Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Indeed!
Malian singer/songwriter Rokia Traore has an immediately recognisable
voice. It demands instant attention with its rich, slightly raspy vibrato
and smokey tone. John Parish (long time collaborator with P J Harvey)
is a terrific choice of producer for her collection of nine new songs.
The stage he sets is uncluttered and transparent. Ms Traore's...
Published 15 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed product
the album is musically fine but the disc does not rip properly using db poweramp, only showing track nos and not titles.it also does not show artwork
Published 14 months ago by m mcdermott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Groovy, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Received this album about Ms Rokia, as I had jeard everybody grooving about it. Some good tracks and fun. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Mali, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
Three or four great songs here, and the rest is good too. Somewhat different sound to the record form here last couple of CDs, the guitar defines the sound, rather than the acoustic, traditional sounds of her previous stuff.

The title track is the weakest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dragonfly spirit driving a Stradivari voice., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Masterpiece From Rokia.

This album is magic, the first time I listened it I was driving through England but I did actually travelled trough Africa.
I've just discovered her voice with Mouneissa and I quickly bought the others albums.
Her first album have the power to clutch to one's soul, and from there to "Beautiful Africa" is a crescendo of inspirational power.

Is a shame that Bowmboi is not available in the UK in MP3 format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The voice, the timing and the complex rythm's are just enthralling. The musicians who accompany her are also fantastic. I shall have to listen to some of her earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, 1 May 2013
By 
Tim Weber (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lovely album, more than met my expectations after first catching the singer perform on Later... with Jools Holland.

If you love modern West African music, this album should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
I'm a big Rokia fan and was eager to get my hands on this album. It doesn't disappoint! Her voice is beautiful and the tracks quite varied, from haunting to powerful. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed product, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Africa (Audio CD)
the album is musically fine but the disc does not rip properly using db poweramp, only showing track nos and not titles.it also does not show artwork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Africa
Beautiful Africa by Rokia Traore (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews