Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
I was looking forward to this author's second book and was not disappointed. I enjoyed every bit of it and although I did manage to work out the ending before I got there I found myself unable to put the kindle down till I had finished it.
Well worth the purchase and look forward to the next one
Published 20 months ago by bk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I found the style of writing irritating in some places, but very much enjoyed the story which was different and kept me interested
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. M. Cannon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle relaxing read, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
I chose to read this book during a break from researching my own family history and I enjoyed it immensely. A gentle relaxing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
2nd book in trilogy. Interesting genealogy story about intertwining families. Would never guess the ending ! Really enjoyed it after reading first book. I am now going on to read the third book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading all 3 of John Nixon's books. I enjoyed every single one of them. Can't wait to see if he's got anymore up his sleeve. All 3 well worth a read. Very easy and interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
This is the sequel to an earlier book but it stands on its own very easily. It has an engrossing plot and is of interest to genealogists and family historians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
Likeable characters and interesting story. Descriptions of bad weather white frightening. I even ended up quite fancying owning a cuckoo clock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I started it yesterday morning and finished it tonight after I had rushed home from work especially, so I could finish it. I was totally gripped by the second page. It is a nice easy read with just enough intrigue and not too confusing. I didn't realise that there was a first book as which maybe I should have read that first but I will now be ordering that now. I hope there are more to come from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful genealogical novel, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Neil Spurgeon (England, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
This the second of John Nixon's novels, contains both a mystery and a series of family conundrums culminating in a really neat ending. Strongly recommended as both a good read and a treatise on the value to be extracted from seemingly dull public records, I cannot recommend this author and his superb novels highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing mystery, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful story and engrossing mystery. I would have loved to have seen some family trees to help illustrate how the different stories developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Armchair and bedtime reading, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book very much. Will interest all those who enjoy a little amateur genealogy. I will be looking out for more books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Helen "Helen" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cuckoo Clock (Kindle Edition)
I bought this after obtaining the authors first title as a free ebook and thoroughly enjoyed it. The plot was interesting and I was gripped all the way through. The authors writing style seems to have developed since his first book and I am waiting with impatience for his next offering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cuckoo Clock
The Cuckoo Clock by John Nixon
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews