Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WET ME STRIDES
I purchased this Killing Joke cd singles collection totally by chance,just bored and browsing.Obviously I have heard the name but up until this point never heard a note.Well from the moment Nervous System the first track kicked in I was quite simply floored by the immediacy of Joke.Blown away.
Musically,brilliant.Lyrics,amazing.Jaz Coleman within two songs rushed...
Published 15 months ago by mister joe

versus
6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER KJ COMPILATION...
In later years Jaz & Merry Men seem more intent on rehashing past glories or pledging us to bankruptcy via random limited edition releases. For a band that once released the single "Money Is Not Our God" the irony is clearly lost on them...
Published 15 months ago by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome reminder of a brilliant career, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
As most bands age their work becomes tamer and more mainstream, but not Killing Joke as is testified loudly and proudly by this career spanning collection. Not a duff track and the bonus disc is loaded with equally excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
you know it makes sense buy it
worth the purchase price to hear sixth sun and feast of fools left off Absolute Dissent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan - Bought for Rairities Disc, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
Love the band, had all the Singles anyway but great bonus disc for the hardcore fan.

For any new comers - this is a good starting point to Killing Joke but explore the Album catalogue further at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best by the Best, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
This release should be called a "best of" as not all of the tracks are singles. That said, the very fact that Killing Joke have such a vast and impressive catalogue renders this suggestion as somewhat moot, as no two "best of" track-lists put together by diehard followers would ever be the same. Such a rich legacy from a band who are as much a way of living as they are a musical colossus.
The cd packaging is a colourful tribute, neatly put together with some excellent rare additions from a multitude of musical periods. "The Beautiful Dead" includes the dusty audio markings of the original flexi-disk recording, and members of ODIC (Extremities-era) will no doubt recall the excitement of listening to that version for the first time, a huge,nervy,spiky aural assault from something so flimsy. The singles remain timeless, a fact made all the more remarkable by their longevity, and even more so because they still make fantastic music which remains consistently topical and relevant. If you've sometimes wondered who this band is, don't' die wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killing Joke - singles collection 1979 - 2012., 6 Jun 2013
By 
C. N. Klavins "Nigelinblack" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
Excellent collection of Killing Jokes singles spanning over 25 years. This is a must for any Killing Joke fan. The rare tracks on the 3rd disc on great.
I have been a fan of such bands like The Damned, The Stranglers, The Clash, Buzzcocks, XTC and Blondie but only started listening to the Joke about 12 years ago. Jaz Colemans vocals are so varied. There are tracks that are more commercial that will appeal to anybody.
Spinefarm Records have done a great job with the packaging etc. I love the early Joke but the material from the last 3 albums are my favourites.
The set is also good value for money, buy, listen, enjoy, 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for Simply being Killing Joke and Colsey, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
Killing Joke is in my top 3 music for desert island prison music (Motörhead and Tom Waits are the other 2). While they have certainly hit some duds over the years when they hit the mark it is decimated. So when this project was announced, and was noted that Mike Coles was designing the package I took note.

All of these songs have been somewhat easy to find with the internet. So I wanted this because it's a proper format done by the band. But Mike Coles was the mastermind artist behind all of the good Killing Joke art. Being there from the beginnign some of his work is iconic. He has an eye for detail and loves packaging.

There is a über elaborate packaging that is incredible but I could not justify that amount of bread. So I opted for this version. It's a scaled down, consumer friendly version. So what gets cut? Artwork unfortunately but you can't have it all.

This is actually a good representation of Killing Joke to the newcomer. It covers the full career and even includes a few stinkers just to show how bad it got (Beyond the Gates). Some of the rarities should have been A-sides. Of course there are others that aren't here. But you can't get it all and maybe there will be another version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Ain't A Joke, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
It does exactly what it says on the cover, It's Killing Joke and the 33 A-Sides of the singles they've released. Die hard fans of the band might buy it for the extra rarities disc (Disc 3), but it's the ideal introduction to a truly fantastic band who have influenced the likes of Amebi, Ministry and Rammstein, and it's a bargain price as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 (Audio CD)
This was a present for my son in law ,he said it was fantastic, he would recommend it , it was delivered before date estimated and I would order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present for friend, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a bit difficult to rate music bought for someone else. I'm not overly familiar with Killing Joke myself but my friend had requested this for his Birthday and he was very pleased with it!

Arrived well packaged and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER KJ COMPILATION..., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In later years Jaz & Merry Men seem more intent on rehashing past glories or pledging us to bankruptcy via random limited edition releases. For a band that once released the single "Money Is Not Our God" the irony is clearly lost on them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles Collection 1979 - 2012
Singles Collection 1979 - 2012 by Killing Joke (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews