Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James remains consistent
If you loved James Blake's previous releases then you will enjoy this continuation of his haunting melodies and fractured songs creating an atmosphere of longing and passion. I'd heartily recommend this album.
Published 12 months ago by MartinandKashka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea
I found the CD to be a bit samey, and by the end of it, quite depressing really. Definitely not a cheery purchase
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. Morag Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 26 May 2014
By 
King Eric (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
I like James Blake i thought his first album was a really original album mixing elements of dance/electronica with Indie. This album is a real progression from that first album-great songs sung with James really distinctive voice. I saw him at the Ritz in Manchester before Christmas and he was excellent live. In my top 5 list from 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
James blake's sounds are fresh and this is such a good album, highly recommend. His style is experimental but he can sound like chilled electronic in some songs and then has a r&b sound in some. So so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and atmospheric album; cleansing and cathartic., 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
As well as being incredibly stylish and of-the-time, Overgrown is packed full of substance. This collection of downtempo songs will survive long after similar acts have disappeared with the fashion.

There is simplicity, atmosphere and an abundance of emotion within this music and while not being the most upbeat, it certainly connects with emotions we've all experienced at some point, in a cleansing and cathartic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overgrown, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
This album is full of beautiful melodic sounds and great origininality. Great to listen to when you want to chill out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now! Excellent introductory cd for James Blake's music., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
Never dissapointed with James Blake.
Unique voice and arrangements.
First heard 2years ago when Just 21, such amazing talent and usual transporting effects.
Well deserved Mercury Prize Winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, bittersweet, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
Original, haunting voice reminds me of Antony Hegarty on certain notes.Beautifully produced and every word is clear and can strike you to the quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Different, 19 Feb 2014
By 
A. WINFIELD (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
A totally different sound - he uses his voice as an instrument and is quite beautiful in places. The song writing is unique. If you like arty tracks that are unlike any others this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
If you like Antony and the Johnsons ul like this. Definately, his style is wonderfully haunting. Go for it, and dont be surprised by something a little different.......you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Downtempo genius, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
This is a great record! Very well thought, compositions are incredible and the tone of James Blake's voice is like honey to my ears. A very sincere and unassuming artist, with great taste. The only track I always skip is the one with the rapper. Besides that, it's a marvelous record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air in the world of talentless radio-pap, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
Bought at a bargain 4 after buying the first album last year as it happens after hearing the 3rd track on the latest album 'Life Round Here' on the radio. Wasn't disappointed with either. Found the 1st album more challenging - needed repeated listenings before appreciating the unusual style (usually a good sign) which I find undefinable (strange that Amazon put the 1st album in the Electro pigeon-hole and the 2nd in the Pop category but I suppose they have to go somewhere !). On the 1st album the comparisons with Radiohead are understandable (Wim Mertens anyone?) but the 2nd album reaches out a little further to a wider audience with the excellent 'Take a fall for me' for instance.

Beautiful music which evokes all sorts of emotions (even if I do find it difficult at times to work out the lyrics) and a breath of fresh air in the polluted world of talentless radio-pap. If you're a Curious Orange - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overgrown
Overgrown by James Blake (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews