Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me & You by Claudia Carroll
When Angie is stood up by her best friend Kitty on her birthday, she knows there will be a good explanation, but when she gets in touch with Kitty’s boyfriend Simon it soon becomes apparent that Kitty has gone missing. So they begin to search to find out what has happened to her. Only to find that the Kitty they thought they knew and loved may not all she appeared...
Published 8 months ago by Nikki Bywater

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I struggled to engage with this...
I will admit, I've had this on my kindle for a while now and I think I bought it in one of the 99p sales as it looked good. I re read the synopsis and thought I'd give it a go - I haven't read any of Claudia Carroll's other books so I wasn't sure what to expect.

This story follows Angie who is best friends with Kitty. But is Kitty all she seems? And how well do...
Published 16 months ago by The Little Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I struggled to engage with this..., 30 Dec. 2013
By 
The Little Bookworm "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
I will admit, I've had this on my kindle for a while now and I think I bought it in one of the 99p sales as it looked good. I re read the synopsis and thought I'd give it a go - I haven't read any of Claudia Carroll's other books so I wasn't sure what to expect.

This story follows Angie who is best friends with Kitty. But is Kitty all she seems? And how well do we know our best friends?

What instantly irritated me about the book was the diary style. With the exception of Bridget Jones, it drives me mad in adults literature. I'm not a child. I want to read a proper book, that flows well. Times and dates only get in the way of that. I also agree with other reviewers about the constant use of v. which was annoying.

I also struggled to engage with any of the characters and I don't think the story was believable. Simon, in particular, was a total sap and I really disliked him. The story didn't flow well (not helped by the stupid diary style) and I couldn't build up any feeling towards it, which is crucial with a story like this one.

So why two stars and not one? Well, despite wanting to give up I just had to know what had happened to Kitty and what the others were going to do. Unfortunately, I'm left finding the whole thing very predictable.

I couldn't recommend this book and I won't be rushing to read the authors other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light and easy read but not a favourite of mine from this author xXx, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
When Claudia Carroll's new book Me and You arrived though my letter box the first thing I though was I love the new look to the cover which is a softer look to the authors previous books.

When Angie is stood up at the spa for her birthday treat from best friend Kitty she knows something is wrong, unable to make any contact with her friend she calls Kitty's boyfriend Simon together they work hours, days , weeks to try to find Kitty, when the police arrive with shocking news.

Kitty loves Simon and Angie but now her past is catching up with her she is worried the effect it will have on them.

When I read the synopsis of this book I was eager to make a start as I do love the sound of hidden secrets and puzzles to be solved. I have enjoyed all the authors previous books so I was looking forward to this book.

The beginning of this book really didn't grip me at all, in fact, I had to put the book down a couple of times but because I enjoyed the authors previous books I was determined to pick the book back up and carry on as I was hopeful that the book would improve, which by Part 2 in the book it had began to pick up when Kittys past begins to unravel. The characters were all lovable, ordinary characters which is something I always find in this authors books the characters are always a great bunch.

Angie's part in this book is set out in time entries similar to a diary entry which is the first time I had come across this type of writing style but it did seem to work well although the continual use of .v. for Very soon became a little irritating. If you are looking for a light easy read with lovable characters then you will like this book, I just misses the depth to the storyline that is usually present in this authors storylines. Although this is not a favourite of mine by Claudia Carroll I will still be picking up her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me & You by Claudia Carroll, 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
When Angie is stood up by her best friend Kitty on her birthday, she knows there will be a good explanation, but when she gets in touch with Kitty’s boyfriend Simon it soon becomes apparent that Kitty has gone missing. So they begin to search to find out what has happened to her. Only to find that the Kitty they thought they knew and loved may not all she appeared to be.

This I have to say is one of the best books I have ever read. Claudia Carroll certainly knows how to write amazing stories. This is one of those books that you just cannot put down. It is a moving story of happily living in the moment and for it all to be taken from you in an instant when the past finally finds you.

I really liked all the characters in this book, and the way you almost thought you were going to predict what would happen, only for the storyline to go in another direction to what you are thinking. The ending to this book is just wonderful too, so perfectly written. This is going in my current top ten reads at number one. From its cover on the outside to what is written on the inside, this is a beautiful book that is an exceptional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kept me hooked the whole way through fantastic, 10 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Me and You (Kindle Edition)
I sit here on a Saturday afternoon not dressed not washed very tired and completely delighted that I finished this book I might be able to sleep tonight and give my family my undivided atenshion so I thought its only fair that I warn anybody thinking of reading this book what could happen I started reading this book around ten last night for a bit of bedtime reading to send me off in a nice deep sleep but no only a few pages into it and I realized this is doing the complete opposite its keeping me awake it gripped me and the greedy person I am I couldn't put it down well its quite an interesting book one that keeps you guessing the whole way through why did kitty leave???? what were her reasons???? Where was she???? Completely obliged to fined out exactly the answer to all these questions I did a marathon of reading and all I can say is that its a fantastic book im not gonna give anything away but say it didn't disappoint me at all I really enjoyed it and hope you will too. Be warned please read it at an appropriate time so your not up all night and still in yesterday's pjs not a good look in the middle of the afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chick-lit with a twist, 26 April 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
Claudia Carroll's Me & You is another one of the books that has been sadly neglected in my TBR pile since last year but it's finally found itself at the top of my reading pile for this feature week.

Angie and Kitty are the best of friends so it's a complete to shock when Kitty disappears without a trace without leaving any clues behind as to why she's gone. But it's not only Angie she's left behind, Kitty has also left behind boyfriend of 18 months Simon who was just about to take the next step in their relationship and move in.

But as they start searching for her and get the police involved, they soon discover that Kitty wasn't the person they thought they knew. So who is she really and why all the secrets?

Although the majority of the story is told from the point of view of Angie following her as she tries to unravel the mystery of Kitty's disappearance and how it affects the lives of those left behind but we also get to see flashbacks from Kitty which gives readers an insight to the secret behind her disappearance. At times it was harrowing reading but I loved the intrigue and found myself reading the last third of the book in a single sitting as the story wound up to its conclusion.

Having read most of Claudia Carroll's previous books, Me & You was my favourite to date so I can't wait to read her next book Love Me or Leave Me, which is due out in October, as it sounds like another fab read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!!!, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
Really did not like this book. I even found my self skipping a lot of it. The story line was just really boring. The main character did not keep me engrossed in the book one little bit. I read a lot of books and I have got to say this is one of the worst books I have read in a long while! Please do not waste your money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
Very poorly writen, barely got through the first part, it was so boring i nearly dropped it altogether, then it finally picked up... Just to become hopelessly predictible right till the end.
The author is very repetitive, uses the same phrases to describe similar situations like she is lacking for words (quite bad i think for someone to be a book writer). I can honestly say i have wasted my time reading this.
I liked the cover but it tells you absolutely nothing about the book. Totally random. The general impresion is you are reading a half -finished product. Like there was an idea somewhere but the author lost the interest in the process and just rushed it through just to get it done. The use of "v." instead of "very " is irritating. As if there was a Word limit or something? This was the first book by Carroll i have read and for sure I won't be reading this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars V. v. v. boring, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me and You (Kindle Edition)
Very hard to get in to. Was very boring until about half way through when things picked up before, sadly, dropping back off.
Very (or should I say v.) repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars v. irritating, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Me and You (Kindle Edition)
throughout the whole book she over uses theletter v. instead of very and i can't state just how annoying it is! this book isn't just boring its infuriating! never has a book left me feeling so angry. what a load of bs !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Use of v is very annoying!, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Me and You (Paperback)
I wasn't over thrilled with this latest Clauda Carroll offering.
Maybe I have read too many of this type of book as I felt as if I knew what was going to happen right from the start. However, on the plus side I really like this style of writing & there were quite a few laugh out loud moments. The use of "v " for very was annoying & pointless. It just drew attention to the fact that the word was over used. In fact, since reading this book I started to look at how many times I tend to use it- hardly ever as it turned out. Anyway, that's beside the point...
Overall this is quite an amusing, light hearted read & I enjoyed it although I wuold not go as far as to actually recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me and You
Me and You by Claudia Carroll
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews