Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starts well but...
It an OK book which starts well with shades of Carl Hiaassen or Jilly Cooper but with the denoument in Chapter 8 it goes downhill somewhat with laboured plot lines and an overload of characters..
Published 21 months ago by Allan Collins

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much naturist PR, not enough novel.
The author has succumbed to an urge to evangelize on behalf of the naturist movement at the expense of writing a decent novel. Characterisation is of the cardboard cut-out variety (naturist = decent, honest & likeable; textile = hypocritical, selfish & unpleasant).

I suspect the book is intended to be funny; but it didn't make me laugh either.
Published 21 months ago by MJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starts well but..., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
It an OK book which starts well with shades of Carl Hiaassen or Jilly Cooper but with the denoument in Chapter 8 it goes downhill somewhat with laboured plot lines and an overload of characters..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frolicks, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
If only it were a true story .....
Struggling hotel teams up with displaced nudist swim and both gain from the encounter. Some nice humour and a plot with many kinks along the way keep the pages turning. Even if some of the plot, like finding a memory card dropped from a tree, requires a slight suspension of belief to keep the plot on track towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy story, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this story with its different characters and their storylines. if you are a naturist it is a good book to read and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know what I was exciting from this book but it made me laugh and being a fellow naturist some very interesting points.
Really enjoyed this book it was a very easy read and was hard to put down, looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, characters were good, story was interesting. Look forward to the next one!, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book. I hope that we meet Richard & Debra again in another story. Very interesting characters which kept me reading so finished the book in 2days! Hope to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much naturist PR, not enough novel., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
The author has succumbed to an urge to evangelize on behalf of the naturist movement at the expense of writing a decent novel. Characterisation is of the cardboard cut-out variety (naturist = decent, honest & likeable; textile = hypocritical, selfish & unpleasant).

I suspect the book is intended to be funny; but it didn't make me laugh either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incompetent Hoteliers vs Corrupt Council, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
David Briggs (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clothing Optional (Kindle Edition)
What a laughable book! One wonders where the Mr Black did his research? Was it at "Fawlty Towers"? The hoteliers have absolutely no business acumen - even "The Hotel Inspector" would have had difficulty not laughing at the plot line for this book. In short the story is that lack of business at their hotel turns the owners thoughts to using their Pool, Sauna and other facilities for health breaks. Dodgy masseurs from Eastern Europe carry on a dubious "service" for clients who pay little for the hotel's services. Soon the chance encounter with true naturists moves the story towards a center for local clubs. In this aspect the book takes on a little bit of realism! A "Change of Use" application to the local council brings out all the prejudices against naturism that we are so used to hearing in the media today. Corruption in politics comes to the fore with Councillors influencing their Officials in ways that would never be tolerated in any climate of recent decades. Both sides present their arguments until a denouement at a critical Planning Committee Meeting.
I leave the choice of reading this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clothing Optional
Clothing Optional by Matthew Black
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews