Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Ms Wax...
Brilliant Book. I read it with Ruby's voice in my head which made it easy and amusing. I wish she had written this book when I was 14, it would have saved me years of heart/head ache.. A must read for those who want to find out more about themselves and those around them. Thank you Ms Wax, I am only sorry that you had to suffer first in order to get tothis point in...
Published 9 months ago by meriet duncan

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
The sections of the book in which Ruby Wax reflects on and recounts her personal experience are both moving and informative and certainly helped me to understand better what it is like to suffer from depression. However, I found the other sections rather annoying in their tone and at times I felt my mind lurching into the world of the untamed mind rather than the tamed...
Published 7 months ago by m e lockyer


‹ Previous | 114 15 1628 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfully wonderful, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
Although Ruby Wax goes in to great detail about how our brains are structured, this book is very hard to put down. She is searingly honest about the problems she has had - but her book makes very complicated ideas easy to grasp for those of us without her education and she does it with warmth and humour. Not so much a "how to do mindfulness" book but an eloquent explaination of how it works and what that can do for us. Would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and honest work, 9 Mar 2014
By 
J. R. Ashby (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to anyone, of any age. I did not agree with all that Ruby Wax has said but it is all thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
Is easy to read and understand the point! Brilliant book hope to see another!
Would definately recommend reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, accessible, practical...DO able-thanks Ruby!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
Recommend to everyone...especially concrete thinkers who may 'miss the trick' if pass it over as 'self help fodder'...it's a life skill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
What an honest,brave woman. I know what I want to train as now. I have been a teacher, counsellor and a mediator and this is going to be my next vocation. Everyone needs to use this skill especially children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read this book it may save your life, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
I recommended to my daughter and partner and sister. For me came at an appropriate time I needed to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an inspiring book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
The basic down to earth approach to some very real yet mysterious realities in our own mental and psychological make up is both inspiring and at times gob-smacking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit oversimplified. Some good bits, but wasn't as funny as I was expecting from the reviews I had read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
I love this book. It's a really honest account with some brilliant, practical and very useful tips. highly recommended...funny too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sane New World: Taming the Mind (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the book and especially the humour Ruby injects into the subject. Well worth the price and a very good read. Thank you Ruby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1628 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

Only search this product's reviews