Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Japes!
I had already played the original 'Donkey Kong Country Returns' on the Nintendo Wii and enjoyed playing through it. This version for the 3DS is largely the same game.

It has a 'New Mode' which allows you to play through the game with extra hearts for your characters. Even with this, I still found this mode challanging, though I did not have to go through the...
Published 21 months ago by Mr S. Anthony

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult for Donkey Kong newcomers
It's fun to play, and the 3D graphics are impressive, however as a first time player of Donkey Kong I've found it to be quite frustratingly difficult at times, you can get help with the hard levels though. Definitely a good platform addition to the 3DS, but expect a challenge!
Published 18 months ago by Aaron


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Japes!, 24 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I had already played the original 'Donkey Kong Country Returns' on the Nintendo Wii and enjoyed playing through it. This version for the 3DS is largely the same game.

It has a 'New Mode' which allows you to play through the game with extra hearts for your characters. Even with this, I still found this mode challanging, though I did not have to go through the annoyance of starting a level from scratch frequently, due to the benefit of having more health.

The difficulty in this game is very good. It feels just right. It's by no means a walk in the park, however it's not too difficult that you can't complete it.

If you do get stuck, you can activate help in the level after you lose a certain amount of health. This then shows you how to complete the level. This is of course optional, however you no longer need to use a guide book to show you the way.

'Donkey Kong Country Returns 3DS' offers local play, where so long as your friend has the cartridge in their 3DS, you can play the game together in a co-op mode.

The 3D effects are largely so-so. I imagine this is because the game is a port from the Wii so was not built from scratch exclusively for the 3DS.

I highly recommend this game as it will keep you busy for many hours and is a great platform game experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best platformer on the 3DS, 25 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The inferior Mario games currently on the 3DS (3D Land, NSMB2, Sticker Star) really didn't cut the mustard with me. The first two especially, while well presented and occasionally enjoyable, were simply far far too easy for even a gamer with little experience. Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D then is a welcome slap in the face. It boasts the production values of the Mario games, including stunning use of the 3D effect and a brilliant soundtrack, with difficulty that will take your breath away. Getting a 200% completion rating (yes, 200%) will take an awful lot of time, as some of the secret K levels are unrelenting. One ill-timed button press and you must start from scratch - there are no checkpoints in these brutal stages. The majority of the game's levels throw something new into the mix as you move through them - there will be sludgy tar that slows your movement, red and blue switchable platforms, and the infamous minecart levels.
Overall this is a refreshing antidote to the insultingly easy Mario 3D Land and will almost have you throwing your 3DS across the room in frustration. The difficulty never feels unfair or cheap though, and the sense of accomplishment on completing a level you've been stuck on for half an hour is rivalled on the console only by Fire Emblem Awakening's challenging Lunatic setting. This is a game to sink hours into, as the replay value of collecting all the KONG letters and the puzzle pieces will keep you coming back to uncover all those hidden secrets. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 26 Dec. 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Good fun game !! We have this on wii also and the whole family got involved - some easier and some very hard sections which is what you need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Pure Donkey Kong platforming fun. I highly recommend it another great game from Retro studios on behalf of Nintendo. 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Arrived very quickly, very good value for money, I would recommend this game its very addictive can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong Country Returns, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Its excellent and I just can't put it down !! Very good value for money too. Definately recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult for Donkey Kong newcomers, 1 Sept. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
It's fun to play, and the 3D graphics are impressive, however as a first time player of Donkey Kong I've found it to be quite frustratingly difficult at times, you can get help with the hard levels though. Definitely a good platform addition to the 3DS, but expect a challenge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Controls not very good, 21 April 2014
By 
hfffoman (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
They didn't get the controls right with this one. It tends to move too fast or too slowly. For fans of Donkey Kong I give it 4 stars but if you aren't a fan of Donkey Kong you might think it is objectively only worth 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This brings back memories of playing the game on the N64, if you liked that game then you'll love this. I can't speak of the 3D use in the game as I was pl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kongtastic, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is a very fine game indeed, and is a welcome return to classic style platforming. I have not played the Wii version and so can not compare the two, but this version stands perfectly well on its own.

First off, it looks fantastic. The animation is very smooth, characters look great, and each world is an absolute pleasure to smash through. It is reminiscent of the first DK country games, but adds new environments and quirks to keep it fresh.

The same can be said of the soundtrack, which uses some of the original tunes and builds on them, while at the same time creating new music and sounds. 3d wise, I kept the slider down most of the time. Occasionally I'd use the 3d, but as with many 3ds titles it just adds a little more depth to the visuals and eventually results in eye strain.

Although the visuals and sound are what strikes you first of all, gameplay is where DK country returns really shines. In my opinion, it is very close to perfection. DK controls very well and the integration of his new moves are not difficult to learn. You can also acquire the help of Diddy Kong on this adventure, and he gives you extra life to play with and a slight glide ability with his jetpack.

There are two difficulty settings; Original and New modes. I only played through on the original difficulty, but I believe New mode is more lenient on newer players and gives both Kongs an extra heart each.

The difficulty on original increases in a well paced arc, peaking near the end. I will admit dying many times, some times while experimenting or searching for hidden goodies, but more often than not it was my clumsiness. It never feels unfair though, which is a rare thing (no pun intended) in today's games. It always felt as if my sausage fingers were the problem, not the game itself.

Even on original difficulty, dying a set amount of times will make the little bespectacled checkpoint pig prompt you to accept help from 'Super Kong' who basically plays through the level for you, showing you the best route or method of survival. Every time that little porker appeared, waving his flag maniacally, it prompted me to try harder until I eventually succeeded and I'm pleased to say I did not use Super Kong.

As well as playing through the levels in typical DK fashion, progressing across the map of the area you're currently in, you are encouraged to replay levels in order to collect K-O-N-G letters, find puzzle pieces which unlock extra content and do time trial versions of the levels, which adds great replay value. Despite being very good, I really think this is the sort of replay motivation Mario 3d Land was missing.

There's also multiplayer, which I've not really tried yet. To sum up, this game is a lot of fun to play and should keep you busy for quite a while, especially if you're aiming to get 100% completion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D (Nintendo 3DS)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews