Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Healthy Cook Book
A great book with simple low carb meals.
Published 1 month ago by Stefan Paul Cook

versus
69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for ideas, not so good for carbs!
Quite disappointed by the book, as it is nothing like I was expecting. I have been following a low carbohydrate lifestyle for over two years now, so I have a very good understanding of what a low carbohydrate diet entails, and I was just hoping to get some ideas and inspiration from this book.
This book is full of recipes that to do not follow a low carbohydrate...
Published 17 months ago by Sarupes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for ideas, not so good for carbs!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite disappointed by the book, as it is nothing like I was expecting. I have been following a low carbohydrate lifestyle for over two years now, so I have a very good understanding of what a low carbohydrate diet entails, and I was just hoping to get some ideas and inspiration from this book.
This book is full of recipes that to do not follow a low carbohydrate diet. I believe that the person that wrote the book did not have an understanding of what low carb meant. It would appear that the person believed that as long as no potatoes, pasta, rice or bread where in the book, then it would constitute low carb.

There are numerous recipes in the book that call for sugar, flour, carrots, sweet chilli sauce (the clue is in the name…), chestnuts … On top of that there use a lot of mention of fruit in the book, and most carbohydrate diets restrict fruit in the initial stages, so it might be confusing for people who might not know this. Apples and mangoes, which are used in the book are very high in carbs.

There also seems to be an emphasis on low-calorie ingredients, which is not really necessary in a low carb book, and seems ridiculous when other recipes use sugar!

All in all, not what I would call a low carb book, and not one I would recommend for anyone looking for a low carb book… Specially not for people new to this way of eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low carb?, 29 April 2013
It says its a low carb cook book, the first recipe has 100 grams of sugar in it. I think that tells you pretty much all you need to know about this book. There are some good looking meals on here but its not much good for a low carb diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lower carb meals but not for a low carb diet, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other negative reviews. The book seems to be just a collection of normal recipes with just the main carb aspect removed. There is an emphasis on low fat which is not how most low carb diets work. They include the carb content but only for some aspects of the recipe - such as the scallops with sweet chilli sauce (a definite no-no for low carb). It recommends a glass of wine or sherry with the spanish meatballs and beer with another which is a high carb extra. Lots of the recipes have flour, honey and even sugar added.

This is not for anyone first starting out on a low carb diet as the recommendations are just too contradictory. I was looking forward to this book as I've made good use out of other Good food mini cook books but this one is a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good at First Glance, 1 April 2013
By 
Ms. Sue Lindsay "BornTooEarlyKnits" (Hampton Hill, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Low-Carb Cooking (Everyday Goodfood) (Kindle Edition)
This looks, at first glance, to be a great addition to the repertoire of cook books for those of us following a low carbohydrate way-of-eating, lovely sounding recipes, all nutritionally counted etc...... BUT, and it is a big but, too many of the recipes are also low fat which is anathema when eating a low carb diet for both health and weigh loss purposes. More research by the authors would have picked up on this fact and hence made the book much more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 April 2013
This book is ideal for someone trying to follow a low-carb diet! Carb counts are much too high. However it can work if you just use it as a way to maintain your new life-style, just don't expect to lose ant weight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low-fun cooking, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly disappointing - and I was so looking forward to it! Very little imagination went into these recipes. They are basically normal meals with just the sides of potato or rice or pasta eliminated. I could have come up with spaghetti-less bolognese myself as low-carb cooking, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Healthy Cook Book, 12 July 2014
By 
A great book with simple low carb meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good recipes, 7 July 2014
By 
R. Wolley "Quodvultdeus" (SE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this book with daughter and had to have. asome lovely vegetarian recips and meaty ones - good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes from a reliable source, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Miss K. Fletcher "K. Fletcher" (Ware, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great recipes as ever from this series. I have loads of these GF books and all of them are great value for money.
Some of the recipes are a bit high in carbs for me, but they are clearly labelled and every one I have tried has been excellent.
There's another one on chicken recipes and seasonal salads that I also highly recommend to fellow low-carbers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good food, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
full of easy nice dishes and easy to follow instruction a must for any cook who entertains a lot yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews