Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP 80'S HORROR CLASSIC, COOL STEELBOOK.."
This is one of David Cronenberg's finest pieces of work from the 80's along with the Fly of course, great horror with a brilliant story and a very good cast, Michael Ironside is amazing in this film and plays the perfect villain as always, quality and shocking effects for the time make it quite gruesome in places, this is a must own classic for any horror fan, the bluray...
Published 17 months ago by S. Drury

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio sync problems with latest release (still)
This isn't a full review, just a note about the latest Second Sight release (no-one really reads the forums). The picture quality is absolutely fine but the sound goes out of sync at various points; particularly noticable when someone's shouted and their mouth is closed when you hear them. Apparently this was a problem with the old MGM release too...

Digging...
Published 7 months ago by Conrad Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP 80'S HORROR CLASSIC, COOL STEELBOOK..", 10 April 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This is one of David Cronenberg's finest pieces of work from the 80's along with the Fly of course, great horror with a brilliant story and a very good cast, Michael Ironside is amazing in this film and plays the perfect villain as always, quality and shocking effects for the time make it quite gruesome in places, this is a must own classic for any horror fan, the bluray looks nice quality, the STEELBOOK is fantastic and limited edition, there is features but they are only interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scanners Blu-ray Limited Edition Steelbook, 10 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The steelbook of Scanners is a lovely looking item but it was lacking a booklet inside the case, i have rated it 4 stars because of this reason. For a limited edition release they could have at least included a booklet with some background tales on the movie and some still photos etc.

The Blu-ray transfer of this movie is simply stunning for such an old movie! The picture is very sharp throughout most of the movie with vibrant colours and contrast used perfectly, and just the right amount of subtle noise to give it that filmy feel. You have a choice of two audio tracks, either a Stereo PCM track or 5.0 DTS HD MSTR. I chose the 5.0 DTS HD MSTR and i found it very good indeed, lots of fine detail in the track with crisp and clear dialogue throughout. (i did play it through a home cinema separates system)

The extras were quite good as well which included an interview by it's main star and then some interviews about the "Chaos of Scanners" and the "Special Effects" in the movie.

I definitely recommend this Blu-ray release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A splatter movie for the discerning viewer, 23 Oct 2000
This review is from: Scanners [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have watched this film at least 50 times and I never tire of seeing it. It's proof that Cronenberg was, even nearly 20 years ago, a visionary with a strong stomach. The exploding head, the ruptured veins, nosebleeds and spontaneous combustion should have produced a film whose violence is completely tasteless, but it didn't. Instead, the director uses strong photography, an interesting notion for a plot (Cronenberge studied as a biochemist, and many of his films deal with the concepts of disease and infection) and a gripping soundtrack by his long-time collaborator Howard Shore, to build a film which is truly enjoyable. Despite the uniformly wooden acting and appallingly weak dialogue, the 'kinda' happy ending and a rather obvious 'right versus wrong' storyline, the overall effect is still gripping and - somehow - great fun. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nearly, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Beautiful steelbook let down that there is no booklet inside(it's crying out for it)
The movie does not need explaining or reviewing by me.If you are here you are looking for an upgrade from the dvd or the german blu ray.

Everything is spot on with the PQ and the sound is lush...Buy it ..you know you want it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio sync problems with latest release (still), 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: Scanners (DVD) (DVD)
This isn't a full review, just a note about the latest Second Sight release (no-one really reads the forums). The picture quality is absolutely fine but the sound goes out of sync at various points; particularly noticable when someone's shouted and their mouth is closed when you hear them. Apparently this was a problem with the old MGM release too...

Digging around, there were problems with how the film's audio was recorded originally, but I had this on video before where the sound was fine.

Anyway, just thought people might like to know, don't go voting this unhelpful cos I didn't critique the plot etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blow Your Mind, 28 Nov 2008
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scanners [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Scanners was notorious at its time of release for the exploding head sequence. A scene the late great Kenny Everett spoofed on his television show.This film along with Rabid, The Brood and Dead Ringers cemented David Cronenbergs name as a master of urban horror.Any film that can get a restrained performance from the normally vigorous Michael Ironside has to be worth checking out. He is actually rather good in this. For me the excellent Patrick McGoohan is what lifts this very original film above the rank of a mere gorefest. If your a thinking mans horror fan add this to your stash. Its excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must-see cult classic for horror and sci-fi fans alike., 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
A mind-blowing telekinesis thriller that immediately put Michael Ironside on the map as one of the most intense actors around. Classic Cronenberg, famous for its exploding head. Part conspiracy thriller, part political tract, it is Cronenberg's most coherent movie to date, drawing a dark world in which corporate executives engineer human conception to produce ever more powerful mental samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch what you think., 8 July 2013
By 
R. Shore (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
A classic horror film that's past the test of time. Beautiful steelbook, superb restoration, a must see film for fans of unusual horror films.

Roger Shore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still impresses in several ways, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Scanners [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
When I was a kid, this was one that boys longed to watch and couldn't get to see. Seeing it on video when that became possible, it wasn't a disappointment, and today, despite its faults, the film still has a lot to offer.

First, the five core players all aquit them selves quite well. Patrick McGoohan didn't have enough meaty roles to apply his skills to in his career, but is always a pleasure to watch. It's nice to be reminded of the absolutely gorgeous Jennifer O'Neil. And what- Michael Ironside with hair ? Amazing !

The story, which I won't go into, is a short one, but nicely compact and rather claustrophobic, to enhance the paranoia surrounding the good Scanners, and indeed all the stakeholders.

OK, it's simple, the effects by today's standards can be seen as weak, and a lot more negatives can be said.

However, it still entertains and impresses with its compactness, almost minimalism, and as I say, I think it's all well played.

In this case, nostaglia is what it used to be, and I will watch this again.

One might hope for a remake- there are many good older Sci Fi/ Horror movies that could benefit from today's special effects, but when you consider the failure of the remake of "The Crazies", perhaps let's just keep this one as an enjoyable snapshot of a style associated with that period.

And if you've no empathy with that period, you may well hate it, but me, I do like it. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCANNERS BLU-RAY Second sight, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of David cronenberg films especially scanners, one of my favourites
there's been more than one DVD release of scanners over the past 12 years
the first release is 2001 region 1 U.S. release by MGM with no extras at all
and then came the 2005 Anchor bay U.K. release which had pretty good picture and audio quality presentation
with only a 10min featurette about the making of scanners by a U.K. film critic
which was average plus a Documentary on David cronenberg films which was the only best extra on the DVD
this Doco had interviews with some of the Actors from his films
and then many years later 2012,
a German distributor SUBKULTUR released a DVD/BLU-RAY set which i bought
this only had an interview with stephen Lack and a audio commentary track by a film critic
which ended up being German commentary, so it was a waste of money

and now a U.K. company SECOND SIGHT have released a special edition of scanners on DVD and Blu-ray
which i bought on the day it was released, DVD and Blu-ray
for any David cronenberg fan or scanners fan, this SECOND SIGHT release is the best special edition
release of SCANNERS you'll ever get, it's been a long time coming aswell
both versions are in widescreen, the DVD quality is excellent about 8/10
the blu-ray picture and audio quality is better about 10/10

i've seen the film many times
So the special features are the main reason i bought the second sight release
it's the best special features you'll ever get, never before released interviews

with Stephen Lack (Cameron vale), in depth 20min interview, excellent interview

Interview with Executive producer Pierre David, his Interview was brilliant, very in depth
Pierre talked about the making of the film, the Actors involved, the production etc.

Interviews with Cinematographer Mark Irwin
and Make up effects artist Stephen Dupois

and also a interview with Actor Lawrence Dane, only goes for 5mins

very unfortunate that David cronenberg was not interviewed for this second sight release
i emailed second sight about that, they replied back to me saying they did ask him but he refused an interview
he Declined and interview about this film for some reason
the interview with Pierre David was the next best thing his interview explains alot about the film
and David cronenberg

So Both DVD and Blu-ray have the same extras, so it doesn't matter which one you buy
but the picture and audio quality is outstanding, fantastic on this second sight release
better then the old 2005 Anchor bay U.K. release which you might aswell sell if you have it
that's still being sold on amazon uk which is pointless buying, this second sight release is better

the DVD is region 2 PAL ofcourse and the blu-ray is region B,
so you do need a region free player for both Discs
info for any American David cronenberg fans reading this review

so for any scanners fan or David cronenberg fan,
definitely buy this second sight release of scanners on DVD or blu-ray, it's up to you
scrap the old releases like the 2005 Anchor bay release which is pointless buying now.
get the second sight release instead, way better and definitely worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray)
Scanners (Limited Edition Steelbook) (Blu-ray) by David Cronenberg (Blu-ray - 2013)
£17.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews