Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great compromise between speed and size
LONG REVIEW FOLLOWS:

SSDs offer the best performance but the obstacle remains the price. 500gb SSDs have dropped a lot but the popular 256gb sized drives are priced much the same as they were a year ago. If you are a Laptop user, unless you're willing to either spend a lot of money, compromise on storage space or have a laptop with space for more than one...
Published 10 months ago by Tired Techie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after 2 weeks
HDD started failing after 2 weeks, second hybrid HDD I have and they aren't as reliable as expected. First one and younger sister to this one died after less then 3 years, and this one was probably a bad sheep. So I wouldn't recommend them to anyone
Published 1 month ago by T. Almeida


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great compromise between speed and size, 31 May 2013
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
LONG REVIEW FOLLOWS:

SSDs offer the best performance but the obstacle remains the price. 500gb SSDs have dropped a lot but the popular 256gb sized drives are priced much the same as they were a year ago. If you are a Laptop user, unless you're willing to either spend a lot of money, compromise on storage space or have a laptop with space for more than one storage drive, SSDs are not suitable and this is where Hybrid drives can come in.

The hybrid drive uses a small amount of fast NAND memory to act as a cache for frequently accessed data and thus speeds up the drive considerably. Seagate's new line of Hybrid drives sees 8GB of NAND as standard. The 750gb model makes way for a 1TB drive and both drives now use spindle speeds of 5400rpm. Seagate also claim the incorporated algorithm that caches data has been improved (common writes as well as common reads are now cached). If you still want a 7200rpm Hybrid drive, snap up the 750gb Momentus quickly as it is discontinued.

Installing in an old 2008 Macbook Pro was easy, I opted to restore from a Time Machine backup as I wanted my drive exactly as it had been though a clean install and use of Migration Assistant (or windows equivalent) is probably the best option for an error free experience. I would try to avoid drive cloning unless it's really necessary.

As with the old Momentus drive, the first boot wasn't particularly impressive as the algorithm had yet to determine what data to cache but after I'd restarted 3 times, things were definitely faster.

Some figures:
From a cold start, I timed how long it took to reach the grey Apple logo, how long to fully load the desktop and a total boot to desktop time:
5400rpm HDD: 39 seconds, 38 seconds respectively. 1 minute 17 total
Old 500gb Momentus: 18.58 seconds, 21.22 seconds respectively. 39.8 seconds total.
1TB SSHD: 7.8 seconds, 16.52 seconds respectively. 24.32 seconds total.

Booting up into a tab heavy Firefox session took the old HDD 3 minutes, the Momentus a minute and this drive 42 seconds (which, if memory serves is not far off the Samsung 830 SSD I once used).

As well as a faster boot, more programs I use regularly open in a flash. I used to find that quite a few regularly used programs remained sluggish to load but now far more have speedy launch times (not all, you'd still have to go SSD if you want everything quickly). For those things that are not cached, I couldn't detect any real lag compared to the Momentus despite the slower spindle speed with the added bonus that the drive is now noticeably quieter (though power usage is higher).

It's disappointing that Seagate didn't go beyond 8gb for the cache. Other manufacturers make cache SSDs of up to 50gb. Seagate claim that 8GB is the sweetspot, enough to cache 98% of the unique read data of a "typical corporate user". Ideally, it would be nice if Seagate could produce a genuine 2-in-1 hybrid with separate SSD and HDD partitions, allowing laptop users the same option as desktop users of a SSD boot drive and HDD archive drive. This is likely a way off and for all we know, SSD prices may plummet before that but at the very least a version with a bigger cache would be great in the near future.

PROS:
Fast SSD like performance. There are improvements over the previous Momentus drives and massive improvements over conventional HDDs. The SSHD is now even closer to the perfomance of a SSD despite using a slower spindle speed HDD. Pricing remains fantastic, the 500gb model currently costs a quarter the price of an SSD equivalent whilst the 1TB version costs a fifth of a 1TB SSD, a lot more money for a performance boost many users wouldn't even notice. At time of writing, the cost of one of these Hybrid drives would likely still only get you a 128gb SSD. The drive is also quieter than its predecessor and seems to run far cooler.

CONS:
This remains SSD-like performance rather than a genuine SSD. You will not find everything on your machine to be magically faster. Another downside is power consumption, according to Seagate spec sheets, these drives use almost double the power of other 2.5" drives. It won't send power bills through the roof but will probably reduce battery life. Finally is the fact that as a HDD, it carries with it all the frailties of the tech. The use of an SSD isn't license to throw your laptop around but in those horrifying moments when your laptop falls off a table, you can be fairly sure that while your laptop might not be okay, your data probably is. This isn't the case here.

FINAL LINE

As before, the SSD would offer far greater performance than the SSHD overall but it still comes back to price and capacity. SSD prices and capacities have improved a lot at the high end but still remain inaccessibly expensive for most users. If you want speed but don't want to spend huge amounts, you're still going to have keep a lean computer running from a small capacity SSD or go with the SSHD almost as good performance and plenty of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Upgrade for PS4, 3 Jan 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
There are many Hard Drives you can choose when it comes down to upgrading your PS4. Although it is worth pointing out some essential facts that you need to know. Firstly any drive you chose must be no thicker than 9.5mm, be a minimum of 160GB (in case you were thinking of installing an SSD) and the drive should conform to the 2.5 inch standard. Although you won't find it on any official PlayStation literature the drive that the PS4 comes with runs at 5400RPM and i would advise you stick to that spin speed as any faster and you increase the heat produced and the last thing you want to increase is the heat especially as the drive sits in a confined space.

This particular drive is a 1TB (so 1000GB) Solid State Hybrid Drive, meaning it has a combination of a traditional hard drive and a small Solid State Drive built in. The Operating System and programs that you use a lot of will automatically get stored on the SSD for fast access. This essentially means boot up times and loading screens are cut short (anywhere between 20-50%) although install times and downloads remain the same.

It really is a great innovation on the part of Seagate to combine the two type of drive and at a very reasonable price, a standard drive for space and a small SSD for the things that really matter and it makes this ideal for the PS4 or indeed any computer. The two drives are completely integrated into each other so don't go thinking you have to mess around configuring what gets saved where, the hard drive does that work for you and only the most used things are placed there. This drive is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Now i want to give you a quick walkthrough for those that need help in the upgrade process. Firstly, Before you begin you will need a memory stick with at least 1GB capacity and please ensure there is nothing else on it. Then you need to format or re-format it through your computer to "fat32". Once complete, create a folder called "PS4" and inside that folder create another one called "UPDATE" ensuring they are in capital letters!! After you have done that leave the memory stick plugged into your computer!!

You then need to go to the following website if you are in the UK... WEBSITE LINK found in the comments section at the bottom of the review ... Click the "download now" link half way down the page and Save it to your memory stick inside the UPDATE file. ENSURE the file is named "PS4UPDATE.PUP"

Once saved to your memory stick you can proceed to remove the existing hard drive inside the console. You will require a PHILLIPS HEAD screwdriver and obviously the new Hard drive.

1) The hard drive location within the PS4 is very easy to access, it is directly underneath the glossy black section on the top and to gain access all you need to do is to slide that section off by pushing it to the left if you are looking at the console with the disk drive towards you, use both hands and push it about an inch. It should then lift off, be careful not to snag the clips underneath.

2) you should immediately see the hard drive cage exposed at the front, right at the corner of the machine will be a special screw with the 4 PlayStation logos on it (circle, triangle, cross and square), this is the one and only screw you remove at this stage and you will require a Phillips head screwdriver for this part and do it manually i.e. don't use an electric screwdriver!!

3) The hard drive tray should then be able to slide right out. Then use the Phillips head screwdriver to remove the 4 screws (2 either side) that are holding the hard drive inside the tray, KEEP THE SCREWS SAFE!

4) Replace the old hard drive with the new one you bought ensuring you place the new one in the same way the old one comes out with the connectors facing inside the console and the label facing upwards and then use the 4 screws to secure the new hard drive inside the tray.

5) Slide the tray back into the hard drive bay and secure it with the special PlayStation screw, then simply replace the black plastic cover on the PS4 the same way you took it off.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

6) Plug the PS4 into the power and connect up to the TV, connect the DuelShock 4 controller using the cable to the PS4 console and then in the spare USB port connect the memory stick which has the new software on it.

7) Touch the power button for at least seven seconds. The PS4 system starts in safe mode.

8) Select "Initialize PS4(Reinstall System Software)" which should be option 7. Follow the instructions that appear on screen. (installation should take around 5 minutes)

9) The PS4 should reboot like it was a new system, follow the instructions on screen!

Very best of luck, any problems please don't hesitate to ask and as for the hard drive on this page i FULLY RECOMMEND IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good., 9 May 2013
By 
A. Walters (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
I bought this product to replace my MacBook Pro hard drive which was getting a little slow and was running out of space. Seeing how much it cost to buy a SSHD I decided on the hybrid as it was as close as possible technology wise but far cheaper. After weeks deciding if I should buy the 750gb drive this newer model appeared. Its been in my Mac about 5 days now and boot up times have dropped massively. From what I've read these drives "learn" which applications/ programs you use most and open them using the 8gb SSD part. Firefox which I use a lot pops up almost instantly now when it would bounce around on my dock for a few seconds before opening. I bought it through Amazon Fulfilled and got it 3 days later.

The main part to take away is that

1 Its a far cheaper than a SSD
2.It will speed up boot/ opening times
3 Its only a little bit more than the 750gb model
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for PS4, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
I bought this drive for my PlayStation 4 and it is so simple to swap this in for the 500GB one that the PS4 comes with. It took me 10 mins to unscrew and remove the old drive, screw this one in place and reboot the system with the installation software. I've doubled my storage capacity and I've seen various articles online stating that the hybrid drive reduces load times etc.

Delivery was quick too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS4 upgrade drive, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
Bought to replace the standard Hard Drive supplied with the PS4 after watching several videos on the speed and benefits of Hybrid Drives even one by IGN using this exact one,works brilliantly quick and quite super fast delivery well chuffed :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running out of room..., 22 July 2013
By 
Mr. Keith J. Alger "Keith" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
Okay, so I have a lot of music and a lot of photographs on my laptops existing 500MB drive, to the point where for the last couple of months I've been having to keep an eye on things. Well I was fast approaching the point where things were getting critical! I'd also been looking at the idea of getting a large Solid State Drive (SSD), but even then I'd have been looking at a drive that cost more than the rest of the laptop is worth. So when I saw the 1TB hybrid drive, small enough to fit into a laptop, it was a kind of one item to kill two birds moment.

I've had the drive just under a week, and it's large, so that's no problem, it should keep me going for a few more years. The surprise to me is the speed boost. Now I've read reviews where people have said they've seen no major difference, but my Toshiba Satalite A665 used to take several minutes before it was usable, that's now down to about 20 seconds(*edited). The only downside to this new burst of speed is that I used to have the time to make a mug of coffee while the machine was booting up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS4, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
Swapped it out with the default HDD 500gb in the PS4.
Works great and can notice a difference in speeds and installation time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased with its performance although it took some setting up!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
I use my Mac for simple iMovie and iDVD tasks.

iMovie performs about the same as before but iDVD performs about 3x faster than the previous 750gb HD. A 12 minute iDVD render now takes less than 3 minutes!

It also boots up 3 x faster the the previous HD.

I tried to use SuperDuper and Carbon Copy Cloner to copy my OS and files but it failed on all 3 attempts! (7 hours each attempt later!)
Reinstalled OS X with correct partioning (GUID Partition Table) and migrated Apps (which took 24hrs) in the end!

It was a slog but well worth the hassle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly straightforward and worthwhile upgrade., 19 July 2013
By 
Scampo "Steve C" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
Over the past two years, I have replaced all the older SATA drives in the family's PCs and laptops with SSDs and can't speak too highly of them. Even an older bargain 256gb Kingston SSD from Amazon, with slower read/write speeds, has utterly transformed my laptop's boot up and program loading times. However, I thought I would write this review as it seems that SSDs aren't necessarily always the answer...

I recently changed an older laptop for a new Samsung 27" "all-in-one PC" (model no DP700A7D) - problem: it had a non-SSD drive which, once you are used to SSD speeds, seemed so slow in comparison. In every other way this all-in-one is superb but I couldn't feel happy with the slow boot up / shut down times. First step was to put an SSD drive into the new Samsung for which I used the Kingston 256gb drive temporarily, borrowing it from my laptop (I used the "migration" tool from Paragon's excellent and easy-to-use back-up software, "Paragon Hard Disk Manager Suite 12"), before spending out on a new SSD drive.

Well, I'm glad I did as all sorts of problems occurred with the SSD / Samsung combination. The SSD drive kept "disappearing" from the BIOS and I struggled to know what was happening - the machine booted sometimes, then mysteriously failed to boot. I came to realise that some SSDs (or the older SSDs at least - although the Kingston has the latest firmware installed) struggle with some the newer BIOSs (the Samsung has a newer "UEFI" safe boot Bios). I had had a similar issue with a nephew's PC so wasn't completely at a loss but such problems are massively frustrating and time consuming.

So I thought I would try one of the new Seagate hybrid drives. I was lucky to have one as I was about to fit it into a friend's PC. Well, wow, I'm glad I did. Since installing it the load speeds are, so far as everyday use goes, equal to my computers with full SSDs - and no booting problems have occurred at all; in fact no issues whatsoever. This is a superb piece of technology for sure - easy to fit, easy to migrate and a delight to use. It might seem like this drive has a tiny SSD hybrid element, but so far as I can tell, that is irrelevant. Seagate have engineered this so that small hybrid SSD drive simply "knows" what to store such that the effect is to emulate an SSD in, so far as I can see, every way. I haven't timed the boot up or program loading at all, it doesn't seem worth such an objective measurement when the subjective effect is sheer joy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to my PS3, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seagate 1TB 2.5 inch Laptop Solid State Hybrid Drive (Accessory)
Amazing value for money. There are noticeable faster load and install times when storing games on the HDD. This is really convenient for me as a PS+ user too.

Any game downloaded has run pretty smoothly. No issues at all after a few months of using it.

I'd really recommend this to anyone looking to upgrade their PS3 in terms of storage space and slight improvements in performance. I can't say how this would run inside a laptop, but I imagine it would have a similar result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews