Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book, thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a good thriller. I sincerely hope Maddy is writing a second book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
Compulsive reading and hard to put down once you start it, nice mystery and a satisfying ending, just what I look for in an ebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slice of the End..., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant debut novel by a very talented author - the book felt the right length for the story as it was told, and contained sufficient twists to keep the reader guessing until the end. If you're a fan of American horror/fantasy in the style of the walking dead and supernatural then you'll love it.

Only gave it 4 stars as would have liked it to be longer! I'm a stickler for a good back story and I would have enjoyed reading more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first novel, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
The House at the End of the World is a good read, with some wonderful images; a plot that pulls you in and makes you want to know what happens next, (and what happened before!) and is great at drawing a picture that makes you feel like you're really there with these people. Well done for a first novel, may there be many more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book! It has everything - great characters, adventure, romance and scary stuff. Very well written, and kept me reading long past bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut novel, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had no real idea what to expect from this novel (well, given its length, it would be more accurate to describe it as a novella - it clocks in at barely over 150 pages). Six people who have been fighting against zombies in an apocalyptic war arrive at a mysterious house. Where are they? What has happened to them? Why does the house appear to cater for their every need and desire? Who is the mysterious old woman who sits knitting in a downstairs room? Who is the landlord who speaks in haikus?

As I read through the novel, I had a vague sense that this book may have started out as fanfic based on the US TV series "Supernatural". Whilst this impression may not be entirely accurate, certainly the two brothers who are the central characters seem to be based more than a little on SPN's Sam and Dean (albeit with a somewhat different backstory), and to be honest, seeing as I very much enjoy "Supernatural" I don't regard this as a bad thing. It also gives a reasonably good measure of whether the book is for you - if you like "Supernatural," you will almost certainly enjoy this book. It has very much that kind of feeling and vibe to it.

It is admittedly, not really a book in which a great deal *happens*. It is more of an exercise in character, mood and tone, than a particularly plot-heavy book. But this is also, in my opinion, not a bad thing. It's fascinating to learn the stories of Gabe, Joe, Emily and Rick, not to mention Matt and Luke, the two brothers - to find out who they are, what has happened to them in the past to bring them to this strange house, what motivates them, their loves and their fears, how they react to being in this house.

Personally, I found this to be a truly engrossing and excellent read. I would very strongly recommend trying it out. If you enjoy it, Madeleine has another book coming out in 2014 - I'll certainly be buying that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER BOOK, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Held me enthralled from the first word to the last, I hope there's another book by this author soon, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking with a touch of zombie!, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading this wonderful book, amazing first from a new author - very exciting! Look forward to more unique stories, hopefully with more unique review titles ....... Thought provoking with a touch of zombie sums it up really well (in my opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly original, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read with an original storyline with very good characters which you learn more about as the story progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House at the End of the World (Kindle Edition)
I was rather surprised by how much I enjoyed this book as the setting is not one that I would normally seek out or consider when looking for new things to read. However, a tip off from a colleague led me to downloading this debut novel and I must say that I am very pleased that I did so: I was drawn into the story from the first few pages and the strong, intelligent writing had me hooked to the very end.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House at the End of the World
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews