Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest of them all
This can be taken in two ways: Alan was by far the funniest team member on Radio 4's 'The News Quiz' and I found this book, published at the time of Alan's death last October (2007) the funniest of his many books.
Consisting of 69 short pieces on a huge range of subjects, Alan's flights of fancy had me choking over my morning cornflakes and spluttering over my...
Published on 13 July 2008 by V. Rendall

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good
I bought this after reading his omnibus, which was great. I have always loved him, used to read his column in punch. But this is a collection of very short fillers, which are generally un-amusing and disappointing.
Published 18 months ago by alibongo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
laugh out loud - great little articles to read on train/bus/Doctor's waiting room -hadn't forgotten how funny Alan Coren's article always were so great to have this collection. fjs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dip in book, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
This is a book to dip in and out of, with an amusing turn of phrase, bought as a dal of the day, not sure I would pay full price though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The heights of Coren, 31 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Always a pleasure to read Alan Coren, and this book is a collection of his shorts. All in nice-sized chunks to read before a snooze. I do miss Punch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle humour, 29 May 2014
By 
Partisan (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Some fairly innocuous essays that are mildly amusing - certainly not laugh-out-loud. A nice easy read to fall back on between reading other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful writer, sadly missed, 29 May 2014
By 
Aggie (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Alan Coren never failed to make me laugh -- mostly out loud. This is a collection of the last articles he wrote before he died from cancer, something you would never guess he had from reading these. Guaranteed to lift one's spirits, I can't recommend 69 for 1 strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best in small doses, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Alan Coren's humorous writings are always a joy. However these articles were written as standalones, each in a different day's paper. To try and read them continuously is a mistake. they are best dipped into, one at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smiles, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
69 brief aperçus about life, the universe and everything - each one mildly droll, definitely worth reading. A good book to leave in the loo, the length of each perfectly calculated to accompany a good bowel movement.

Coren is one of the great British humorists. You probably won't be rolling on the floor helpless with laughter. This is just as well as there isn't room in my downstairs loo. But you are sure to emerge with a wry smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An icon gone but remembered by many, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Nigel Beere (Tavistock,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Another wry look at life from the grand master of observation.His slant on every day subjects is slightly absurd but near enough to the perceived truth to set us laughing at ourselves.True Brits relate completely to this form of entertainment and the author is sadly missed by all who have followed him over many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad to see him go, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
Alan Coren is my hero. There, I've said it! I've loved his work for decades and he never failed to make me laugh. This last collection of his stories had me giggling at times but I have to admit that this isn't necessarily his best work. Having said that, even his less than best work is streets ahead of most humorists and always will be. It's so sad that we won't see any more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coren never fails, 8 April 2013
By 
J. A. Elliott (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 69 for 1 (Kindle Edition)
One of the best humorous writers of his century, though he can also be cuttingly serious. Alan Coren is a great wordsmith, totally engaging and often leaving you with a broad smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

69 for 1
69 for 1 by Alan Coren
£5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews