Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star it is that good a series, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
This book is the middle book of the First Empress series, and book 8 if your running through the complete series of books about the Kreelans.

Keel Tath is growing and learning at the Desh Ka temple, watched over by Ayan Da one of the most powerful of the Desh Ka order.

The book races along and the excitement and tension rarely lets up as Keel Tath is forced by her honour to leave the relative safety of the temple to survive on her own, pursued constantly by disciples of the dark queen who want to capture her and take her too the dark queen for judgement.

There are twists and turns aplenty along the way with new characters appearing and old ones meeting there grisly demise.

Personally I am hooked by the story of the Kreelans and really hope that not only is the third book in the trilogy as good as the first two, but that somehow Mr Hicks manages to drag yet more compelling reading from the Kreelan dynasty.

It's a superb read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Hicks can you please write faster or make your books longer. I loved this book it was the best of the series so far. The characters are so brilliantly believable. If you want a book with lots of action and characters you really care about and get a real understanding of you must read the entire series. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just an awesome series, read them all !, 17 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. Russell Scott (Elstead, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
That's it, read them all and will have to wait for the last one in this series :(. stumbled onto the 'in her name' books a while back and was immediately hooked and thoroughly enjoyed every one of them. They romp along and are generally really well written. The first ones he wrote were slightly weaker but there just got better and better. I fail to think of an author other than maybe David Gemmell who has consistently written such great stories. Having said that I wasn't so keen on the first 'harvest' book (haven't read the second one). I will definitely read them ALL again in a few years time, they are that good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm loving rhis series, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the'later' books in this series i have become hooked on keel-tath and the later adventures of the empire. Giving away the first title of each series was definitely a bright idea as i can't resist buying the next installments.
They really draw you in and have you rooting for keel-tath and her struggles for victory with honour. Cannot wait to read mistress of the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and how glad am I that I did, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
I read the first of this trilogy as a free book on amazon.....and how glad am I that I did! The characters are full and powerful...never before did I believe that I could grow so attached to an alien character in a book....I am now starting from book one in the hopes that by the time I've reached 10 again the latest instalment in Keel-tath's story will be finished....awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another immersion in a brilliant world., 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
The Author never ceases to impress me with the depth and colour of the characters and their incredibly rich and complex culture.Over the last year I have read all of his books.

Where other multiple trilogies get dull around the edges with tired plot lines stretched to get that extra book out an one-time success, Michael Hicks manages to deliver a thumping good read every time in a book which has to be read until the last page of credits.

My advise to any new reader of Michael R Hicks is to buy every single one of his books, then take a couple of weeks off, find a comfortable hammock and only come up for air when absolutely essential for your survival. (You will do this anyway, I just want you to hear it from me first).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
The Second book in the First Empress (but 8th in the overall saga) story carries on perfectly from the first. Like many others, I am quite hooked on the saga of the Kreelans and their culture. More information is forthcoming on the background to the evolution of the Kreelan Empire subsequently encountered by the Humans, whilst maintaining a strong plot with equally strong characters. Another excellent book from Mr Hicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
Well constructed alien race. Very few editorial hiccups, so easy to read. Should appeal to most sci-fi and fantasy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forged In Flame (The First Empress, Book 2) (The First Empress series) (Kindle Edition)
I read all of Hicks books in a oner. They really should make the series into a movie. Better than Star Wars, better than Dune. I don't like sci fi books as a rule, but this series got me. Hicks is a terrific story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews