Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throwing light on Lampworking
A thoroughly enjoyable, informative and illuminating text that gives an introduction and overview to the renowned London based glass lamp-workers Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy. Illustrated with examples from the range of their beautifully crafted works. The text gives the reader guidance on how to identify the respective lamp-workers' hand in what many may consider as mere...
Published on 24 Feb. 2013 by Alsretro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars paperback
not a great deal of information
Published 21 hours ago by maggie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throwing light on Lampworking, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable, informative and illuminating text that gives an introduction and overview to the renowned London based glass lamp-workers Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy. Illustrated with examples from the range of their beautifully crafted works. The text gives the reader guidance on how to identify the respective lamp-workers' hand in what many may consider as mere trinketure. To the informed collector/dealer however here is sound advice on how to ensure the authenticity of items they may own or be thinking of acquiring for pleasure or investment. Included are reminiscences from those connected personally and/ or professionally in London based lamp-working. The first of a four part trilogy-cal treasure and I am certainly looking forward to the future publications in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious Enthusiasm for this Glass Art., 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Angela has produced the first of her trilogy on the amazing world of Lampworked Glass, focussing on Bimini, Pirelli and Komaromy, the 'London Lampworkers'.

This is sensitively written with great knowledge of the history of the subject, and starts the process of identifying the different ways of ensuring the validity of any of these masterpieces you may posess or be considering purchasing.
I say sensitively, because the love and affection she holds for this type of glass spills over into her writing and fills the reader / collector with enthusiasm.

As the first of her trilogy, it is a taster of things to come, and I for one look forward with enthusiasm and a modicum of impatience for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artists in Glass, 13 Mar. 2013
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Angela's book is long overdue for us all and will be incredibly useful in identifying the work of these 3 lamp workers, one being my late father, Istvan Komaromy (Com-arrr-oh-me) whose work has been wrongly attributed for too long. This book - and its trilogy group to come - achieves its objectives in a most interesting manner. A good read! From collaborating with Angela! I know her research is painstakingly undertaken and readers will not only enjoy this book but learn a great deal from it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more please..., 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this little book and having read it am already inpatient for the next ones in the trilogy series which I believe haven't even been written yet. Angela Bowey is a leading expert on all things glass in my humble collectors opinion and writes with such authoritative ease and enthusiasm there is nothing to fault with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Lampworkers - New Light through Old Windows, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you are interested in glass - especially glass animals, then this book is 'just the ticket'. It provides accurate information upon how to identify Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Lampwork in an easy to follow style. I enjoyed reading it and recommend it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London lamp workers, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very informative. Taught me a lot about a subject I was previously very vague about. I look forward to the other books in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent little book, 20 Sept. 2013
This little volume, just 36 pages, is a taster for Angela's forthcoming trilogy.

In these few pages there are enough facts to wet the appetite of any glass enthusiast for more! Being a paperweight collector and researcher I was particularly interested in the Pirelli section and the relationship between Pirelli and the Ysart Brothers.

I can't wait to read more especially as the first of the trilogy will cover Pirelli and I am sure will be compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Publicity for little known form of glass art., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great overview of lamp workers in London but there is so much more and I hope to learn more from the authors next volumes. Bob Martin I know as he is a member of the BSSG, (I am the Editor of the Journal). I will be reviewing it for our October's issue. Good that scientific glassblowing got a couple of mentions. Thanks

Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Lampworkers: Your Guide to Pirelli, Bimini and Komaromy Glass (London Lampworkers Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read, knowing nothing about these three lamp workers before it has given an insight into their beautiful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars paperback, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a great deal of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews