Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most shockingly brilliant film in a while.
Spring Breakers is the story of four girls, Faith (Selena Gomez), Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Cotty (Rachel Korine), as they find they do not have enough money to go on their spring break as they wanted to do. After a successful robbery of a café, the girls set off for a holiday of sun, sand, and non-stop partying. However, after they're...
Published 17 months ago by James

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good girls gone bad
3 spoilt teenagers rob a restaraunt to fund their upcoming spring break. When they get caught and arrested they are bailed out by a local drug dealer but what does he want in return? James Franco completely steals the film as drug dealer Alien while Vanessa Hudgens and Selena Gomez give very wooden performances. The 3 girls here may look good in a bikini but quite simply...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most shockingly brilliant film in a while., 16 July 2013
By 
James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Spring Breakers is the story of four girls, Faith (Selena Gomez), Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Cotty (Rachel Korine), as they find they do not have enough money to go on their spring break as they wanted to do. After a successful robbery of a café, the girls set off for a holiday of sun, sand, and non-stop partying. However, after they're arrested, they're bailed out by local rapper and gangster Alien (James Franco), and soon get caught up in his world of crime.

Now, I am the first to admit when I first heard of this film, I had no intention of seeing it. It just seemed like a film celebrating spring break, a tradition that doesn't even exist in my country, and seemed to be nothing more than a movie in which popular 'nice girls' got a chance to get naked on camera. However, after it was released I started seeing verdicts from people saying it was actually really good. So it was with some interest that I saw Spring Breakers, a film that turned out to be one of the most surprising, not to mention one of the best, movies of 2013 so far.

First of all, the acting in this film is much better than I ever thought it could be. Having sat through the first and third High School Musicals, I have grown to dislike Vanessa Hudgens as an actress. I've had no previous experience seeing Selena Gomez, Ashley Benson, or Rachel Korine act, and I'm not the biggest fan of James Franco. While the girls don't have more character to play with beyond a couple of basic traits, they do very well with them, especially Selena Gomez, playing the naive Faith, who was probably the most interesting character in the whole film, and who is unfortunately under-used and doesn't have nearly enough screentime. But by far the star of the show is James Franco, who I normally find unbearably bland and uninteresting, pulls off the most entertaining aspect of the entire picture as Alien. Years from now, his performance will be described as iconic, but for now we'll have to stick with fantastic.

The main thing that Spring Breakers is about, I quickly discovered, is the direction and editing. The accentuated colours, the liberal use of slow-motion, and the quick cutting make for a rich and borderline hypnotic visual feast. This is one of the best looking films I've ever seen, and not in the way one would expect. Normally when doing a film with a subject matter like this, a director would go for a fun atmosphere, making the viewer feel like he or she is there in the party having a blast with everyone else. Spring Breakers is not like that. The atmosphere is bleak, hopeless, unsettling, and downright disturbing at times. This is helped all the more by the excellent soundtrack by dubstep musician Skrillex, whose work I'm not all that familiar with, but if it's like this, I might have to check it out. The film makes us detached from the fun, making us see that it isn't all harmless, and the aftermath is much more serious than we might realise at the time. You don't 'like' any of the people or their actions, but something about the way it's acted and directed make you constantly engaged in them.

Spring Breakers is a showcase of why film as a medium is so great. If this were a book, it wouldn't work at all. The story is thin on it's own, so much so that the Wikipedia plot synopsis is only about two paragraphs long. No, what makes this film so brilliant and engaging is the fact that it's a film. The visuals leap out at you, they draw you in, they entertain you, they horrify you, they show you the effects of the behaviour these girls exhibit not in a judgemental way, but in a passive way. Like saying, "here's what it's like, now make your mind up: do you want to be like this?" I don't know whether everyone will enjoy Spring Breakers, hell, I don't even know if I enjoyed it, but I do know that everyone needs to see it for the simple talent involved. I normally hesitate to use the word 'masterpiece' in reviews, because it seems like the highest compliment you can give something, but Spring Breakers is, without a shadow of a doubt, a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spring Break Forever, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Spring Breakers is loosely speaking a film about american college girls getting involved in a crime spree. However, the trailers are very misleading and Harmony Korine's film is really a sort of psychedelic eulogy to Girls Gone Wild, neon, dayglo, MTV, flesh, money, summer, and most of all the hedonism of the all American Spring Break. Weirdly, sometimes the images, music and themes combine to create an almost poetic air of melancholy.

I really liked the Spring Breakers despite having to be dragged to see it, others insist it's the worst film of the 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good girls gone bad, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
3 spoilt teenagers rob a restaraunt to fund their upcoming spring break. When they get caught and arrested they are bailed out by a local drug dealer but what does he want in return? James Franco completely steals the film as drug dealer Alien while Vanessa Hudgens and Selena Gomez give very wooden performances. The 3 girls here may look good in a bikini but quite simply cannot act and the film relies on sleaze to shock with a very average plot and the 3 girls are completely unsympathetic and in my opinion anyway complete idiots and bimbos. Worth watching just for the excellent James Franco but even he has done better in a very average film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weirdly Phenomenal, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Spring Breakers [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I warn you now, although this is an exceedingly great film, it's not what it looks like.

The trailer focusses on 4 college girls (2 of which are former Disney favourites Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens) on spring break who get involved in a bit of crime and spend the entire movie in bikinis/less clothing. This much is true, but the way the director Harmony Korine chooses to display all of this is what the trailer doesn't show and what can be quite jarring to less seasoned viewers of Korine's work.

The editing style takes some getting used to with some dialogue from other scenes cut amongst earlier ones, hypnotic speech played constantly and frequent use of unneeded flashbacks. It's like Korine laid all of his footage out linearly, then accidentally sat on it and forgot to reorder it all. What remains is what most people would call "artsy".

Having said that, the film is ultimately incredible. There are some insanely great moments (Britney Spears' Everytime anyone?) and the frantic editing creates a seriously hypnotic experience. James Franco has never been better, and all 4 girls make "brave" performances also.

Just be warned, if you're looking for a straight-up, American Pie style spring break movie of girls taking their tops off and covering themselves in beer, this isn't the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film!!! Cant get enough!, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Was very surprised by this film. Was thinking it was going to be something of an american pie type film. Its on another level! Amazing film!!! Credits to james franco and the amazing music in the film. I watched it on sky and then HAD to buy the DVD. Its far too under rated! Best film by far of 2013, cant believe iv just seen it . I am also a woman just people know it doesn't just appeal to men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Paul H Ainsworth (Leeds, W. Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The plot - US college girls desperate to go on a Spring Break binge, rob a store and set off for outrageous fun. They end up involved in a massacre. Underneath however is a stylish, challenging film that deep down shows that what the girls really want is a life where they can be happy and content in everyday life. Deeply moving sequence when some of the girls ring home to talk to their 'mom' about coming home and returning to college, when they are about to descend into an orgy of mayhem. Filmed in bright colours that hide the darkness seducing the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Look at my s**t!", 11 Aug 2014
By 
T. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
OK, first of all I will admit that this movie is two-dimensional with zero character development and not too much plot.

Having said that, this is a weirdly moving film with a unique style somewhat akin to a music video (essentially, this is a 90 minute MTV music video). The film successfully manages to create a certain ambience with its stylish editing and use of bright colours.
Certain parts are also successful in conveying messages of consumerism, with Alien's thoroughly engaging "Look at my s**t" monologue.

Oh, and James Franco is amazing.

In conclusion, this film is what it is and though it has little to no depth, it is strangely engaging and unique. It is a good film to watch on a Friday night, it doesn't take itself too seriously and there are definitely few films out there like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They seemed such normal girls!! No!, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Pretty good film, Very seedy little world that these girls come across, but they are more than up for the challenge. If this sort of thing happens on a regular basis - then look out! Great performance from James Franco - very versatile actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spring Breakers dvd, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spring Breakers [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great fun and some gorgeous girls involved in holding up stores. There's a darker side to this but I really enjoyed it. Glamorous and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst movies ever made, 16 Dec 2014
This review is from: Spring Breakers (Blu-ray)
This was meant to be a comedy but someone forgot to tell the writers. it wasn't even entertaining for any genre of film. Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It only gets a star as the app won't let me rate it lower. I never even made it to the end got to 42minutes then had to end the suffering don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spring Breakers [Blu-ray] [2013]
Spring Breakers [Blu-ray] [2013] by Harmony Korine (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews