Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read
I saw you on a chat show last week, just before your book was launched. I am not, in truth, a football fan but a fan of one of my friends who is a player, so I watch him. There is so much sense in what you say, e.g. that you have only 8 to 10 years to set yourself up for life. I also agree with everything you say about depression, only in my mid 60's do I feel able to...
Published 12 months ago by PW

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Career in the last throes of decline
I had initially hesitated to buy Clarke Carlisle’s autobiography when I read of the controversy in it about the different perspectives of solving the approaches to anti-racism in football. Compounding this was my respect for Dave Thomas's views on the unnecessary bad language which had been quoted in publicity surrounding publication. DT’s Jimmy Adamson - The...
Published 11 months ago by TomFrederickBooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Know Me, But . . .: A Footballer's Life (Kindle Edition)
A good honest account of Clarke carlisles life. Was interested in this book as a burnley fan and Clarke having played for burnley. Had no idea of his problems when he played for the clarets and it will really help highlight the problems young people have with depression. Well done for being so honest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Nov 2013
By 
ACLeeds (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not about the glamourous side of football but about the harsh reality of trying to make it in the beautiful game. The story of Clarke's last season with flashbacks to the earlier days of his career is told with brutal honesty. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Know Me, But . . .: A Footballer's Life (Kindle Edition)
I remember standing as a primary school kid in the east paddock at Bloomfield Road watching Clarke Carlise score his first ever goal for Blackpool and thinking how amazing it was for someone so young was playing for my team....

It's refreshing to read such a brutally honest account of life as a footballer. Maybe it's the fact that I truly aspired to emulate him when I was about 10 but it really hit home that the perception that all footballers live life on easy street couldn't be further from the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Man, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clarke tells it as he sees it: no PC nonsense so far as he is concerned.

Recommended reading for all football lovers, especially Cobblers' supporters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For any football fan this is an brilliant insight into the life of a professional footballer both on and off the pitch. A well written personal account of the highs and lows of his footballing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it cover to cover, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Brian G "Brian" (Brisbane Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Know Me, But . . .: A Footballer's Life (Kindle Edition)
This year's Garry Nelson. I started this kindle book on the plane down to Melbourne this morning and almost finished it on the way back to Brisbane tonight but needed 20 mins before bed. Honest, funny and heartwarming. Clarke Carlisle will go on to greater things I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting insight into the world of football. Football isn't all bees and honey especially once away from the leagues down from the Premier. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Amazing Read., 9 Oct 2013
I have just finished this book and feel blown away. It has given me such an insight into the crazy world of football that as someone who has never understood/ followed and rarely watched football - it was written in such an understandable way, that even I could follow it!
WOW. What an amazing guy Clarke is. His achievements, failures, emotions, highs, lows - all make this into an exhilarating read. Clarke's very honest, and raw approach made this an emotional read. In a good way.
This book explores football in every aspect as well as how he fought through some very personal issues such as alcoloism, depression and juggling family life.
You don't have to be into football to read this - and I highly recommend this book.
Absolutely loved it. Well done Clarke for writing such an amazing life on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest, frank and emotional book!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Know Me, But . . .: A Footballer's Life (Kindle Edition)
Having watched Clark Carlisle play at QPR and Leeds, and having seen his various TV appearances, I knew that he was an intelligent person as well as a talented footballer.
Having read this I have more respect for him than ever.
To bare his soul like he does, whilst admitting to be less than a perfect human being, deserves much credit. It also made me slightly change my opinion about professional footballers, particularly as they come to the end of their career.
This, together with 'I am the Secret Footballer' should be essential reading for anyone with an interest in the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly open and honest, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Mike Smith (Lytham St Annes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Don't Know Me, But . . .: A Footballer's Life (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book that opens the world of a professional footballer his trials, tribulations and hopes. When we sit on the terraces we rarely think of the person behind the squad number. I will now. Good Luck for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews