Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended read.
Have read a few books on Victoria's children but did not know a lot about her extended family.
The book is very interesting and really brings her family to life, all the arguments and troubles they had, and traumas.
Written in an easy to read way, one of the most interesting books I have read. Got very absorbed, and looked forward to going to bed to read it...
Published 23 months ago by Lauri-jane

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Subject, but Badly Written
For someone so interested in such a relatively esoteric subject as Queen Victoria's granddaughters, I was excited to receive the book, and indeed enjoyed it; it's hardly exhaustive (and couldn't be with so many varied characters), but it gives a good intro.
However, never had I before felt more compelled to take a pencil and correct a book than with this one! First...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. S. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
This is not my usual type of book but have a recently become more and more interested in Queen Victoria and her large family. I found this book to be so informative. A bit hard going at times as it does go back and forth but still thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
The author gave a fascinating insight into the lives of Queen Victoria' family and the links between the European Heads of State.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
If only history lessons had been as interesting and informative as this. Brilliantly written and very clear. Christina Croft has done a great job on explaining history, giving as much detail to make it interesting. I was eager to get on with the next chapter all the time.
I would heartily recommend this book to anyone who finds history dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 24 April 2014
By 
Mrs. I. Stubbs (wigan, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book for a friend who is studying queen victoria having read it myself on kindle it is a very good source of information and I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The many princesses, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
A good read and succinctly set out. After a while I got a bit lost with all the names but felt the research was very well done. This lady appears to know her stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history come alive, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
It was with trepidation that I bought this book., I am not a great reader of history , but I enjoyed reading this from the start.
The fact that it was written in small chapters made it so much more interesting, and although I did know a reasonable amount about the Victorian Royal family I found members I had not heard of before.
It was a pity in such a large family that the same names were given repeatedly which I did find a bit confusing.
The Russian family and its tragic end was particularly well written.
I would reccomend this book to every one with the slightest interest in the Royal family it is well worth reading, I was sorry when it came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stumbled across and very glad I did, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
Very clearly written with a summary at the start of each chapter of who each person is in relation to their family (something Game of Thrones could benefit from) A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Victoria's Granddaughters, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book very interesting to read about how all the royal European families are connected to the British royal family a very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and thorough, 21 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
A super, detailed account of the lives, loves and losses of fascinating characters too easily forgotten in history. Brilliantly research and most interesting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918 (Kindle Edition)
This was a good book but I kept getting lost with all the names. There were so many granddaughters !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen Victoria's Granddaughters 1860-1918
£4.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews