Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first blu ray player
I'm new to blu ray players and didn't want a complicated one. this is easy to install and use. It plays blu rays in good definition and my dvd's are upscaled, it is good with scratched old ones as well. I can plug in my flash drive and play mp4 files easily, I haven't hooked it up to the internet yet. The box is very small so I can take it anywhere. Very pleased with it...
Published 14 months ago by M. Wilson

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More development needed
We bought this Blu-ray player because it also featured the ability to stream network media and access BBC iPlayer. Unfortunately it will not play all Blu-ray discs, the media codec options are very limited and iPlayer crashes frequently, locking up the player and requiring it to be unplugged to reset. We have other streaming and iPlayer devices that all work fine and a...
Published 10 months ago by Penguin Fach


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first blu ray player, 5 Oct 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
I'm new to blu ray players and didn't want a complicated one. this is easy to install and use. It plays blu rays in good definition and my dvd's are upscaled, it is good with scratched old ones as well. I can plug in my flash drive and play mp4 files easily, I haven't hooked it up to the internet yet. The box is very small so I can take it anywhere. Very pleased with it for the price I paid. Samsung is a good make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, Great Connectivity, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Really excellent picture and sound quality, compact design and great connectivity to my Samsung LCD. Only one issue, there are no rubber stops on the bottom of the player, so It slides around when you touch it, easily rectified with a couple of non-slip pads, but this should have been standard?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent budget BD/DVD/CD player, 11 July 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
This is a no-frills disc player. The connectivity is minimal; HDMI for video and audio, RJ45 for 100Mb/s Ethernet, coax-phono for SPDIF digital audio, all on the back, and a standard USB2.0 hiding behind a cover on the front. The mains lead is captive on the back.

It has some limited "Smart" functionality, to enhance the BD play and for DNLA use as well as iPlayer and YouTube, but requires at least 1GB of external storage (eg a USB stick) to make the most of it. I don't expect to use much of these additional features because the TV it connects with is a full HD "3D" "Smart" TV which offers many more options.

I've tested the various functions with a few DVDs and some CDs and a very early edition of Avatar - my first BD. All worked as needed despite the player being so basic, partly because the TV is also a Samsung and partly because the TV has all the extra functions required. The only mechanical noise is at the start when the head seek can be a bit disconcerting, once into playing the disc it is almost silent.

A few of the early "3D" discs we tried subsequently merely play out at 1080p (BUT not the recent ones, see the Addendum below) with no additional processing to put it into a specific "3D" mode, however the TV can see the "3D" info on the HDMI and act on it accordingly. I set the video output to always be at 1080p (not BD-wise nor auto), this allows the up-scaling to make the best use of the vectors from the encoded source video, so as to fit the display with only the one processing generation. The picture quality from all the sources I tried is as good as expected, and my test pattern USB showed that the scaling and colours are correct.

By using the Unprocessed Bit Stream output option for the embedded audio on the HDMI, again the TV can either act on it appropriately for its own speakers, or pass it on to the surround amplifier. The 5.1 surround sound from a couple of test DVDs worked well in my surround amplifier, fed via the TV with appropriate delay to compensate for picture processing. If one only has a stereo speaker system the player has the option of an intelligent combiner to produce a reasonable two channel sound.

The only controls are the four touch points on the top right hand surface, well nigh invisible, and a very stupid place to put them - a triumph of style over function; they should be on the front to allow stacking, better visibility, and easier access. The only indicator is a white LED under the On/Off button on the top. This idiocy with the invisible controls almost lost it a star; especially when compared with a previous model which offered much better appearance and ergonomics, even having a clock display.

Fortunately the Remote Control works very well and has all the functionality required (except volume control), rendering the four touch buttons redundant - until the RC is lost. But even then the (Samsung) TV's own RC can handle most operations - except the disc-tray open/close.

The player and TV co-operate nicely. eg 1, if the player is switched on it will also ask the TV to wake up. eg 2, if already awake and tuned in to a TV Channel when the player is turned on, the TV auto switches to the player, and then returns to the TV mode when the player goes back to sleep.

The Ethernet set-up is conventional and allows manual DNS setting as well as the usual auto. It was already on the latest software when I asked it to do an update. iPlayer works as normal but I did not see the HD/SD option offered as it is when using the iPlayer in the TV; maybe it was not available on the assortment of programs I experimented with.

The content protection is heavy, and most of the modern restrictions are enforced. Fortunately all my non-3D discs have played so far.

Power consumption is labelled on the machine as a maximum of 8.8W; I measured it at between two to five watts depending on what is being used, eg powering a USB device can add a couple of watts. Standby is about half a watt, but with "Quickstart" on seems to be about three times as much. It seems to start quickly enough with Quickstart set to Off, so we save that little bit more power.

The (English) manual is comprehensive and lists all the functions of the player, including the video and audio encoded formats it can handle and the output formats it can send down the HDMI and SPDIF.

Other 2013 model (ie 'F') variants on this machine are
BD-F6100 - same machine but with wifi
BD-F5500 - similar wider machine but with 3D scaler option (eg for driving an HDMI 1080p TV without its own "3D" scaler)
BD-F6500 - similar wider machine but with wifi and 3D scaler option.

Update 05/09/2013. "3D"
Alas, some more complex "3D" discs will refuse to play at all because they insist on using the player to do the "3D" processing. eg the "3D" disc in the new Star Trek package will require the BD-F5500 or BD-F6500 models.

Update 26/12/2013. "3D" again.
Santa Claus gave me a BD-F5500 which (on a quick test) plays all our "3D" BDs flawlessly. Apart from the box being a few centimetres wider it looks to be the same and works the same. Well worth considering if you have a "3D" TV, because it seems all the latest "3D" BDs are using the newer software needing the BD-F5500 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung blu ray and DVD player, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Small neat box. Easy to use handset. Very clear picture. has lots of functions. Looks good. Works well with my Samsung tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect partner to DLNA media server, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
I'd been looking for sometime for a blu-ray player that would also double-up as a network media player, and I think this little (and it really is) beauty seems to fit the bill.

Without boring you senseless, this DLNA certified player has faithfully replayed everything I've thrown at it. My home setup includes an Ubuntu Server (12.04), running minidlna, and it's not powerful enough to transcode on the fly, so the fact that the Samsung supports so many file formats out of the box is an absolute boon (h.264, xvid/divx, mpeg4, AAC, mp3, they're all there and it also handles mkv, avi containers). Okay so maybe I did bore you senseless..

I've not tried the USB port on the front, but I would expect a similar story for physically attached storage.

Things to note. No Wifi - I didn't need it, and you'll need a pretty decent link if you want to stream high def anyway.
No LED indicators on the front, who cares! You just press the info button and the time remaining is shown on screen. Control buttons are located on the TOP right, bit awkward if you wanted to jam this player in a small gap, or put something else on top I.e. you can't. Boots up in about 5 seconds. It's quiet, and plays Blu-ray disks flawlessly, it also makes a good job of up-scaling DVDs.

You don't get much for your money, but what you do get works so well that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Design, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Bought this for my mother who doesn't understand technology

- Simple plug-in and go ! :) *1 HDMI lead needed ..
- Also it is same make as the tv so that all the buttons on the remote for tv and Blu-ray work for each other ..
- Doesn't have Wireless internet as far as i see, needs ethernet cable but didn't really buy it for internet ..
- Looks great below Black tv and Black stand also small does take up space ..
- Doesn't look cheap either buttons on Blu-ray look stylish ..

Very Happy with it, means i can watch movies with family rather than Xfactor and TV Soaps !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More development needed, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
We bought this Blu-ray player because it also featured the ability to stream network media and access BBC iPlayer. Unfortunately it will not play all Blu-ray discs, the media codec options are very limited and iPlayer crashes frequently, locking up the player and requiring it to be unplugged to reset. We have other streaming and iPlayer devices that all work fine and a very robust internet connection so the player is definitely the culprit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Player, 17 Nov 2014
By 
Number13 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
This is a very compact, great value Blu-Ray / DVD / CD player, especially if you're connecting it to a `Smart' TV that has its own wireless network connectivity and app capabilities. If your TV is older then a more advanced player that will add full `Smart' functions, apps and wireless networking would be a better choice and if you have a 3D TV you'd probably buy a higher-spec player to be sure of supporting the latest 3D standards.

Connected to a Samsung `Smart' TV with an HDMI lead, it's very easy to use; opening the player activates the TV, insert the disc, close and it plays. Putting the TV on standby also shuts down the player, it couldn't be easier. The four touch button controls on the player are very sensitive but positioned on the top, not convenient if you want to stack the player in a shallow shelf but otherwise OK.

The output mode can detect the TV resolution but I chose to set it directly to 1080p output to match the TV so the upscaling would always be done by the player and the TV receives full HD input. I've tried it with many pre-HD DVDs, some commercial, some with programmes recorded from broadcast on our (non-Samsung) DVD recorder and the upscaling is *better* than on the recorder that wrote the discs. Commercial Blu-Ray also plays reliably, as do music CDs, but I haven't tried any 3D Blu-Ray discs. There are a few output adjustment options including TV resolution, Movie Frame (24fps) if your TV supports it and basic HDMI output colour settings.

The remote control is very clear and well laid out, and includes two buttons for direct selection of subtitles and alternative audio tracks, useful if you routinely need subtitles or enjoy the commentary options on many film and TV discs.

The player is very quick to start up and quiet in operation except when it reads the menus at the start of a disc; after that I don't notice any intrusive sound. After two months, we are very pleased with this player; a very good, inexpensive choice to pair with `Smart', non-3D TVs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Product, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
A lovely small Blu Ray player looks very smart and works every bit as good well worth the price, would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart little machine, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Got it to match my telly and the look so smart together. Also got it because I have lack of space and its tiny so that's perfect to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews