at least one chuckle a page.
The story moves along with zest as the resilient Miss Martin proves she is no ingenue, despite having been catapulted out of her comfortable life in the vicarage by her father's untimely and undignified demise, face down in the onions!
Euphemia is a delightful companion and one eagerly awaits making her acquaintance again.
For a debut whodunnit of the lighter sort this jumped to instant life. Deserves as wide an audience as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Feb. 2010
This review is from: A Death in the Family (Paperback)
This is a really enjoyable read and certainly something that would make a great Sunday night TV drama. It has a good mix of humour with mystery and has the quirky twist of being written from an unusual perspective (i.e. the protagonist is a female servant). I definitely recommend to anyone looking for some fun escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere between Downton Abbey and Gosford Park lies Euphemia Martins, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A below stairs detective story with a wonderfully light comic touch.

Euphemia Martins is reduced to entering service as a maid to support her family, only to to discover a body on her first day. From there she must wind her way between threats to her job, freedom and life, as she discovers the only way out is to solve the crime. A redoubtable heroine, we are behind her all the way.

An excellent start to a series that will surely run and run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, gritty, witty tour of the underbelly of the English Great House, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
M. H. PAGE "Martin H Page" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Imagine an Agatha Christie mystery, but from the staff point-of-view with all the downsides that really implied - snobbery and pecking orders below stairs, and groping employers above - all told with wit and grit and surprising twists, leavened by a light touch and a dose of romance.

(I bought the hard copy of this when it originally came out and am very happy to have the ebook so I can reread it at my leisure.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An entertaining mystery. Couldn't quite warm to Euphemia, but she was a gutsy character. The story was well planned, the outcome surprising. Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and have gone on to read the others in the series which have not disappointed, although I would say that the first story is the best. Good yearns, characters & period detail with good plots. Should appeal to anyone who enjoys romances, historical fiction and detective stories as these books have it all. My only criticism is that the stories themselves are a bit short - I would have liked slightly longer stories to enable the characters and plots to develop a bit more. Having said that, the length of the books is certainly reflected in the Kindle book price which is great value. I would highly recommend the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant homage to a golden age of crime fiction, 10 April 2015
By 
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a classic country house murder mystery set in 1909. Stepping up into the position of a much younger Miss Marple is Euphemia Martin, daughter of a vicar, granddaughter of an earl, but unfortunately reduced to finding a position as a maid when her father thoughtlessly expires in a dish of mutton and onions. It's all good, clean, traditional fun, with a knavish villain, a handsome potential love interest, and a sterling cast of red herrings. The mechanics of the plot just about hold together and the period detail is generally convincing, but it is the character of Euphemia and the gentle humour of the writing that elevates this book above the average Agatha Christie wannabe. I read it over an Easter weekend and enjoyed every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good dose of Edwardian country house intrigue, 14 Nov. 2009
This review is from: A Death in the Family (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of historical crime fiction, and `A Death in the Family' by new crime writer Caroline Dunford was exactly what I was looking for - a rattlingly good dose of Edwardian country house intrigue with plenty of twist and turns and clues to puzzle through along with the heroine of the book, Euphemia Martins.

Euphemia, the eighteen year old estranged granddaughter of an Earl, has fallen on hard times due to the death of her vicar father - just one of the deaths alluded to in the title. To help support her family, she assumes a false name and goes into service, where she promptly stumbles over a dead body in a secret passage. As her virtue is put to question, and the household suspect she's not quite who she claims to be, she makes a number of unlikely alliances in order to find the murderer and restore her good name.

In Euphemia Dunford has created a strong lead character - clever, courageous and witty, yet she's got enough vulnerability and naivety to make her believable. And although forced by necessity to seek a position below her social standing as a maid, a strong sense of romanticism and - I'm sure - a desire for adventure clearly shines though behind her career choice. She's also refreshingly unsure of herself and doesn't always make the right decisions, which just made me want to cheer her on all the more!

Without stooping to lecture at any point, A Death in the Family is also a stark reminder of the lot of women at the turn of the century, where everything depended on virtue, and class divides were often insurmountable. I was also delighted by the Edwardian setting - one of my favourite eras, and often overlooked by other authors.

I'm very pleased to see another Euphemia book is on the cards for next May, and look forward to seeing how the series, as well as the character, develops further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murderously good!, 28 Oct. 2009
This review is from: A Death in the Family (Paperback)
I'm not normally a reader of murder mysteries, but I found this to be a very enjoyable read.

This book is concerned with the family and servants of a large upper-class household in the early 1900s where a young lady named Euphemia is forced to take a job as a maid in order to support her mother and younger brother after her father dies. She hasn't been there very long when a murder occurs in the household, and understandably the finger of suspicion quickly points in her direction. Euphemia is innocent, however, and takes it upon herself to investigate the murder, uncovering clues and motives everywhere she looks, in the hopes of clearing her name and finding the real murderer. All this, whilst performing her role as maid and trying to keep a few secrets of her own.

A witty and entertaining tale, featuring a strong heroine in an unusual position. There are many period murder mysteries, but how many of them are told from the point-of-view of a household servant who's also investigating the murder? Think "Upstairs, Downstairs" with murder! I could easily see this as a Sunday evening period drama on BBC-1. Maybe the BBC will buy the rights to this and the following books in the Euphemia Martins series of books? I understand the next book in the series, "A Death In The Highlands", is to be published next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light hearted christie, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Death in the Family - A Euphemia Martins Murder Mystery (Euphemia Martins Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read , nice light hearted murder . Our heroine is not what she seems, I will read more about Euphemia Martin's adventures .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews