Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical of the era
I particularly wanted this film collection as Midshipman Easy was among them. To my surprise Hughie Green is the main character and looked only around 16 years old. However, my main reason for wanting this film was that my mother had said she appeared in it and now, with the ability to pause tv, I have seen her in a number of scenes - I am delighted! But anyway the films...
Published 8 months ago by Seebass

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Research Needed
Research is needed to find who the actors are in these 'Rarities' because the information is not printed on the cover. When I found through 'Wickopedia' that Roger Livesy was in Midshipman Easy, I decided to purchase volume 2. I think these would sell better if it was readily apparent who the actors are, and some very fine actors indeed.
Published 1 month ago by Alan P. Caron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical of the era, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I particularly wanted this film collection as Midshipman Easy was among them. To my surprise Hughie Green is the main character and looked only around 16 years old. However, my main reason for wanting this film was that my mother had said she appeared in it and now, with the ability to pause tv, I have seen her in a number of scenes - I am delighted! But anyway the films are typical of the time and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nostalgia, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Purchase was made for the Big Blockade that I wanted to complete my Will Hay collection. The transfers of all films are good and some are rare to find indeed, hence my choice to purchase this set, A good buy for all and with subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Revivlals kcanham, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Lingsley Canham "Pre-Code buff" (Norwich, Norfolk, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am delighted that Ealing Studios is having many of its lesser known films revived on DVD. Quality is variable - Hughie Green
could not act is way out of a paper bag in MIDSHIPMAN EASY.Whereas John Mills and Robert Morley took to the drama/documentary format lihe ducks to water. The FOUR JUST MEN had just the right mix of bravado and bravery, again very well played by Banks, Lawton, Francis L. Sullivan and the very talented Anna Lee.

The find of the series was undoubtedly BRIEF ECSTASY. Superb photography by Ronald Neame,introducing the viewer to insane servant Marie Ney, treating the Professor's wife Linden Travers as a prototype Jane Eyre glowering behind French windows.
The film is in some ways an earlier version of BRIEF EBCOUNTER, with a different slant in which the potentially adulterous
couple are wracked by inner tensions heightened by their increasingly careless behaviour in public. I will definitely seek out
other films by the French director Edmond Greville, who was taking a sabbatical from the French film industry, as he found the
British equivalent more stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Four great films full of nostalgia and character. Hughie Green is brilliant as a young midshipman. The big blockade with a star studded cast and loads of cameos seemed like everyone wanted to get in on the act. Both patriotic and feel good. I thoroughly enjoyed all 4 of these films and will certainly get the other Ealing rarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Series, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Bill Anderson (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for 'The Big Blockade' with Will Hay, well worth it for this one film alone. Also recommend on another collection 'Eureka Stockade' 1864 Australia - Ballarat Goldfields TRUE story - very well related - I have been to Ballarat (Sovereign Hill / Eureka Stockade museum), more than once. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ealing films, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
like them or hate them , but for me these old ealing b/w films are gems of yesteryear and I just love old films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for Will Hay Film, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes thats right this volume shows another side to 1930`s comedian Will Hay in a film never been released and as per usual is of good quality,from the network team..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Research Needed, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Research is needed to find who the actors are in these 'Rarities' because the information is not printed on the cover. When I found through 'Wickopedia' that Roger Livesy was in Midshipman Easy, I decided to purchase volume 2. I think these would sell better if it was readily apparent who the actors are, and some very fine actors indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. R. N. Willcox (orpington, kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Another wonderful volume of rare Ealing movies. Some of these hav'nt been seen since their initial release. Great quality, not to mention value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
vg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ealing Studio Rarities Collection - Volume 2 [DVD]
6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews