Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Live Album
In vogue with most other rock bands, Whitesnake have saturated the market with live albums in the past few years. Hot on the heels of the vintage "Live At Donington 1990" we get a more recent offering recorded in Japan. Don't let the unimaginative title put you off, after all, David Coverdale's old band Deep Purple recorded the definitive "Made In Japan" and NO live...
Published 15 months ago by U Dick

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Japanese Sushi!
Having been a fan of Whitesnake for more years than I care to remember I was looking forward to seeing if DC still has what it takes in the vocal department & also to see if this current line up of musicians were up to scratch (at the time of writing this the line up has changed yet again). Taking the same title from the most seminal live album of all time I thought was a...
Published 15 months ago by thomsonjon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made in Japan?, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Love Whitesnake and David Coverdale, slightly disappointed that whilst this is a good compilation it's what we've heard so many times before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitesnake back to Japan, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Very exciting live reflex from the last ten years headline Whitesnake. Powerfull and melodic live concerts in Japan. The DVD sounds very well, the guitars are strong and the Coverdale voice is amazing, not the 70's voice, but very good voice for the 21th century Whitesnake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal and totally pointless, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Well here we go again with another Whitesnake live album.
Unfortunately thee's nothing special about this at all.The last live album from Whitesnake suffered from a shocking production and loud crowd noise with the really only good points being the 4 studio tracks that never get played and are always neglected at the end of the album.
Whilst I'm pleased that the sound problems have been rectified on this album it is up for worst album of the year by far.

And here's why: The setlist is typical of Whitesnake over the last 10 years. 70 mins,loads of solos for Coverdale to rest his voice and the same songs year after year.
Like AC/DC-Whitesnake have always been predictable with the setlist and won't risk changing anything so once again we get the usual hits of 'Glam Rock era' Whitesnake-Here I go again, is this love, Still of the night, etc.
Of course we get tracks played from the latest album 'Forevermore' which to be honest is a fantastic album but the studio versions ar far better than what's on offer here. 'Good to be bad' is hardly represented of course and most other Whitesnake albums are not represented at all.
'Fool for your loving' is ruined further with a 'new intro' but at least not as bad as 'Don't break my heart again' which was destroyed on the last live album.
I'm guessing if you saw them on this tour then you'll enjoy this album as it will sound better than they did live as a lot of 'Studio work' on this LIVE album has quite obviously taken place.

The cover is the typical unoriginal logo of the band again as it has been for the last few albums albiet in a different colour.

The title is a joke. Unoriginal to say the least. To steal Deep Purple's title from their live legendary album of 40 years ago is an insult. What's their next album going to be called 'Machinehead'?

To have a 7 minute drum solo on an album by a drummer who's recently LEFT the band is again POINTLESS. Let alone the long widdly widdly guitar solos.

Overall this album is quite possibly the most unoriginal, bland album i've heard in years. It should have never been released.

So in summary...
If you want a Whitesnake live album then get 'Live in the heart of the city' they've never bettered it.

If you want a decent Whitesnake album then get 'Ready and willing' or for something more up to date then get 'Forevermore' (Worth it for the title track alone).

Or failing all that and if you're really want 'Made in Japan' then for gods sake get the Deep Purple one...as this album isn't worthy of even carrying the same title.
AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
dc has been around for so long but has'nt lost any of his magic. brill well worth buying for any dc fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Another album to go with the rest of the Whitesnake albums i have just brilliant keep them coming,collection getting bigger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Both my husband and I are Whitesnake fans, been to quite a few of their concerts, this cd/dvd, brought back many memories.I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH LIVE SNAKE?, 30 May 2013
By 
G. McMillan (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Can you ever have too much of Ol' 'Cov and the boys? I think not. Superb dvd/2cd package for a sweet price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitesnake smoothing away in Japan, 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
Whitesnake smoothing away in Japan hitting out clasic whitesnake heavy tracks as well as there smooth tracks that everyone nows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good and fun live rock concert, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
I read some of the review an I have to say that pepole forget rocknroll is all about!!
Yes David's voice is not as it was but for crying out loud he is doing it for more then 35 years!!! This is not like guitar strings that you can replace !! hello pepole !!
He is still the best rock singer!! The band sounds fantasic and I agree that I would love to add more songs and give up on the drum solo.
So in the end I can say that its a great rock concert and Whitesnake still deliver what it takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm..., 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) (Audio CD)
I have followed Whitesnake since 1980 and really wanted to love this album...But there are a few niggles. Brian Tichy on drums is a technically gifted musician but completely over plays every song, taking any feel/soul out of the piece and unfortunately that is the vibe of the whole album. Very Americana (with an all American band it would be) but there was another more bluesy soulful Whitesnake which got left behind when America called in the mid-80's...But it's a different time now and Mr.Coverdale's voice would be more suited to the earlier style...I will leave it that...What a shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made In Japan (2cd+dvd)
Made In Japan (2cd+dvd) by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews