Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars And so it ends...
I was very pleased that I was able to buy and instantly play this album in the Amazon Cloud player.

The album is heavy and enjoyable, however it suffers from the same epidemic that almost infected the music industry nowadays: compression at all costs, to make the sound bigger and louder. Because of this reason, "The last spire" is a frozen spire, compared with...
Published 11 months ago by D. Stan

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And so they ex Spire.
So, what's it like.

Well, it's like this, somewhere between Forest of Equilibrium and Guessing Game. That's it really.
Oh, and skip the opening track. Lee Dee endlessly entoning "Bring Out Your Dead" in a manner that lacks scariness or Pythonesque humour.

Buy - If you're a completist.
Published 14 months ago by Pesto Fingeration


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars And so it ends..., 21 Sep 2013
By 
D. Stan (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Spire (Audio CD)
I was very pleased that I was able to buy and instantly play this album in the Amazon Cloud player.

The album is heavy and enjoyable, however it suffers from the same epidemic that almost infected the music industry nowadays: compression at all costs, to make the sound bigger and louder. Because of this reason, "The last spire" is a frozen spire, compared with the warm trees from the Forest of Equilibrium.

"This body, Thy tomb" is my favourite track.

I have all their albums and EPs, I know they said will disband, but I look forward to a pleasant surprise in 10 years time! It would probably be the heaviest, most bizarre and unapologetic album in doom history. Something that... "The last spire" is not. So this cannot be the end, take a break for a decade, but come back guys!

I cannot give less than 5 stars to Cathedral for a memorable career in doom metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Spire (Audio CD)
Unfortunately Cathedrals' last effort, after this release they quit.

Doom metal with heavy riffing the spirit of early Sabbath in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listen to all, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Spire [VINYL] (Vinyl)
received the order, I am very pleased, enjoy the music, thank you very much!Greetings from Russia, and until we meet again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Spire..., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Spire (Audio CD)
This comes as a very good surprise! I wasn't expecting a new record from Cathedral since I thought "The Guessing Game" was to be their last studio release. But, as a matter of fact, it's a good thing that they decided to go for one more, as the two previous studio efforts were quite patchy and were lacking the dynamics, the cohesion and depth of the "Carnival Bizzare/ Ethereal Mirror/ Caravan Beyond redemption" period.
The Last Spure is a clear return to DOOM in all its glory. This is clearly "Forest of Equilibrium"'s little brother. The guitar sounds are amazingly "fat" and "dirty" and the vocals and lyrics instantly bring you to a time when plague was around every corner.
It is a solid album that concentrates on "heaviness" and darkness even if there are a couple of -more than welcome- psychedelic moments.
Cathedral was one of the Doom pioneers/ post Sabbath along with Witchfinder General and St Vitus, and the big difference with those bands and the newer wave (Kadavar, Orchid, Uncle Acid,...), is that they really have a sound of their own and don't just go "stealing/ borrowing" Sabbath riffs.

A very very good album that wipes away the deception of "Guessing Game" and the rather poor offering that was "Anniversary".

Thanks guys for that Last Spire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant goodbye, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Spire (Audio CD)
Such a shame to be reviewing the last Cathedral album, but they've certainly gone out on a high.

Would highly recommend to all the old time Cathedral fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last and Back to basics, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Spire (Audio CD)
The last and not my favourite but a very good album. A must for all fans go buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And so they ex Spire., 3 Jun 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Spire (Audio CD)
So, what's it like.

Well, it's like this, somewhere between Forest of Equilibrium and Guessing Game. That's it really.
Oh, and skip the opening track. Lee Dee endlessly entoning "Bring Out Your Dead" in a manner that lacks scariness or Pythonesque humour.

Buy - If you're a completist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Spire
The Last Spire by Cathedral (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews