Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than Alright
Emerging with She EP, Laura Mvulas debut album Sing To The Moon has been highly anticipated by critics. Singer/songwriters are hardly a rarity in this day and age however Mvula brings something new to the table which really makes her stand out from the crowd. She quickly proves she is not yet another Amy Winehouse clone, going on further to make a distinctive sound you'll...
Published on 23 Mar. 2013 by MusicMaker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sing to the moon
Some great moment and a great talent: she's a star in the near future, just keep on waiting a bit
Published 24 months ago by pimilet


‹ Previous | 116 17 1823 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual sounds, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
This album is very different to anything else I have ever heard - but it is also much too much the same. The Lyrics are at times not clear. That said I have only listened to it twice so maybe it will grow on me, - doubtful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few good songs, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Anne Rainey "Newtownabbey" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
I had heard/seen Laura on TV and liked it so I bought the CD. There are a few good songs the rest are ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Soundstage!!!!, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
cK! "cK!" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing to the Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Music is good, but very mediocre sound - It lacks the soundstage. Could have been a great album. I hate to listen to bad recordings,,, but will still listen to it on the odd occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, but this dosn't work for me., 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
While listening to this Album for the first time, my Brain never stopped filling in the Melodies which should've been there but wasn't. It was like listening to Songs from a musician who only knew three Chords, and didn't even know how to make the best of them. Even though the Church Organ type Chords are prominent on this Album, it dosn't sound very Heavenly to me, and Laura, certainly not the voice of an Angel, but might indeed sound better on a different style of Music. I bought the Album on the strength of the Write up on Amazon (One persons opinion) and without actually hearing any or part of any tracks. I wont do that again !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Meh", 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
"Meh" - the noise my daughter makes when something is OK, not great, maybe a little disappointing. Sums this album up nicely for me. There are some good tracks, most of the rest are fairly tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars debut Album, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing to the Moon (MP3 Download)
Saw her on the Graham Norton show and thought the music was spell binding, great vocals and arrangements, however I feel the album lacks a little diversity in the tracks, some sound too similar. Again a good listen but I will leave long gaps between how often I play this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing to the Moon., 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
This purchase was a Threat to me. I am not Disappointed at all. This is a SUPERB first "Album" and I would definately recommend it. This new Talent is So refreshingly Free from the Overused gimmicky arrangements and her voice is soothing and Clear! Laura Mvula is is like a clear Spring or Summer's day and a great change form the Jaded "i've got "attitude", usually Maufactuired Tripe!
LOVE THIS, give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. J. A. Little (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
good album, music a bit wild but it grows on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite album., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing to the Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Long live Laura and her music! A favourite album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. Cs Fraser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing To The Moon (Audio CD)
Really great album. Shame it didn't sell more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1823 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing to the Moon
Sing to the Moon by Laura Mvula
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews