Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intimate, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
Patrick Stroudley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook (Audio CD)
Anyone who saw Allen Toussaint's one man shows a couple of years ago will be familiar with the treatment and setting here. And I'm sure they'll be rushing to buy this. The recording captures the intimacy of the show well. I always find it fascinating to hear the writer's version of songs made famous by others, and we have several chances to experience that on this release. Maybe there is too much between track chat to play repeatedly. Nevertheless, this release is a welcome addition to the Allen Toussaint catalogue and will not disappoint his many fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Missed him playing at Ronnie Scotts, so made up for it by buying this instead. What a pleasant gentleman as well as a genius musician!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this simply because I have loved the work of Allen Toussaint for years both as ..., 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Bought this simply because I have loved the work of Allen Toussaint for years both as a song writer and performer. I could not get to any of Allen's concerts in London but this is clearly as close as one could get to a live performance.It's a joy to both watch and listen to and I unreservedly recommend it both to Toussaint fans and those who do not know his work but enjoy the unique sounds of New Orleans at its gentle swinging best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poetic journey into his childhood and is simply beautiful. Lovely recordings very intimate and great sound, 31 July 2014
By 
Al (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songbook (Audio CD)
Saw the magnificent Mr Toussaint in concert solo at the piano as he is here. this recording brought that performance back to me. What a huge talent this man is. Lovely reworkings from his enormous back catalogue. the version of Southern Nights here is worth the price on its own. it becomes an evocative, poetic journey into his childhood and is simply beautiful. Lovely recordings very intimate and great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Allen Toussaint 'Songbook', 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook (Audio CD)
CD bought for my husband, so, in his words! : Quietly understated live recording with an outstanding rendition of 'Southern Nights'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD. Not used DVD yet but should be ..., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Good CD .
Not used DVD yet but should be fine.

And much better than Hugh Laurie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Songbook was bought as a gift and was very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songbook (Audio CD)
excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songbook [Deluxe Edition]
Songbook [Deluxe Edition] by Allen Toussaint (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews