Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant historic introduction to Cuba
Have never really understood Cuban history apart from my memories of years ago in the Western press. My knowledge has now been corrected and I am keen to find out more. I enjoyed the introduction where he compares history to current affairs and it is only really when an item becomes history (with archives opened up etc) that you truly have a real understanding of what...
Published 7 months ago by Jolgas

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A massive book for serious students of history or sociology. Not for tourists.
I was amazed at the size of this book; 1093 pages plus 56 pages of index!
The small Penguin format makes it unwieldy and the maps are poor.
It starts in1762 so the Spanish era is not covered.
On the positive side, it is thorough and well written.
However, it is just too much as background for a simple visitor to Cuba.
Published 10 months ago by CAM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant historic introduction to Cuba, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
Have never really understood Cuban history apart from my memories of years ago in the Western press. My knowledge has now been corrected and I am keen to find out more. I enjoyed the introduction where he compares history to current affairs and it is only really when an item becomes history (with archives opened up etc) that you truly have a real understanding of what happened. Very readable with tremendous detail. Loved it. For anyone like me who has a serious interest in Cuban history and how the British then Americans became involved followed of course by the Eastern block including Russia I can recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
This was purchased to expand my knowledge in the History of Cuba, the politics and culture of the country, and it does that in a very easy to digest and comprehensive way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuba - everything that the tour guides don't have time to tell you, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
This is a tremendous book, a real tour de force of historical narrative. Starting with the British of Havana in 1762, through the years of slavery, the role of sugar, the revolutions, the hopes of democracy turned sour by graft, the dictators and the years of Castro, it explains why we find Cuba in the state it is today. It is beautifully written, thoroughly researched and a ripping tale of Cuba's frenetic, bloody, tragic, corrupt and heroic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know on the history of Cuba, 9 May 2012
By 
Miguel Zaldo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
A well written book with all you need to know on the history of Cuba touching such aspects as slavery, sugar economy, colonialism, relations with the US and many other realted subjects. It is book with a lot of pages but for history lovers it is a pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbiased History, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. Kwei (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A massive book for serious students of history or sociology. Not for tourists., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
I was amazed at the size of this book; 1093 pages plus 56 pages of index!
The small Penguin format makes it unwieldy and the maps are poor.
It starts in1762 so the Spanish era is not covered.
On the positive side, it is thorough and well written.
However, it is just too much as background for a simple visitor to Cuba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars long lists of events, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
This book did not grip me ,I found it went on for a long time about minutia not helping me with background for my forthcoming trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cuba, A History by Hugh Thomas, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Charbonne' Wine (gig harbor, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba: A History (Paperback)
I wanted a concise medium sized history book. I will be traveling there, NOT living or teaching history there.
It's WAY too long and specific . I WISH You would list the NUMBER of pages in your books. A reader and traveler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cuba: A History
Cuba: A History by Hugh Thomas
£8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews