Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Some Dodgy episodes here in Season 4
This is probably the poorest MV season. Nevertheless suave double act Crockett and Tubbs are immersed in the unpredictable Miami underworld to crowd-pleasing effect. Crockett still lives on his yacht with Elvis, and still had a dazzling propensity towards pastel casual wear.

Originally, I was nervous about spending thirty pounds on this series (season 4)...
Published on 19 Jun 2008 by Bren Ray Cyrus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A roller-coaster ride for viewers
It was clear towards the end of Season 3 of Miami Vice that the show was running out of steam. Stories were becoming repetitive, the acting was more wooden, and attention to detail in terms of locations and music was becoming more limited. Season 4 is a very bizarre run of episodes that can be best described as a roller-coaster ride for viewers. The repetitive...
Published 7 months ago by SJB747


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Some Dodgy episodes here in Season 4, 19 Jun 2008
This is probably the poorest MV season. Nevertheless suave double act Crockett and Tubbs are immersed in the unpredictable Miami underworld to crowd-pleasing effect. Crockett still lives on his yacht with Elvis, and still had a dazzling propensity towards pastel casual wear.

Originally, I was nervous about spending thirty pounds on this series (season 4) because I was worried that the departure of the original writers from the show, (including creators Anthony Yerkovich) would result in a poor MV season. However, the result of the free-lance writer efforts are a mixed bag of erratic episodes that are all over the map.

The season opener "Contempt of Court" is good and it proves that even after twenty years MV still packs a punch. By the fourth episode in, however, the season gets pretty much derailed beginning with "The Big Thaw" about a Rastafarian Michael Jackson reggae singer preserved in a cryogenic sleep chamber and then there's the infamous "Missing Hours" featuring James Brown and a whacked-out plot revolving around Trudy's alien abduction and it's time to call in Mulder and Scully instead of Crockett and Tubbs.

If Vice hadn't already "Jumped the Shark" at that point, the introduction of Sheena Easton in the following episode "Like A Hurricane" as Sonny's recurring love-interest Caitlin Davies is enough to make you shriek like nails screeching on chalkboard when Sonny's lovey-dovey side reduces the episode into a series of mushy soap-opera escapades and inevitable wedding bells ring while poor Rico is left on the sidelines.

There's a pretty decent selection of alternative music featuring tracks by artists like Yello, Love and Rockets, the Hooters, Billy Idol, Iggy Pop, U2 and Peter Gabriel peppered throughout. Any misgivings I may have had about season 4 eventually payoff with patience building to the last two dramatically stunning episodes of the season, "Deliver Us From Evil" and "Mirror Image".

In conclusion, Miami Vice season 1 was good. Season 2,3 and 5 are astonishingly good. Season 4 is a mixed bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good, 3 Sep 2007
This review is from: Miami Vice - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Suave double act Crockett and Tubbs (MTV cops) are immersed in the unpredictable Miami underworld to crowd-pleasing effect.
Crockett still lives on his yacht with Elvis, and still had a dazzling propensity towards pastel casual wear.

Originally, I was nervous about spending fourty pounds on this series (season 4) because I was worried that the departure of the original writers and producers for the show, (including creators Anthony Yerkovich and Michael Mann,) would result in a poor MV season.

However, the result of the free-lance writer efforts are a mixed bag of erratic episodes that are all over the map. The season opener "Contempt of Court" is good and it proves that even after twenty years MV still packs a punch.
By the fourth episode in, however, the season gets pretty much derailed beginning with "The Big Thaw" about a Rastafarian Michael Jackson reggae singer preserved in a cryogenic sleep chamber and then there's the infamous "Missing Hours" featuring James Brown and a whacked-out plot revolving around Trudy's alien abduction and it's time to call in Mulder and Scully instead of Crockett and Tubbs.

If Vice hadn't already "Jumped the Shark" at that point, the introduction of Sheena Easton in the following episode "Like A Hurricane" as Sonny's recurring love-interest Caitlin Davies is enough to make you shriek like nails screeching on chalkboard when Sonny's lovey-dovey side reduces the episode into a series of mushy soap-opera escapades and inevitable wedding bells ring while poor Rico is left on the sidelines.

There's a pretty decent selection of alternative music featuring tracks by artists like Yello, Love and Rockets, the Hooters, Billy Idol, Iggy Pop, U2 and Peter Gabriel peppered throughout.

Any misgivings I may have had about season 4 eventually payoff with patience building to the last two dramatically stunning episodes of the season, "Deliver Us From Evil" and "Mirror Image".

In conclusion, MV season 1 was good. Season 2,3,4 are astonishingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Season 4., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - Season 4 (2013 Re-issue) [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Another great addition to the collection if you have bought them season by season. Another amaray cased box set as are the re released seasons box sets. I'm assuming that the carded box sets have been discontinued. Only really important if you're an absolute completist. Spliler alert! Crockett gets married! Plenty lf action and an 80's soundtrack to die for. Story wise a little slacker than seasons 1 and 2 - I believe that they had different writers for the last couple of seasons. Still worthwhile and kicks the ass of a great many of its contemporaries. Season 5 next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A roller-coaster ride for viewers, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Miami Vice - Season 4 (2013 Re-issue) [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
It was clear towards the end of Season 3 of Miami Vice that the show was running out of steam. Stories were becoming repetitive, the acting was more wooden, and attention to detail in terms of locations and music was becoming more limited. Season 4 is a very bizarre run of episodes that can be best described as a roller-coaster ride for viewers. The repetitive storytelling of the end of season 3 was rectified, but I'm sure the stories that are told in season 4 were not what viewers had in mind when the Miami Vice credits rolled.

It must be said, season 4 does contain some brilliant Miami Vice episodes. Death and the Lady, Baseballs of Death, Indian Wars and Deliver us from Evil are all classic Miami Vice episodes. Season 4 also boasts what is by far the best season finale, and one of the greatest episodes of the series, Mirror Image. There are also a whole host of generic standard episodes thrown in the mix which make worthwhile viewing.

However, for every good episode of season 4, there is a truly abysmal episode. There are episodes that are abysmal due to their ridiculous nature and some that are just abysmal because they are boring. Missing Hours, The Big Thaw and Cows of October all fit into the ridiculous category. The fact that any of these episodes made it into production showed the lack of vision and commitment executives had for Miami Vice at the time. Their existence is mind boggling and I would love to hear the justification from those that committed to their creation at the time. This really is when Miami Vice jumped the shark. Joining the ridiculous episodes are also the boring episodes which include Like a Hurricane, Hell Hath no Fury and a Bullet for Crockett, which is just a clip show. Add on top of all that a lack of energy from all those involved, and season 4 really is a weird season of TV to watch.

Overall, Miami Vice Season 4 manages to test even the most loyal fans. There are moments that I do truly enjoy, but these are juxtaposed alongside as many moments where I'm left scratching my head in complete and utter bemusement and despair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Sonny Crockett Show? Feat. Sheena Easton, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - Season 4 (2013 Re-issue) [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Season 4 starts well, but tumbles downhill quickly. Focusing mainly on Crockett, Tubbs and the rest of the Vice squad seem to take a back seat, with brief appearances through the episodes. The series is also renowned for featuring the show's two most critically-panned episodes, which deal with UFOs and Bull Semen respectively, which might give you some idea of how the quality has wained. Pop star Sheena Easton joins the regular cast as Crockett's wife, although the very idea that an undercover cop like Crockett would marry a A-list celebrity and compromise both their lives is frankly ridiculous. Besides, Easton's acting is hammy, her accent constantly slips between American and Scottish and despite Crockett's obsession with her, you end up hoping they'll kill her off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars miami vice, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - Season 4 (2013 Re-issue) [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
thanks for the dvds. I have always wanted this boxset. now I have them all. i will enjoy watching them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the end, 30 Sep 2012
This review is from: Miami Vice - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I was the hugest Miami Vice fan. I loved the show to bits. I'd never seen anything like it when it first came out and season one was incredible, season two was brilliant as well. It started to lose its edge in season three but by this season it was - apart from a couple of eps - actually downright terrible. Crockett's marriage to Sheena Easton being the most ridiculous thing I'd seen in a long time and taking the show from gritty cop show with odball characters and humor to a soap opera.

All the things that made the early seasons great, the photography, score, etc lost their edge and it's actually quite sad to see how the show ended up. It still has Crocket and Tubbs though, hence the three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vice, S4= Only a few stand out moments, 3 May 2012
This review is from: Miami Vice - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so we've gotten to Season 4 of a definitively "of it's time" show. With this in mind, had it lost steam at this point?
Well, yes & no in equal measure here really. No (in my opinion) because there ARE some really stand out episodes on this set. These being "Honor Among Thieves", "Like a hurricane", "Deliver us from evil" & "Mirror Image" in my view.
"Honor Among Thieves" is to me, the CREEPIEST episode of the entire show, focusing on a sinister pedophile intent on filling kids with cocaine before raping them and killing them. This one still sends shivers down my spine and is very well acted and staged, with a great tense atmosphere throughout. The other mentioned highlights are also shining examples of what made MV so great, plot twists, action and suspense.
And on the other hand Yes because other than these, the rest of the episodes are very much a mixed bag of average to low par to...what the hell? (case in point "Missing hours") Watch out for some surprising guest stars this season like Chris Rock, James Brown & Ben Stiller.

Overall good in places but downright abyssmal in others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Annette Townend "Nette" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoy watching it , good stories, great action. It never seems to look outdated no matter how many times we watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You can feel the downslide starting here.., 28 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Miami vice personified all the good and bad about the 1980's. The clothes, the cars, the hair, the shallow lifestyles, the greed, the unending quest for more of everything. Ironically, this is neatly reflected in the production values and the quality of the content during this season.

Everything has been ramped up to the max here, including crocket's famous wedding scene and relationship with sheena easton, and the ott designer clothes and furnishings, which were now starting to induce vomit with the garishness en masse. However, once you get beyond the halfway mark, you notice that Jan Hammer is handing over his regins to someone else, michael mann seems to have departed, and the script and direction in general is becoming lacklustre. The "keep 'em glued" cliffhangar for season 5, is crocket's boat accident on a surveillance run, which induces a complete change of character. This is pretty well done.

Overall, half of the episodes are good, the other half vary in quality between nonsensical to average at best. If you own the other three seasons, and need this for completist purposes, then feel free to buy. If not, i wouldnt lose too much sleep over not seeing anything from this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miami Vice - Season 4 (2013 Re-issue) [DVD] [1987]
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews