Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first blu ray player
I'm new to blu ray players and didn't want a complicated one. this is easy to install and use. It plays blu rays in good definition and my dvd's are upscaled, it is good with scratched old ones as well. I can plug in my flash drive and play mp4 files easily, I haven't hooked it up to the internet yet. The box is very small so I can take it anywhere. Very pleased with it...
Published 22 months ago by M. Wilson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars intolerably noisy contraption
Extremely noisy machine. Constant high pitched "whistling", jolting sounds from the laser as it reads the disc and random grinding noises. All of these can be clearly heard over the movie being watched, and completely ruin your viewing experience. Would give ZERO stars if i could.
Published 6 months ago by muttmummy


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, Great Connectivity, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Really excellent picture and sound quality, compact design and great connectivity to my Samsung LCD. Only one issue, there are no rubber stops on the bottom of the player, so It slides around when you touch it, easily rectified with a couple of non-slip pads, but this should have been standard?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first blu ray player, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
I'm new to blu ray players and didn't want a complicated one. this is easy to install and use. It plays blu rays in good definition and my dvd's are upscaled, it is good with scratched old ones as well. I can plug in my flash drive and play mp4 files easily, I haven't hooked it up to the internet yet. The box is very small so I can take it anywhere. Very pleased with it for the price I paid. Samsung is a good make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent budget BD/DVD/CD player, 11 July 2013
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
This is a no-frills disc player. The connectivity is minimal; HDMI for video and audio, RJ45 for 100Mb/s Ethernet, coax-phono for SPDIF digital audio, all on the back, and a standard USB2.0 hiding behind a cover on the front. The mains lead is captive on the back.

It has some limited "Smart" functionality, to enhance the BD play and for DNLA use as well as iPlayer and YouTube, but requires at least 1GB of external storage (eg a USB stick) to make the most of it. I don't expect to use much of these additional features because the TV it connects with is a full HD "3D" "Smart" TV which offers many more options.

I've tested the various functions with a few DVDs and some CDs and a very early edition of Avatar - my first BD. All worked as needed despite the player being so basic, partly because the TV is also a Samsung and partly because the TV has all the extra functions required. The only mechanical noise is at the start when the head seek can be a bit disconcerting, once into playing the disc it is almost silent.

A few of the early "3D" discs we tried subsequently merely play out at 1080p (BUT not the recent ones, see the Addendum below) with no additional processing to put it into a specific "3D" mode, however the TV can see the "3D" info on the HDMI and act on it accordingly. I set the video output to always be at 1080p (not BD-wise nor auto), this allows the up-scaling to make the best use of the vectors from the encoded source video, so as to fit the display with only the one processing generation. The picture quality from all the sources I tried is as good as expected, and my test pattern USB showed that the scaling and colours are correct.

By using the Unprocessed Bit Stream output option for the embedded audio on the HDMI, again the TV can either act on it appropriately for its own speakers, or pass it on to the surround amplifier. The 5.1 surround sound from a couple of test DVDs worked well in my surround amplifier, fed via the TV with appropriate delay to compensate for picture processing. If one only has a stereo speaker system the player has the option of an intelligent combiner to produce a reasonable two channel sound.

The only controls are the four touch points on the top right hand surface, well nigh invisible, and a very stupid place to put them - a triumph of style over function; they should be on the front to allow stacking, better visibility, and easier access. The only indicator is a white LED under the On/Off button on the top. This idiocy with the invisible controls almost lost it a star; especially when compared with a previous model which offered much better appearance and ergonomics, even having a clock display.

Fortunately the Remote Control works very well and has all the functionality required (except volume control), rendering the four touch buttons redundant - until the RC is lost. But even then the (Samsung) TV's own RC can handle most operations - except the disc-tray open/close.

The player and TV co-operate nicely. eg 1, if the player is switched on it will also ask the TV to wake up. eg 2, if already awake and tuned in to a TV Channel when the player is turned on, the TV auto switches to the player, and then returns to the TV mode when the player goes back to sleep.

The Ethernet set-up is conventional and allows manual DNS setting as well as the usual auto. It was already on the latest software when I asked it to do an update. iPlayer works as normal but I did not see the HD/SD option offered as it is when using the iPlayer in the TV; maybe it was not available on the assortment of programs I experimented with.

The content protection is heavy, and most of the modern restrictions are enforced. Fortunately all my non-3D discs have played so far.

Power consumption is labelled on the machine as a maximum of 8.8W; I measured it at between two to five watts depending on what is being used, eg powering a USB device can add a couple of watts. Standby is about half a watt, but with "Quickstart" on seems to be about three times as much. It seems to start quickly enough with Quickstart set to Off, so we save that little bit more power.

The (English) manual is comprehensive and lists all the functions of the player, including the video and audio encoded formats it can handle and the output formats it can send down the HDMI and SPDIF.

Other 2013 model (ie 'F') variants on this machine are
BD-F6100 - same machine but with wifi
BD-F5500 - similar wider machine but with 3D scaler option (eg for driving an HDMI 1080p TV without its own "3D" scaler)
BD-F6500 - similar wider machine but with wifi and 3D scaler option.

Update 05/09/2013. "3D"
Alas, some more complex "3D" discs will refuse to play at all because they insist on using the player to do the "3D" processing. eg the "3D" disc in the new Star Trek package will require the BD-F5500 or BD-F6500 models.

Update 26/12/2013. "3D" again.
Santa Claus gave me a BD-F5500 which (on a quick test) plays all our "3D" BDs flawlessly. Apart from the box being a few centimetres wider it looks to be the same and works the same. Well worth considering if you have a "3D" TV, because it seems all the latest "3D" BDs are using the newer software needing the BD-F5500 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Blu-Ray Player With A Big Output, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
This is a great little Blu-Ray player. It may be small in size,but it has a big output. The picture quality is first class,and when you hook it up to a DTS decoder the audio is astounding. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone considering buying a Blu -Ray player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars intolerably noisy contraption, 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Extremely noisy machine. Constant high pitched "whistling", jolting sounds from the laser as it reads the disc and random grinding noises. All of these can be clearly heard over the movie being watched, and completely ruin your viewing experience. Would give ZERO stars if i could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


138 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect partner to DLNA media server, 31 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
I'd been looking for sometime for a blu-ray player that would also double-up as a network media player, and I think this little (and it really is) beauty seems to fit the bill.

Without boring you senseless, this DLNA certified player has faithfully replayed everything I've thrown at it. My home setup includes an Ubuntu Server (12.04), running minidlna, and it's not powerful enough to transcode on the fly, so the fact that the Samsung supports so many file formats out of the box is an absolute boon (h.264, xvid/divx, mpeg4, AAC, mp3, they're all there and it also handles mkv, avi containers). Okay so maybe I did bore you senseless..

I've not tried the USB port on the front, but I would expect a similar story for physically attached storage.

Things to note. No Wifi - I didn't need it, and you'll need a pretty decent link if you want to stream high def anyway.
No LED indicators on the front, who cares! You just press the info button and the time remaining is shown on screen. Control buttons are located on the TOP right, bit awkward if you wanted to jam this player in a small gap, or put something else on top I.e. you can't. Boots up in about 5 seconds. It's quiet, and plays Blu-ray disks flawlessly, it also makes a good job of up-scaling DVDs.

You don't get much for your money, but what you do get works so well that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super fast delivery and great product, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Super fast delivery and great product. I very nearly didn't buy this because of the negative feedback about the noise it makes. But I can't hear noise from mine so I'm super happy 😄 highly recommended 😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung blu ray and DVD player, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Small neat box. Easy to use handset. Very clear picture. has lots of functions. Looks good. Works well with my Samsung tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Product, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
A lovely small Blu Ray player looks very smart and works every bit as good well worth the price, would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars initial review, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (Electronics)
Super easy to setup and also to use DNLA.
Example DNLA setup procedure.
Network the blu-ray player
Go to media player on laptop and enable sharing.
Goto folder with videos/music etc and choose to share them.
Restart the blu-ray player and then choose your laptop to play dvd,s etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samsung BD-F5100 Network Blu-ray and DVD Player
£59.70
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews