Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The land that time forgot
It was a joy to read this - I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to revisit the days of cheap overland travel.
Published 9 months ago by Janie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of history
After some consideration I have given it only 3 stars. It is historically interesting but even in its day its practical use was surely limited. For instance, there are only 4 named hotels in Bangkok (the Malaysia is still going) and the rest of the country is very skimpily done. Still, it is a curiosity.
Published 9 months ago by David


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The land that time forgot, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
It was a joy to read this - I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to revisit the days of cheap overland travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical classic travel document, 19 Aug 2014
By 
DF (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
Nearly useless as a contemporary travel guide other than for wanderlust purposes.

As an historical travel document however, it is pure gold. I searched high and low for a copy of this guide some years ago and I commend Tony Wheeler for making this freely available for travellers to enjoy on the Kindle.

Thoroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brief but informative, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
A useful guide to things to look into at greater depth. Would recommend it to anyone about to set off on their SE Asia travels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but welcome free addition to my Kindle, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
I spent many years exploring Asia and with me was a battered paperback called "South-east Asia on a Shoestring", like every other 20ish backpacker. This book was where it started - the earlier work by Tony Wheeler, self-published and I think sold by hand by the Wheelers as they travelled the world themselves.

Since I've visited many of the places in the book, which either were already or later became stops on the backpack trail up through Australia and Indonesia, it was a fun read.. reliving many actual memories of the locations in the 1970s, many perfectly recognisable from my travels in the 90s. If you liked the Lonely Planet books in their heyday, you can't beat the price of this trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
I'm sure that this.is an .original article of traveling on a budget.
Not.read all of it yet.
Would recommend it to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of history, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
After some consideration I have given it only 3 stars. It is historically interesting but even in its day its practical use was surely limited. For instance, there are only 4 named hotels in Bangkok (the Malaysia is still going) and the rest of the country is very skimpily done. Still, it is a curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
This is a classic and set the benchmark for all other travel books to follow. I used an original copy when travelling overland back in the 70s, which sadly fell apart, I just had to have this as a replacement. Its outdated now, of course, but it will look good in my virtual bookcase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Across Asia..., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful. Very interesting but a little out of date. Great introduction to the Asian countries you would travel through on this trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting quick read, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Across Asia on the Cheap (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating how travel has changed and how once upon a time a guide book could say things " as they are" rather than being PC! Worth a read if you love travel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews