Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive account of one of the key events of the 20th century
This book sets the battle for Stalingrad into the context of both the war on the Eastern Front and the Second World War as a whole. It is a very good introduction to the subject, though is probably not going to add much to the knowledge of anyone who is already well read on the Great Patriotic War. It is very readable.
Published 13 months ago by Stuart Edwards

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs Maps
I'm not a historian or a WW2 fanatic - I was motivated to read about Stalingrad after watching a BBC documentary, part of which was filmed in Volvograd. I almost bought the Anthony Beevor book, bracing myself for 550 pages when I noticed this shorter version which was perfect. A fascinating story of courageous men on both sides driven to annihilation by the egos of Stalin...
Published 5 months ago by RASHID CHINCHANWALA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive account of one of the key events of the 20th century, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
This book sets the battle for Stalingrad into the context of both the war on the Eastern Front and the Second World War as a whole. It is a very good introduction to the subject, though is probably not going to add much to the knowledge of anyone who is already well read on the Great Patriotic War. It is very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars downfall, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
this is a really good read for anyone interested in WW2 and the battles that standout as turning points in it giving a lot of detail and facts. it is a striking story of the hardships that the people had to endure and how sheer determination can keep you fighting through to a final victory. written with a lot of detail and I would recommend it as a first class history book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TubeReader, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
Well documented and easy to read. A good balance between the story and the military facts. Out of the many historical accounts I have read, this is amongst the best and for the price, well worth enjoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalingrad, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
Very informative and I believe factually correct, gives a good account of the problems faced on the western front, and a picture of the Russian resolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read history on a great battle, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read lots of books on Starlingrad , but this book is great for any one who wants an overview of this great battle .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
Very informative , easily read , book you could pick up at any page and enjoy , a good overall view of the battle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
Very easy to read and not just about the battle itself. Lot's of historical facts about WW2. Gives a good overall account of the
build up to the start of hostilities on the Eastern front.
Would recommend to anyone interested in WW2 history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle that Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully written. Only fault, too much detail. Hard to keep track of all the various armies and battle groups.the indifference to human cost hard to grasp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different style to others I've read on the Eastern front but an excellent read all the same, brings the real horrors both sides faced to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs Maps, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad (Paperback)
I'm not a historian or a WW2 fanatic - I was motivated to read about Stalingrad after watching a BBC documentary, part of which was filmed in Volvograd. I almost bought the Anthony Beevor book, bracing myself for 550 pages when I noticed this shorter version which was perfect. A fascinating story of courageous men on both sides driven to annihilation by the egos of Stalin and Hitler. I give it 3 stars because you really need to have maps included to fully appreciate the army movements and strategies. Unfortunately, there was also too much dry description of the various thrusts and counter thrusts which made some of the battles very difficult to follow. So lucky not to have lived through this war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews