Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book
For something that's a throw-away spin-off, this is really rather good. Well written, in character, and cleverly paced and plotted.

Recommended.
Published 20 months ago by TMLS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Never mind what I thought, what did Clara think?
It was an odd experience, reading a book I saw an impossible girl reading. There I was hunting for clues for the Ponds and what lay ahead at the end of series 7. In particular looking at names. So much so that the fairly pedestrian story sort of slipped me by. It had some nice moments (although I suspect talking cat is now officially the fantasy novel equivalent to...
Published 19 months ago by Christopher Long


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
For something that's a throw-away spin-off, this is really rather good. Well written, in character, and cleverly paced and plotted.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun 1950s style read, 6 April 2013
By 
Shaun Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
Being a fan of all things Doctor Who, I just had to get this little e-book as soon as I found out it was available.

Set in a quiet seaside town in the 1950s, this little book harks back to a simpler time. Following the adventures of a young girl called Kate who has just moved to Watchcombe this book has a very Famous Five/Secret Seven feel to it.

Featuring a talking cat, a mysterious museum, a crazy curator and snow in summer, the book is a couple of hours worth of easy and fun reading. It is easily accessible and suitable for younger fans of Doctor Who as well as oldies like myself.

The story is fast moving and exciting and very in keeping with the world of Doctor Who. Even though ostensibly written by Amy Pond (Williams) it does not feature any well known Dr Who characters (at least not by name!) - It does have that feeling about it though that there are clues hidden in the story if you look hard enough, even though these may well only become obvious after we have seen more of this season of Dr Who.

Overall, an enjoyable little read that adds depth to the series without being full of obvious spoilers.

Well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cute book, 11 May 2013
By 
S. Phythian (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
Of course this was going to be released as a real book and it does make a for a cute story mixing a Doctor Who adventure with a Enid Blyton-esque adventure story, the pay off was good though and yes chapter eleven makes you cry.
My favorite bits however where the reminders of Amy's modern day life with a little bit about digital cameras and a couple of other references that don't seem right in the world of Summer Falls.
If your a fan of Doctor Who I would say you should certainly buy Summer Falls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns abound..., 4 April 2013
By 
Quills (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
The tantalising glimpse of Summer Falls in the recent episode of Doctor Who captivated the attention of many eagle-eyed viewers, many of whom realised that the author was, ostensibly, the much-missed Amy Pond writing under her married name. I approached this book with great anticipation, eager to devour every clue Pond had laid out within for the Doctor. However, despite reading it twice now I'm as much in the dark as I ever was. Fortunately, the DW team (written by James Goss) have produced a witty and charming little novella nonetheless, full of atmospheric twists and turns that are more than able to stand alone.

The mystery begins with Kate's discovery of a strange painting and an even stranger neighbour who seems to know far more about it than he lets on - and though not explicitly stated, I'm sure anyone who reads this will be able to discern that particular character's true identity, for the author has perfectly captured his quirks and mannerisms.

Though only a quick read written in a style reminiscent of the Famous Five novels I loved as a child, I greatly enjoyed it and will certainly be reading it again tonight in what will doubtless be a futile effort to weasel out any clues as to what we have coming over the next few episodes on screen. I'm convinced they're there after the little tidbit Matt Smith let slip in a recent interview, but perhaps they'll only become clear when looking back. Regardless, a super little read even without the added layer of mystery of its place in the Whoniverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book from beginning to end, and I think even if it wasn't based on doctor who, I would still read and love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting., 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. Adam I. Richards "A. Richards" (Harwell, Didcot.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
A good short story with plenty of intrigue. Paced nicely to keep the readers attention. I would recommend this to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
Not to bad for a random story linked to Dr who , but at least I now know why Clara cried in chapter 11 I also liked the subtle hints that barnabus May have indeed been the Dr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite for the Doctor Who fan!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
An extremely clever story, mysterious characters, good plot.
Lots of hint for Who fans to pick up on and put two and two together and make five! I just wanted it to be longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little read, 23 April 2013
By 
Alex S (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book immediately after seeing it in The Bells of Saint John, and while it was an ok read, I did expect a little more, especially from chapter 11. But it's still worth buying and reading if you're a Doctor Who fan... and make sure to take note of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive spin-off, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Summer Falls (Kindle Edition)
Most TV spin-offs are peremptory and a bit disappointing; this one is far more. It is both an effective children's book in its own right and a recognisable echo of the era it mimics. At the same time, it is both a Doctor Who story and yet not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Summer Falls
Doctor Who: Summer Falls by Amelia Williams
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews