Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very open and honest book
Wow! a very thought provoking account of a young man dealing with Gender Dysphoria and a mum's unconditional love.
It was so good to hear such an open and honest account of the feelings they were experiencing. Jon write's in a very articulate way and manages to use humour in a subject that has so many high emotions. Jon's personality shines through.
I especially...
Published 17 months ago by Kim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An informative quick read which will be of particular interest to those with gender dsyphoria and their families.
Based on the TV documentary of the same name, The Boy Who Was Born a Girl is the inspiring story of a mother and son coming to terms with gender dysphoria. When the documentary was filmed, Jon was just starting hormone therapy to develop more male characteristics. This book, written four years after the documentary, covers both the stuff seen in the documentary and the...
Published 11 months ago by Tome Keeper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very open and honest book, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! a very thought provoking account of a young man dealing with Gender Dysphoria and a mum's unconditional love.
It was so good to hear such an open and honest account of the feelings they were experiencing. Jon write's in a very articulate way and manages to use humour in a subject that has so many high emotions. Jon's personality shines through.
I especially liked the way you heard from both Jon and his mum Louisa, it was so interesting reading how they were both feeling and dealing with their own issues.

I think this book is a must for not only any parent, family member of a child with gender Dysphoria, but also all professionals dealing with these children so that they can gain an insight of what the child and parent maybe going through.

Thank you Jon and Louisa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Completely the opposite of s***", 21 April 2013
By 
Kaye (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
I cannot recommend this book enough. Trans* issues are a difficult topic to approach but this book does it fantastically. It approaches the topic in a way that is very human and so allows the reader to see Jon and his Mum as people first and foremost which will help people who don't understand the issue and feel uncomfortable with it (which is often the cause of unintentional transphobia).

A lot of books that deal with this topic go down the route of `I always knew' and buy into gendered stereotypes as if they are trying to prove something to their readers. This book doesn't which makes it a refreshing read. It is informative and challenges many assumed truths and stereotypes while still being very easy to read. It is well written in a fun and friendly manner while also being heartbreaking at times (I won't lie I did cry a tiny bit while reading it).

As soon as I had finished reading it I went out and bought another copy for my Mum. Would recommend to everyone and anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic unputdownable book., 21 April 2013
A fantastic unputdownable book. A moving story about Jon's emotional journey, which was fantastically written giving a sense of intimacy. It truly enhanced my knowledge of the strains put on inter family relationships surrounding gender dysphoria and those transitioning.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone it was a fantastic read which really which touched me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An informative quick read which will be of particular interest to those with gender dsyphoria and their families., 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Boy Who Was Born a Girl: One Mother's Unconditional Love for Her Child (Kindle Edition)
Based on the TV documentary of the same name, The Boy Who Was Born a Girl is the inspiring story of a mother and son coming to terms with gender dysphoria. When the documentary was filmed, Jon was just starting hormone therapy to develop more male characteristics. This book, written four years after the documentary, covers both the stuff seen in the documentary and the aftermath of the 'fame' and hormone treatment; as well as providing tips and reassurance to others in a similar situation.

Jon was born as Natasha in 1992, and spent most of his childhood feeling different to other girls, and experienced some social isolation because of this. At the age of 15, after having to deal with his mum's bipolar illness, his parents divorce, bullying and his grandmother's passing, he attempted to take his own life and was hospitalised in an adolescent mental health ward. During this time Jon explored his sexuality and gender identity and found solace in a community of other LGBT youth, and eventually found the confidence to come out as transgender. The later part of the book deals with some of the issues associated with being transgender, such as sexual relationships and starting hormone treatment, and Jon, here more than anywhere else in the book, comes across as a well adjusted, happy, mature twenty year old. The book ends with a tender, heartwarming letter from Luisa to Jon, that will bring a tear of joy to any eye.

The book is written with separate chapters written by Jon, and his mother Luisa, with them both offering different perspectives on events or periods of time in their lives. This is slightly off-putting at first, but the reader quickly gets used to the flips in narrator. The contents page makes it easier for those seeking information on a particular period of time to find that section; and there is a helpful glossary section for those new to the whole gender dsyphoria world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You, 4 Sep 2013
Thank you Jon and Luisa for raising this subject in an open and honest way. To have expressed your feelings in such a way was very courageous.
I will admit that at times I found this book very hard going and I felt a whole range of emotions. Parts of it made me laugh out loud, some parts made me cry, but most of
all it got me thinking about the whole trans gender issue, and how it is seen by society. Which I hope was the aim of the book.
Please, please, please keep trying to raise awareness for this, for those that came before you, for yourself and for those who will come after you.
Jon, you don't need me to tell you how lucky you are to have such a fantastic mum. Her love and support for you literaaly jumps off the pages. If only every parent were like this.
Luisa, you have been blessed with such an imtelligent and responsible person. I know how proud you are of Jon, and which ever path his life decides to take I know full well that you will be there with him every step of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOY WHO WAS BORN A GIRL, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Was Born a Girl: One Mother's Unconditional Love for Her Child (Kindle Edition)
WHAT A TRUE INSPIRING STORY AND INSIGHT INTO SOMETHING THATS NOT TALKED ABOUT MUCH AND A MOTHERS UNCONDITIONEL LOVE FANATASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So raw and real!, 19 Jun 2013
I just finished reading The Boy Who Was Born a Girl, and then shortly after found the documentary on YouTube! It was such a great read, whether you are transgender or not, I feel like this is a very relatable story and needs to be heard! The awareness and education Jon's story brings is really amazing. Both Jonathan and his mother are average everyday people that have a wonderful story to tell!
Props from Canada!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Refreshing, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Was Born a Girl: One Mother's Unconditional Love for Her Child (Kindle Edition)
There are a lot of books out there from families of trans people and some of them are good but a lot of them are horribly misgendering and questionable at best. What I love about this book is that you hear from Jon and Jon's mom. The title had me wondering if this was going to be another one of those horrible books that misgenders people and focuses so much on the "loss" of the trans person felt by the cis relatives - but the title may be misleading. Luisa speaks honestly about her feelings but is never disrespectful. I also love that Jon's story is not a typical trans narrative. He speaks honestly about his feelings about his transition and the process without it being moulded into the ideal trans story. Congratulations on writing a wonderful story and much kudos to Luisa for being a wonderful parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, touching and well-written, 12 May 2013
A brilliant and unique book, written from the point-of-view of both mother and son, as they reflect on their emotional and physical journey since Jon was born a girl. No doubt helpful for those touched by gender dysphoria, the book is also a great reminder of what it means to be a real parent, through the good times and the tough, for all readers. A gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an old school friend of Jon who regrettably lost contact with him when we went into secondary school, I only found about his decision to transition through watching his brilliant Channel 4 documentary. I therefore felt compelled to read this book in order to learn and appreciate what had motivated his decision to do so during the years I had missed. It is safe to say that I was not disappointed, as not only is the book incredibly engaging, but also extremely informative on the subject of gender dysphoria, a topic which I had previously been fairly ignorant about, perhaps partly due to the lack of comprehensive sex education provided by UK schools. Jon and Luisa's 'two-pronged' writing approach I found to be very effective in presenting the two sides of their story, of Jon's journey, and moreover I found the glossary of terms at the back a nice touch, and one which aids the accessibility of the book to those who are perhaps not so familiar with the book's subject area, such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews