Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacing an old friend.
I bought this to replace the 1982 version I had, which I have used almost every day since I got it, but which is now literally disintegrating, (despite my efforts with the Selotape over the years,) as it has been used so regularly. The new version is of course even better, with more comprehensive lists and also some new categories. I am very much enjoying finding my way...
Published 22 months ago by Geema B113.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to use on Kindle
Bought this - really looking forward to out-shining my wife at crosswords. Unfortunately, weeks later, I still have not fathomed how to use the Kindle version.
Published 8 months ago by PAB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars useful, 28 May 2014
By 
Lynne Bradley (Eccles. Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossword Lists & Crossword Solver: Over 100,000 potential solutions including technical terms, place names and compound expressions (Kindle Edition)
I am just getting used to using this book, it should come with instructions! I have only used the lists so far, they are quite comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossword Lists & Crossword Solver: Over 100,000 potential solutions including technical terms, place names and compound expressions (Kindle Edition)
Not as useful as I was hoping. Have found other books more useful. It could do with a more flexible indexing system for searching on kindle and a really extended thesaurus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossword Lists & Crossword Solver: Over 100,000 potential solutions including technical terms, place names and compound expressions (Kindle Edition)
I have been using a paper version of this book for many years but have to take it with me wherever I go to do my crosswords. Now I've got a Kindle it made sense to have that version especially for when I go on holiday. It's even better than my old version as there is a lot more in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crossword lists and solver, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossword Lists & Crossword Solver: Over 100,000 potential solutions including technical terms, place names and compound expressions (Kindle Edition)
have a stiff back copy of very similar book very old now had it for more than 50 years so now fragile and falling apart
also quite heavy making my kindle copy easy to take with me even on holiday

many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword solver, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Jane's Mom (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my 90 year old uncle who loves crosswords. He has found it excellent and really enjoys using it to look up all sorts of information as well as crossword solving. He said I couldn't have bought him a better gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is such a mine of information & not only for crossword fanatics like me. I can see it being used for all sorts of things - stuff which you know you know but simply can't remember. Can't wait to start using it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent helper, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased to replace my old (and I mean OLD) one. Inexpensive item and the paper is a little on the thin side, but it has even more data than my previous copy, so I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy book to have, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book almost every list you need to help with crossword solving. Really useful and helps with general knowledge as well! Would recommend to a friend in fact I bought one for my Mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Review, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rated it at this level because it was not quite as good as a similar book which I own which is now unobtainable.
However, I bought this for a friend who was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good but it takes a bit of getting used to., 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me by my sister so I went stright on to Amazon to get it. Initially, I was slow to find what I wanted but with a bit of practice it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews