Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing visuals: this is a MUST SEE
In 2007 James Balog started a multi-year initiative called "Extre Ice Survey" (or EIS), targeting glaciers in Iceland, Greenland and Alaska where he placed about two dozen cameras to document what is happening to glaciers around the world. Director Jeff Orlowski and his team tagged along and the results of this are captured in "Chasing Ice".

"Chasing Ice" (2012...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by Paul Allaer

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped for
I came away disappointed, I had been anticipating this video for 6 months when I saw the first trailer. However, this is a film about the film, but you can't buy the film (the footage about the melting glaciers). This is like the second DVD that accompanies an extended version with interviews of the cast and crew about how you got this or that shot. I was expecting a...
Published 23 months ago by Paal Skjetne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishing visuals: this is a MUST SEE, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
In 2007 James Balog started a multi-year initiative called "Extre Ice Survey" (or EIS), targeting glaciers in Iceland, Greenland and Alaska where he placed about two dozen cameras to document what is happening to glaciers around the world. Director Jeff Orlowski and his team tagged along and the results of this are captured in "Chasing Ice".

"Chasing Ice" (2012 release; 76 min.) feels like a National Geogprahic special, and this is not a surprise (nor a complaint) in that James Balog started a pre-EIS project in partnership with National Geographic. Once it became clear to Balog that this could be something very special, the project was expanded into what would become the EIS. This movie was shot over a period of almost 4 years, and the patience with which this movie came about really pays off. If you think this is some one-man show, you will be surprised to see how many people became involved with this, and what the techological challenges were and how they would need to overcome (the most obvious one being: how to shelter the cameras from the relentless weather elements). Once the cameras are positioned, they were to make photographs every 30 min. during the daylight hours. When you collect the thousands of pictures into a time-lapse film, the results are nothing short of astonishing. In addition to the time-laps photography, there is various video footage as well. Sometime you need to be a little lucky, as when a team goes out in the hope of catching the "calving" of a glacier (when a huge piece breaks off), and then actually catches it on camera (the concluding part of the movie is primarily the jaw-dropping footage of a "calving" the size of lower Manhattan from a glacier in Greenland).

In all, I can't say enough about this movie. I was initially a bit skeptical of going to see this due to the rather short length, but all I can say is that I am very glad I went anyway, as this movie will without a doubt blow your mind, as it did mine. "Chasing Ice" is HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be compulsory viewing for everyone aged 15 and up., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stunning video not just because of the incredible dangers involved in creating it but to eliminate any doubt about what we as a race are doing to destroy this planet and meteorologists just fail to agree. I'm planning to show it to the school children who come to our church and their parents and teachers in the hope that they will spread the word before its too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Chasing Ice (Blu-ray)
Beautiful, stunning, thought provoking. Needs to be seen! Should be on the school curriculum.

Not sure what can be done, but something needs to be done before we have no glaciers left! And fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped for, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Paal Skjetne (Trondheim Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
I came away disappointed, I had been anticipating this video for 6 months when I saw the first trailer. However, this is a film about the film, but you can't buy the film (the footage about the melting glaciers). This is like the second DVD that accompanies an extended version with interviews of the cast and crew about how you got this or that shot. I was expecting a nature documentary showing of the footage from the many timelaps cams installed next to glaciers. Some of the footage shown was actually shown as part of footage from keynotes given at summits. Not even in the extras did they include the timelaps shots in a systematic way. Important and mind changing work, but not what I wanted, I wanted to see the timelapses, not a movie about making them. Perhaps I didn't read the product description well enough ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Technically brilliant piece of filming by a man who knows his ..., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
Technically brilliant piece of filming by a man who knows his subject. The final part of the filming just goes to show the power of the changes that are happening to our World. These might be caused by our life styles added to something which in the end is a natural future for the centuries ahead. This film has been made by team devoted to being on the spot for cataclismic events. We should take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on prime-timeTV, 7 April 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This should be shown on prime-time TV! The world needs to see the evidence recorded in this DVD before it's too late, if it's not already. The filming is magnificent and the bravery (or was it foolishness?) of James Balog is inspiring. We saw this at a small local cinema event and then came home and bought the DVD so that we can led it to others. Highly recommended viewing for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film frightening and beautiful, seeing is believing!, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
A film that informs us about climate change using the story of one man and his teams courage. The images are breathtaking and blow away any doubts about the reality of climate change. A must see for all who care about our future on planet earth. I saw it on the big screen last year in IFC in Dublin but watched this DVD with friends and saw and learned even more this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, beautiful, terrifying, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
WONDERFUL
INSANE
BEAUTIFUL
ILLUSTRATIVE

SCARY, a view in to real global warming effects and were we are heading...

EVERYONE SHOULD SEE IT! EVERYONE SHOULD SHARE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone should be encouraged to watch this. Not only is the photography stunning but it would make all those who doubt that we are responsible for global warming be thoroughly convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Ice [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a gift to my husband as he and my three sons earlier this year visited Iceland. This DVD gave him an insite into the changing of such a wonder full landscape. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chasing Ice [Blu-ray]
Chasing Ice [Blu-ray] by Jeff Orlowski (Blu-ray - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews