Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful perspective made for everyone from new to old
Let's start with the criticisms and get them out of the way. For one, what you may have heard about Ken Burns skipping a great deal of the past four decades of the history of Jazz is true. He did that, ostensibly, in order to focus on the existential continental drift initiated by the invention of "Free Jazz" by saxophonist Ornette Coleman in 1961, and what that has meant...
Published on 23 Feb. 2003 by Earl Hazell

versus
52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this badly edited version
This is the butchered BBC version of the series, and it is missing nearly 7 hours of footage. Quite why somebody there felt they were qualified, or indeed needed to cut over 33% of the running time from such a landmark series is beyond me, but they have ended up doing Ken Burns no favours at all. I believe whoever took the decision felt that 20 hours was too much for...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Del 58


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Special Edition, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as advertised-very good-Although when reveiwed by Christopher Bray in the Mail on Sunday as a JAZZ SPECIAL EDITION @ £35.25 I did pay a lot more than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has been wonderful to see it all again. We had the video version and just had to get the DVD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Burns - Jazz Special Edition [Region 2 UK Version] [DVD] (DVD)
Husband really liked this. It is a great historical insight into the life of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars America's wonderful legacy, 16 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have given this 4 stars for only one reason and that is that I would have liked the complete unedited original box set.
Apart from that small gripe this box set represents a collection of the greatest and most influential music of the 20th century played and composed by musicians of the like that we may never see again.

Highly recommended to anyone who loves music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz the DVDs, 23 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ken Burns at his best any lover of jazz will find something new, also a brilliant introduction to jazz with some very fine performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great watching, 10 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth buying with lots of original recordings. A must if you enjoy jazz (or jass as it was originally called)and its history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good film BUT..., 10 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The "JAZZ" film by Ken Burns is a very good documentary on Jazz music and, in my opinion, is a "must" to all jazz enthusiasts and musicians.

It has tons of rare photographs and film clips that depict the fascinating history of Jazz and the role of its pioneers.

BUT...
The whole documentary is impregnated with a certain political and national "pro - USA" propaganda; for example, the American flag is on the TV screen dozens of times (and on the DVD box, too). The spectator often thinks that the musical aspect of the documentary was of lesser importance to the makers that the political commentary heard.

I would like to clarify that I was not annoyed by the fact that the propaganda was American; it would be equally disturbing if it had been Japanese, Rhodesian or Paraguayan. ANY propaganda would be irrelevant to a documentary on music and, as a European, I found this of very bad taste AND insulting to the intelligence of anyone with an at-least-average IQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ken Burns - Jazz Special Edition [Region 2 UK Version] [DVD]
£34.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews