Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
63
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 March 2013
Dermot O'Leary.... who would think the presenter of the most manufactured music programme on TV would present a radio show of real music? His Saturday afternoon show is always a highlight of the radio week for me, and I love hearing the way in which artists cover songs, either old or new. I have also discovered new music from the show (such as the wonderful The War Room)

I believe this is the fourth (?) collection of the sessions from said show. Previous collections have been fantastic, with an eclectic mix of music, both in terms of the covers and the style. This one is different. It seems all of the songs included are slow.. oh so very slow, and with so many on each disc this gets boring after a while. I know the idea of the show is to session songs acoustically, but this collection all seems to be of the same ilk.

Disappointing and not a true reflection of a wonderful show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I`ve bought the previous two collections, but I have to say that this one, with a few notable exceptions, bored me to tears. Soooo slow and some of the versions of the songs were dull, dull, dull. Definitely an album for those with trouble sleeping!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
On the back on his previous collection (and not unlike the Radio 1 Live Lounge series) Dermot O'Leary has got together a collection of great songs by a diverse range of artists. The beauty of these compilations is that you get to hear songs you know by unknown artists, or some big names singing tracks that you may have never heard. Either way, if you are like me, you then go hunting out more artists or tracks and your collection grows even more!!! There are always a few fillers at first sight, but rather than flicking through your media device of choice, why not do what we used to do back in the day and play the album through in it's entirety. That way you get songs that grow on you or you find the hidden gems.

The highlights for me (after only a couple of listenings) are the established artists Emeli Sande (Eleanor Rigby), Ed Sheeran (Who you are)and Maverick Sabre (Empire State of Mind). Also, great tracks by lesser known artists Maximo Park (Heaven), Dry The River (Homeward Bound), The Do (Sex On Fire) and The Slow Show (Born to Run). Added to this the simply beautiful Angels by The XX, Ben Howard and Paloma Faith and you have 2 1/2 hours of music that might be from Saturday Sessions but fit perfectly into a Sunday morning relaxing with a coffee and the papers!!

Already looking forward to the next batch of songs from Dermot and the gang!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Ahh I love Dermot. Such a good album. Everyone in the house loves it, we can all have a good singalong and no one is unhappy if we play it in the car when out for a drive. Fabulous mix of singers and songs. I knew it would be brilliant because the radio two show is so good and this cd certainly does it justice. Will definitely be buying some more of these cds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I am really quite disappointed with this collection of songs from the Saturday Sessions. The whole double CD package is, in a word, mediocre. There is no one stand out track, the Emeli Sande cover of Eleanor Rigby is good but it is not a masterpiece.

May be it is the fault of the artists that come on Dermot's show and they are not being adventurous enough, or may be it is the fault if the person who chose the 'best of' but, as mentioned in pother reviews, this CD collection is at best a good background muzak item.

Which is a shame.....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Its ok but not as good as I had expected...heard a few 'adverts' for it on Radio 2 and decided to purchase it. Was cheaper on Amazon than anywhere else...I've listened to it a few time and it is ok. Nice to have something else to listen to and there are a couple of tracks that are great and the rest are ok.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
A really good album, with excellent songs on it that , mostly, are not sung by the original artists. I really liked the Emeli Sande version of the Beatles classic Eleanor Rigby!! A very varied selection of good songs sung by a collection of Excellent Artists. Overall well worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Love the first CD- particularly - Eleanor Rigby - Emeli Sandé, Hanging on the Telephone - Will Young, Into My Arms - Paloma Faith and Tower of Song - Tom Jones. Not so keen on second CD but worth purchasing for first one alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Another very good collection from the team at Dermot O Leary,s show I hope there is still more to come.You have old and new artists side by side and some tracks are even better than the studio version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Absolutely love this Album. As usual Dermot brings together a fine mix of music.
Some of the bands you may not have heard of before. Dermot has a great knack of knitting great artists on these compilations.
Good work again. Will be my most played album like the ones that have gone before!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)