Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cool About You"
I bought this album for the new version of "Puppet", "Puppet - No Strings". It is beautiful. Then I was smitten with the remastered version of 'Cool About You' which was written for Sandie by the Jesus and The Mary Chain. What a beautiful song and performance from Sandie. When I saw her singing this song on stage it gave me goose pimples. And of course the brilliant...
Published 23 months ago by Brian Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A few great songs, not her best album
A few great songs, not her best album. However I shall still enjoy it. Great to play while u are in the kitchen, ironing. lol
Published 9 months ago by kas adam westray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cool About You", 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Brian Johnson "brianj748" (Christchurch, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
I bought this album for the new version of "Puppet", "Puppet - No Strings". It is beautiful. Then I was smitten with the remastered version of 'Cool About You' which was written for Sandie by the Jesus and The Mary Chain. What a beautiful song and performance from Sandie. When I saw her singing this song on stage it gave me goose pimples. And of course the brilliant version of Anyone Who Had a Heart, simply perfect! A classy complilation :) obviously songs that the lady chose herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect!, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
Richard C. Button (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
This CD takes you right back to the swinging 60's, even if you weren't there in the first place!
Sandie wasn't the greatest singer, but she Shaw had something (groan)and her voice was pretty unique.
This compilation takes you right through her career from the earliest hits onwards. For me the only negative is an ill advised stripped down version of Puppet On A String (puppet-no strings), but the rest of it is wonderful and as usual Salvo have done a sterling job on the remastering. It sounds fantastic.
Even the songs i wasn't too familiar with are now firmly planted in my head.
It's a bargain, and i'll be investing in some of the other Salvo reissues for sure.
Long live love - long live Sandie Shaw !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sixties and the eighties, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
This compilation was hand-picked by Sandie, so to some extent it reflects her personal preferences. The interesting track here is an alternative version of Puppet on a string, here in a new moody ballad version titled Puppet no strings, as well as the original version with its original title. Another notable feature of this compilation is that it includes a few tracks that resulted from Sandie's surprise comeback in the eighties, which occurred because some of that decade's pop stars were fans of Sandie.

Born Sandra Goodrich, she was discovered by Adam Faith and became Sandie Shaw. Sandie quickly established herself as one of the most important female singers of her generation, at least in Britain, between 1964 and 1967. Sandie was best suited to up-tempo material and that is clearly reflected in this collection. If you are looking for soft, romantic love songs, look elsewhere.

Sandie began her career with the Bacharach-David classic, Always something there to remind me. Taking the record to the very top of the UK charts, she knocked Roy Orbison (Oh pretty woman) off the top spot and remained there for three weeks, after which (curiously) Oh pretty woman returned to the top for one last week.

Chris Andrews (who had his own hit with Yesterday man) wrote all of Sandie's subsequent hits prior to Puppet on a string, including her second UK number one (Long live love) and three other UK top ten hits (Girl don't come, Message understood, Tomorrow).

By the beginning of 1967, Sandie seemed to be fading fast, but she was then selected to represent Britain in the Eurovision song contest, which she won with Puppet on a
string, written by Bill Martin and Phil Coulter. Sandie hated the song but the public loved it and it became her third and last UK number one hit. Sandie only had one more UK top ten hit, Monsieur Dupont, a translated French song. It was the first of two hits that Sandie had in 1969, after which it seemed that her career was over.

This compilation contains everything that most people will ever want of Sandie's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a sort of 21thC Greatest Hits CD album, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
Exactly 30 years after the famous 3 song collaboration with the Smiths in 1984 we are all still waiting very patiently for a Ms SS CD with all the digitally remastered 3 Rough Trade tracks all together ie HiG/Idoya/J.!!!

Still, at under at £5, it wont break the bank and its a sort of fair-ish hits++ CD album compilation which with a bit of extra thought and better planning could have been much improved on.

This is supposed to be a 50th anniversary celebration CD album (at 77mins long) of her career which....!

The sound quality of the 2/3 Rough trade tracks with the Smiths is truly wonderful so therefore no possible aggravation from Mozza from his reinforced bunker in California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Many Memories, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Cavernguy (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
As a young lad I was crazy for this lass and saw her several times in concert. A great collection with all her hits and more. Listening to this cd takes you back to an era of music which still shines above anything that followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Collection of British Pop!, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
I first found Sandie Shaw thanks to The Smiths and her work done with the band in 1984. That is the main reason I purchased this LP. I have a collection of her greatest hits that I picked up in 2001 but decided to splurge out on her back catalogue now that it has be re-issued with bonus material.

If you have never heard Sandie Shaw before than this is the perfect starting point. The price is more than reasonable and the listening makes for a wonderful journey through some of her more popular songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PUPPET NO STRINGS, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
SEEN HER PERFORM THIS SONG WITH JOOLS HOLLAND AND HIS RHYTHM AND BLUES ORCHESTRA IN BOURNEMOUTH AND I JUST HAD TO BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live sandie, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
This cd. Takes me back to teenage years.
This has all the hits and songs I didn't know she recorded.
Her voice is a lot better than I remembered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good complilation, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my partner, she likes a good "Best of" as she is not OCD like she says I am. This is a well put together career spanning overview sympatheticall packaged with Sandie's own input. Does what is says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool pop chick of the 1960s, 24 April 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Live Love (Audio CD)
I am a fan of most of the big names of 1960s' music, and Sandie Shaw was one artist that I had intended to listen to for some time. This excellent, official compilation contains all of the songs that I was already familiar with, and lots that were new to me. Although I don't think Sandie was the best singer, she had a unique voice that I find quite appealing, and her songs were mostly very catchy. She clearly had a good team around her, and recorded pop hits that were fairly typical of the era, and most of them are to be proud of.

My personal favourite tracks include 'There's Always Something There To Remind Me', 'Tomorrow', 'Girl Don't Come', 'Long Live Love', and an excellent, laid-back, moody re-recording and mix of 'Puppet on a String', which in my opinion is vastly superior to the original.

A generous, and nicely packaged collection. 'Long Live Love', as you can see chaps, also sports the most gorgeous photograph of Sandie on the cover, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Live Love
Long Live Love by Sandie Shaw (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews