Customer Reviews


2,416 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,718)
4 star:
 (369)
3 star:
 (105)
2 star:
 (61)
1 star:
 (163)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


312 of 319 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun, less frustration.
I had two indoor helicopters before I bought the S107G, an early Picooz and the Syma Aurora. Both were very tricky to fly even after some practise and gave both fun and frustration in equal measure.

The new S107G is proclaimed to be much easier to fly with greater gyroscopic stability so I decided to see if it lived up to this claim. The difference was apparent...
Published on 26 Oct. 2011 by John

versus
56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love it, good value per money, so far so good!
I just bought this helicopter (not from Amazon) and I love it!

I have some other electric helicopters 4chs, 6chs, 2D, 3D; but this is the most easy and stable to fly!

With just 01 finger it will fly up and down, and stay hovering without any changing of its position and with no need to do any correction! Then, if you use the right stick to forward,...
Published on 29 Nov. 2010 by Mr. R. H. D. Ribeiro


‹ Previous | 1 2242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

312 of 319 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun, less frustration., 26 Oct. 2011
By 
John (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
I had two indoor helicopters before I bought the S107G, an early Picooz and the Syma Aurora. Both were very tricky to fly even after some practise and gave both fun and frustration in equal measure.

The new S107G is proclaimed to be much easier to fly with greater gyroscopic stability so I decided to see if it lived up to this claim. The difference was apparent as soon as the aircraft took off and I was quite amazed (and delighted) at its improved controllability. Early generation models had a tendency to rotate after lift off and the first few seconds of flight required rapid adjustment of the trim to maintain a steady heading. Even then any power adjustment would change the rotor torque and start the helicopter rotating again. Keeping this rotation under control was essential before any serious flying could be contemplated and the constant corrections became a pain.

The surprise with the S107G is that it lifted off without any sign of wanting to spin. It was a real delight to lift it into a hover on the first flight and simply watch it hanging there without any need for any control input. This excellent stability allows you to concentrate on nothing else but flying the model and here you also see the benefit of the new control system. Up and down operation is much as before (new users need a little practise to maintain a hover) but turning is crisp - it is extremely easy to make this aircraft turn on to any heading you want and stop the turn dead. Forward and backward motion is slightly different as you have to take into account this is a heavier aircraft than earlier models and it develops some momentum. It takes a little longer to come to a stop but again you adjust to this without effort during the first few flights.

The real fun is the precision in which this helicopter can be flown. It is the first aircraft I can land exactly where I want it to and the first that I have flown out of one room and down a corridor like those impressive videos from the experts. Crashes have mostly become a thing of the past except when I now try something too ambtious like flying it into a broom cupboard - I only failed on the first attempt though!

In summary this is an excellent model as you spend most of the time in actual controlled flight rather than trying to keep it under control or retrieving it from behind radiators or sofas. That increases the fun factor enormously. A bonus is that it is also quieter than early models which other family members may appreciate.

The model is of serious construction with a beautifully made metal body rather than plastic moulding. It is also quite a bit heavier than early models so be warned that it can sting rather than just bounce off you. I'd not like to experience a head impact but there again I've not yet lost control of the model to the extent that this has been a possibility. Having said that I would advise a little more thought about safety.

In summary this is a lovely looking helicopter, it flies superbly and it is amazingly inexpensive. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


258 of 265 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really happy and brilliant price, 5 Dec. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Bought this after buying a few inferior models for nephews and nieces for Christmas's past and wanting to have a go myself.

First thing I noticed was how easy it is to maintain position. Previous ones I'd had a go on were so unstable that no amount of skill could stop you banging into a wall after 10 seconds of panicked flight. This model on the otherhand is a delight - it's precise, can hover easily and forgiving if you need to correct it. It's not amazingly fast but in a home envirnment you wouldn't want to go quicker anyway and there's more than enough things you can play around with by trying to land on things etc.

Can't believe they make a profit from this at this price! Best 20 quid I've spent.

**TOP TIP** I've picked up off the forums: Leave the copter for 10 mins after flights before charging to prolong the battery - the heat kills them quite quickly apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


246 of 253 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mans Toy, 29 July 2010
By 
R. Avery (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This little helicopter is beautiful to look at even before you get it into the air. The quality of design is stunning and it is very well put together. I had a cheap remote helicopter previously and it was almost impossible to control. With the built in gyroscope this one could not be more different. Control in all directions is sharp and crisp . Even from the start you should be able to fly this one safely without any problem after a few minutes practice.

Being able to charge it from USB is a great idea. The one I had previously had to be charged from the remote control unit which was an extra drain on the batteries. As the previous reviewer stated the charge time is quite long and the flight time limited - it's a nuisance but you do get used to this after a while.

A word of warning is to not even think about taking this machine outside. Unless it is a very dull still day the i/r remote control will lose contact and the copter will fall out of the sky, or it will get blown away as it is just not powerful enough to work against any form of breeze. Digressing slightly its quite good fun to set up a fan indoors and see how your piloting skills cope with `turbulence'.

If you are like me and never quite grew up then this is absolutely a must have! Even if its only to drive the missus nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


214 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible not to be impressed, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Many, many years ago I owned a toy helicopter game called "Vertibird", where you could fly a helicopter on the end of a long plastic arm in a circle, supposedly in order to thwart some escaping criminals whose getaway car was handily fitted with a large hoop which your aircraft could grab hold of. It was brilliant, but it was more fun to just fly it around and around in circles over the lounge carpet.

Anyway, this weekend I bought one of these helicopters and memories of "Vertibird" came flooding back. It's a sturdy little thing, made of metal whereas other similar helicopters tend to be plastic or polystyrene, and it looks fantastic. Once the box is opened you'll find the helicopter, the controller (which requires six AA batteries - not supplied), a USB lead for charging the helicopter from your PC (more on this in a moment) and a single sheet of instructions which, although written in somewhat fractured English, tell you all you need to know.

Once the batteries are installed into the controller you need to charge the helicopter itself. There are two available methods. The first option involves connecting the helicopter to the controller via a short cable which is stowed inside a compartment on the edge of the controller itself. Plug this into the helicopter and switch the controller on, and wait 40-50 minutes until a red light on the unit turns green. This obviously drains the batteries in the controller. The second option is to charge the helicopter from a PC using the supplied USB lead. Either way, a full charge will give you just under ten minutes of flying time, which is actually fine, and seems plenty.

So, what about flying? It's actually very easy to fly. There is a tiny switch on the side of the helicopter which needs to be flicked to the "on" position, and a bigger one on the controller, and once they're both active you're ready to go. A small LED light also flashes on the front of the helicopter to indicate that it is switched on, plus it looks pretty cool too. There are two joysticks on the controller, the left controlling the throttle (push it away from you to make the rotors spin faster, which allows you to take off and then control height), and the right moves left and right to turn the helicopter, or push away from you to move forwards, or pull back to reverse. After a few minutes - and a few crashes - you'll have the knack. Should the helicopter crash - which it will do, several times - it seems pretty sturdy, and replacement blades etc. can be purchased. The blades actually pivot, so should you hit an item of furniture they should do no damage.

Within five minutes or so I was happily flying journeys along the length of my lounge, the helicopter taking off from the carpet, tables, and even my hand, and landing on sofas and even laps. It's noisy, but understandably so due to its nature. Oh, and as others have said, don't take it outside as it's quite light and not designed to fly in breezes, plus it will easily go out of range and immediately crash.

All in all it's a tremendously impressive bit of fun, and you'll find yourself singing the "Airwolf" theme as you make it zoom around the lounge. My next goal is to make it land on the back of my (moving) "Big Trak", oh, and also to get the bigger one for Christmas. Think I'm going to need a bigger house :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Syma S107, 1 Jan. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Great fun to fly, easy to fly, beautifully made, robust and USB charging lead is excellent (saves TX batteries). Buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless, 8 Oct. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
I have bought indoor helicopters before, But this one surpasses anything before it. I fail to see how it could be
improved. The stability of this craft is unbelieveable. Its a joy to fly.Amazon are a good company to deal with too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional toy, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
When I was a kid these kind of things would have cost a months salary, which is why although I am far to old I can finally afford to relive my youth. I bought a cheap sub £20 rc helicopter a couple of years ago which was fun but you couldn't really control where the thing went, so when I decided to treat my self to a new one for only just over £20 I wasn't expecting the earth. I was blown away when it came, it's beautifully made, extremely stable in flight and heaps of fun. My only concern would be how this can be sold for this money, who is making them and how much are they being paid?
I definitely recommend this product, it's awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on now, just buy it will you!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Syma S107G RC Helicopter with Gyroscopic Control (Toy)
Syma's website does not show any history of there being a 2nd edition of this model. Neither does any other significant RC forum. The box (see uploaded pic) has no mentioning of anything like 2nd edition as well. This is the regular syma S107 helicopter, have no doubts about it. Even the S107'G' is nothing but a marketing augmentation like the word 2nd edition. Having said that, this is by far the most recommended thing for the money as a first RC toy. Just beware that you will not be able to take a piss at your mates with ''I got the 2nd edition 'G' model yo!'' in a hiphop accent.
This does come preloaded with a 'Mod'. The throttle lever as I know used to be spring loaded. This one is not. On one side this will let you hover the helicopter while on the other side you will need to calibrate the remote every time its switched on with the throttle left in a non-zero position.
Well, pretty much everything has already been written in other reviews by much more experienced RC hobbyists. There will never be enough researching over it lads. This is not a perfect toy and might have some little shortcomings. But at less than 20 quid, even Margaret Thatcher would want to manufacture it here and not in China.
Here are a few tips i found after a lot of research on it.
1) Always allow 10 minutes cooldown period before and after recharge.
2)Fly indoor only
3)Dont hoard spare parts with purchase of toy, buy when needed.
4)Invest in a AC to USB charger or use one of your phone's to charge.

I have recently injured mine with a crash so outrageous that it might have aswell been illegal to fly like that, the gyro is now making it fly like a mosquito. For this price, I would still say its very good, this.

Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value tough little helicopter worth buying but with a couple of minor issues, 1 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Syma S107G RC Helicopter with Gyroscopic Control (Toy)
Summary: The Syma 107 is a very sturdy little helicopter with better than expected battery life with pretty good accuracy.

Detailed review.

Setup
-------

Setup is pretty easy, Syma have been at this game a while now and I had one of their earlier helicopters where the instructions provided hadn’t had been through the most accurate translation service around but they seem to have overcome those hurdles now and the instructions provide had good diagrams and were very well written.

There are effectively three ways to charge the helicopter. 1) Using the charging cable built into the remote control to charge from the six AA batteries it has which can be very useful if you happen to be out and about and nowhere near a charger, 2) using the included yellow charging cable which plugs into the USB port of a computer or any other device with a standard usb port like an Xbox or Playstation for example or 3) also using the yellow charging cable plug into a wall charger that you might have for a tablet or mobile phone. I’ve tried all three methods and all worked fine, I tend to avoid using the charging from controller method though so the batteries last longer.

Charging
-----------

I’ve never really liked the charging port in the Syma’s, they are small and fiddly and while there is a definite right and wrong way to connect it like USB, it’s not so small it’s almost inevitable you’re going to get it wrong every other time. I also had a problem on the first 107 I ordered where the socket wasn’t making a good connection and only intermittently charging (you can tell because there is a built in red LED on the yellow charging cable that lights up when not charging or charge is full which was permanently staying on unless I continually fiddled with it). Thankfully I was able to return it easily enough and the replacement works absolutely fine.

The instructions claim the battery will do 6-7 minutes use after 40-45 minute charge time and from a couple weeks of use I think that seems pretty accurate.

Controls
-----------

The controls are pretty standard across all the Symas with the left stick controlling vertical thrust / speed and the right ‘analogue’ stick controlling direction and rotation. There is definitely some variance in the quality control though as the first one I was sent, the verticle / power control was a lot harsher with less variable control, the replacement is much better with a smoother transition through the power scale. The forward / backward and rotation controls all seem to work well and turn the craft smoothly. I have had to adjust the trim control as when it first arrived it slowly rotated counter clockwise however the correction was small and well within the range of the trim adjuster. The only thing I will criticise about the trim control is that it is far too prominent on the controller, rotates too easily and is in a position that is easily knocked which can again throw it out of trim. Would be better if this was located at the top the controller out of the way.

Stability
----------

Syma do a few sizes of helicopter and the one I used before was about twice the size of this one and I have to say, was about twice as stable as a result. Don’t get me wrong the 107 is pretty good and the gyroscopic stability bar on the top works well, but it doesn’t work miracles or defy the laws of physics. A craft this small is always going to be a little ‘skittish’ but and if the rotors catch something you have about a 50/50 chance of being able to recover it. The other aspect is the constant power drain, bear in mind the battery only lasts 6-7 minutes so the charge is constantly draining at a pace which is noticeable. This makes hovering quite tricky you have to adjust quite a lot for the gradually diminishing power. I don’t want to seem negative though, it’s actually very good and as an indoor helicopter works great while you’re in control. I wouldn’t be tempted to use outside though except on a very still (and dry) day.

Build quality
---------------

Let’s face it, it’s going to break at some point. Unless you intend to fly it in a church hall with no hanging lights and quilted walls, ceilings and floors, it’s going to have the odd collision. Syma know this which is why you get a comprehensive spare parts list with order numbers and provided a spare tail rotor in the box. Having said that you don’t want to be walking on egg shells and nervous every time you fly it and I’m happy to say it’s not like that at all; having has several crashes and collisions nothing has broken so far (even when I’ve cringed at the force of the impact) and like the previous Symas I’ve owned which all shared the same sort of metal chassis and plastic shell / blades construction I am very impressed with the quality of the materials and components. I will however be ordering a spare pack of rotors and the coupling bars which were the things that went first on my last one. However, be realistic when you order one of these, it is an indoor remote control toy that requires some skill and whose chief components rotate at hundreds of RPM, they will break, how quickly they break will depend on your skill and how often you crash it into things at speed, it’s very unlikely to be as a result of component failure through normal use.

Who is it for?
----------------

At this price it’s a great stocking filler for just about anyone, kids, grownups, grandparents etc… will all love it for a bit of fun. For younger kids though it’s a bit tricky and probably beyond their patience threashold as you need to make very steady, slow and small movements to maintain control and for that they may be better with some of the more stable four propeller ‘drone’ style crafts.

Four stars – not giving five because of variability in quality of controls, position of trim controller and the silly charging point Syma insist on using as mentioned above but other than that a great value helicopter that is lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good indoor helicopter, 1 Nov. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This is a very stable and easy to control helicopter, I have not tried the 107 model, this is a 107G that is supposed to be better. I have a number of different indoor helicopters and for less than £20 this is great value for a 3 channel helicopter. I will be buying more as gifts over Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews