Customer Reviews


768 Reviews
5 star:
 (528)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


617 of 643 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Aware!!
Please be aware that several product pages lead to this strain of reviews. I have seen reviews claiming that there set did not contain the original unaltered versions as they had read in reviews and as such were dissapointed. Multiple versions of the original trilogy lead to this string of reviews, the Blu Ray set released in 2011 does not contain the unaltered versions...
Published on 14 Dec 2012 by Josh N

versus
164 of 186 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much chance of being led into the dark side
I picked this up because I thought that Lucas was finally allowing people to choose whether they wanted to watch the original versions of these movies or the so-called enhanced versions. From the outer box it would seem so. However, this box contains a nasty and mean spirited surprise.
Yes- the new versions of the film are in Dolby Digital sound, anamorphically...
Published on 13 Dec 2009 by J. M. Greer


‹ Previous | 1 2 377 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry George, Han shot first, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly the old adage "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" means nothing to Lucas. Despite the sales figures of the 2006 DVDs (which included the theatrical versions) apparently surpassing the 2004 box sets, including many people buying them again just to get the originals on DVD, again he insists on messing around with a classic.

Yet more changes over the 2004 DVDs (although the colour timing errors seem to be fixed, Darth Vader really didn't look good with a pink lightsabre!). Greedo still shoots first (boo!), Jabba still appears in Ep IV (boo!), and now the Ewoks blink (like, whatever?) and Darth Vader shouts "noooooo!" at the end of Ep VI. A line of dialogue that was lifted from Ep III.

So sorry George, but until you release the original 1977/80/83 versions on Blu-Ray my money will be staying firmly in my pocket and I shall continue to watch my self-restored versions I created from the 2006 theatrical discs.

(As an added note, one wonders if now that Disney have bought the rights to Star Wars whether they'll release the originals?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last we have them, 12 Sep 2004
By 
Possibly the most eagerly awaiting DVDs, The Star Wars Saga's original trilogy is a ride well worth buying. Much has been said of the way George Lucas has tinkered with the films during the last few years, the work done in the late 90's to bring out the Special Editions has been taken further with this set of DVDs. Slight modifications include a rework of the Han Solo/Jabba the Hutt scene in A New Hope, Hayden Christiensen replacing Sebastian Shaw in the ghost scene at the end of Return Of The Jedi and dialogue changes in the conversation between Luke and Leia when Leia talks about remembering her mother, just to help continuity with events of Episode III - Revenge Of The Sith. Naboo also now gets seen in the end of film celebrations.
There's always going to be an argue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why does George Lucas Tinker So?, 20 Dec 2006
By 
The original trilogy certainly stands the test of time. It has a rawness, innocense and naivity to it which enhances the overall feel of 'myth' or 'legend'. It is hard to recapture the wonder of discovery - the famous scene in Empire Strikes back with Darth Vaders revelation to Luke.

But so many scenes take me back to my childhood - so many scenes are still awe inspiring - despite the 30 years of special effects in between. The opening scene in episode IV is unrivalled - the Star Destroyer chasing down Leia's ship. The complexity of the battle above Endor, with hundreds of Tie Fighters, massive capital ships...these scenes are still unrivalled.

There are so many heroes and anti-heroes to latch on to. Han Solo - the rogue, C3PO and R2D2 as a comedy pair, Lando Calrissian, Bobba Fett...

People talk of wooden acting and dubious dialogue - but this all seeems to fit with the feel of the films.

Overall, I would give th original trilogy 5 stars. 6 if it was possible. But some annoying tinkering by George Lucas destroys certain elements; the extra scene in episode IV with Jabba. This was un-called for and embarrasing. The altered scene in Jabba's palace with the band performing a song which is so incongruous, so ill-fitting, it destroys the whole atmosphere. Not to mention the 'wrong Annakin' at the very end of Episode VI. This is why I give this version of the trilogy 4 stars instead of 5.

When buying the boxed set, go for the original theatrical versions. They have been digitally remastered and are of top-class quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure. Excitement. Yes we seek these things, 14 Oct 2004
By 
Ian Mote - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There has been much discussion on these pages about the merits of the new versions of the films against the old; but these seem to be losing perspective a little.
The main changes to the DVDs are a vibrant colour transfer to the picture; window-rattling sound effects; and essential extras that will leave fans slavering.
Compared to movies of the Special Editions of 1997, I noticed only one change to the actual content; and it was only in the last five seconds of the last film, which hardly spoils the ongoing enjoyment of the movies, and will make sense when Ep III is done.
In the extras, the highlights are the preview of Episode III - Hayden Christiansen puts on the Vader helmet, and even the crew are in awe of him; the really really poor 70s trailers; and the Empire of Dreams documentary, which shows all sorts of interviews and footage about production of the original movies. If you think some of the lines in Ep IV are bad, you should hear some of the ones they cut out.
Embrace the DVDs for what they are; the best possible way to watch Star Wars. When the lights are off, and the Imperial Battle Cruiser starts rumbling behind you until it crawls across your front room, you are in a galaxy far, far away, and there is nowhere else you would want to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just enjoy it!, 2 Oct 2004
I've been reading, with growing amusement, the furious reviews of others who are getting very hot on under the collar because various bits have been changed and added and the classic trilogy has been tinkered with. I first saw Star Wars in 1977 when I was five and then spent the rest of my childhood pretending to be Luke Skywalker. Now I watch the films with my son (who want to be Darth Vader)and though they have changed, the magic is still there, It really doesn't matter how many stormtroopers where there in the original and how many were pasted in at a later date. These are timeless pieces of swashbuckling adventure, like the Adventures of Robin Hood or the Crimson Pirate before them. I think the problem with Star wars is that the phenomonal success has pushed the films to a level of importance which they were never intended to reach. To truly enjoy these films and to realise there wonder, I look at my sons face as Darth Vader questions the rebel by squeezing his neck or when the century ships sweep onto the falcon and the music gives you gooosebumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its is a pitty that the trail of feedback is very misleading regarding the contents og the DVD set. This is the remastered versions of Episodes IV, V and VI. These are not the original theatrical versions so do not buy this is you are looking for original series as released in the 70.s and 80.s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic set, 20 Nov 2005
By A Customer
These are as far as we know the same versions of the Original Star Wars Trilogy that were released last September but this set is without the 4th extra features disc. This is meant as a basic set for people who just want to see the films and dont want any extra features, this is shown in the reduced price compared to the 4 disc Boxset.
A good buy for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars, 23 Dec 2004
By 
There really is very little left to be said about these films. On release they created a vast army of fans and have influenced pretty much every science fiction and fantasy film released since. There is something for (pretty much) everybody, action, romance, intrigue, not to mention strong characterisation in a vastly realised and detailed universe. The films themselves haven't been vastly affected either the purists will be glad to hear, indeed the changes that have been implemented most obviously are some improvements to the, quite frankly, clunky effects of the originals.
Everyone has their own favourite film in this series and all have their own assets (persoanlly i'm an empire strikes back man) be it New Hope's trench running finale, Empire's Ice Battle or Return's final conflict. Add to this some inspired casting choices (Harrison Ford as loveable rogue pilot Han Solo is particularly brilliant), a story so good you can follow it despite it beginning half way through with episode IV, oh, and the coolest weapons in the history of cinema with the lightsabers.
The films are by no means perfect though. If fantasy or science fiction aren't your thing then you may wish to consider renting before buying. The stories may be character driven but the setting is hard to overcome. Also despite some improvements to the effects they retain a dated look. Oh and then theres the other star wars debate of puppets versus the current trend of digital characters.
For those who saw it and loved it either on its original release or during its 90s re-releases, then there has never been a better time to own a home version of these fantastic films. For the uninitiated, be wary. These filsm are sci-fi, they are fantasy, if thats not your cup of tea then don't buy - yet. I could say that the force is strong in these but that would just be tacky...
Extras - With a single disc of extras for 3 films, this package looks to be considerably less fleshed out than the DVD releases of episodes I and II. That said what we do have is a pretty comprehensive package which covers everything that the average fan could want to know, just don't excpect any exceptional depth. This is serviceable, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the fanatics - enjoy the trilogy!, 30 Sep 2004
By A Customer
What on earth is wrong with all those people that keep complaining about the changes that George Lucas has made to his movies?

In 1997 George Lucas and his staff improved the sound and the picture quality and some of the special effect, and they added two deleted scenes (just a conversation between Jabba and Han-Solo and a kissing scene with Leia and Han-Solo). But these changes didn't effect the story the slightest bit! (Neither does the scene with Greedo and Han-Solo.) Some of the hard-core fans seem to forget, that most of the changes were VISUAL and TECHNICAL, and what is wrong with that? ... Now it's 2004, and once again George Lucas has made improvements to the trilogy - and this time he has made them for the long awaited DVD release. ... Well, has he changed anything in the story? No. He has made no changes whatsoever! He has given the (faceless!) bounty hunter a new voice and Anakin Skywalker a new face (at the end of "Return Of The Jedi"). And the sound and picture quality has once again been digitally remastered.

I really think, that the above-mentioned hard-core fans are overdoing their anger and disappointment. "A New Hope" hasn't changed, nor has "The Empire Strikes Back" or "Return Of The Jedi" - it's still the same trilogy. NOTHING in the story has been changed - absolutely nothing. So how can these fanatics claim, that the new DVD release is different from the so-called "original" trilogy?? Just try this: Tell someone who never has seen "Star Wars" the whole story as you know it from the so-called "original" trilogy, and then let him see the 2004-edition - he is going to see exactly what he has been told!! ... So when the fanatics claim that the new release is a different trilogy, it is simply not true. I sure hope, that the new generation of Star Wars-fans don't listen to that rubbish. Many hard-core fans take "Star Wars" much too serious - it's like a religion, and changing anything in Star Wars, is like making changes in their holy book ..... They seem to forget, that it's only entertainment. Their attitude certainly don't reflect the charming humor and irony that you find in "Star Wars".

If you really love and enjoy "Star Wars", there's no way that these visual and technical changes (=improvements) can ruin your day. On the contrary: The updated edition will make your day!

Good actors + an exciting story with a romance and with and lot of humor + wonderful music by John Williams + beautiful pictures. What more could you possibly want?

Enjoy the "Star Wars" Trilogy!
(By the way: It's true - as claimed by one of the other reviewers - that "Star Wars Episode IV" had an ending, but it wasn't a very satisfying ending: the villain survived - Darth Vader escaped!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the original versions nor the SE's but something else..., 19 April 2004
By A Customer
I pretty much agree with Amazon's editorial review except for the uncritical praise lavished on The Empire Strikes Back. It's a good sequel but it's not without flaws. That said, it's worth pointing out that these three movies will feature even more enhancements and newly shot footage designed to ensure both trilogies fit together as one story (which was after all Lucas's original intention).
Lucasfilm won't say anything until the official press launch but to judge by some of the more informed comments being made around the net it does look as though the Obi-wan/Vader fight onboard the Death Star (from A New Hope) has been redone to bring it more into line with the pace and zip of the lightsabre battles of the prequels. The CGI Jabba The Hut from ANH has almost certainly been redone and many of the effects from all three films have either been replaced or cleaned up. Additionally, in The Empire Strikes Back, Ian McDiarmid as the Emperor may have been digitally added into the scene where Darth Vader communicates with the Emperor. But most controversially of all (at least for the fans) actor Hayden Christenson - who plays Anakin Skywalker (Luke's father and Darth Vader to-be) in the prequels - may also feature as the aged and horribly scarred Vader in the scene from Return of the Jedi where he is finally unmasked by Luke.
Now whether this and numerous other rumours (such as the one about the Han/Greedo scene having been properly restored) turn out to be true or false, well, we'll just have to wait and see. One thing I do know, this DVD release is NOT the 1997 Special Edition. No way. I know that 100%. I'm not saying the above changes are definitely going to be in there either but that's increasingly what it looks like. So if you're a fan brace yourself for some major surprises because George hasn't quite finished tinkering with his story just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 377 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews