Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the Quest Continues..., 6 Oct 2013
By 
Frenchie - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
Wouldn't it be wonderful to be Time Travellers? **sigh**
In the The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate we once again go on the trail of a lost relic, the Spear of Fate, this time, before evil Emerson Drake, a rogue Time Traveller, can get his dirty hands on it. And time is not on our side (pun intended).
I have read the first two, The Time Huntersand The Time Hunters and the Box of Eternity (Book 2) and it is darker, more sinister but no worries, still plenty of excitement and fun. Plenty of action too, and strangely enough, plenty of real historic facts mixed with fiction (euh, I admit it... I did not know there was really an artefact called the Spear of Fate, or I did not know the real name of Dr Death) and plenty of facts on mythology (ie. the Minotaurs, Atlantis, Ancient Egypt) but these little fun facts (except for Dr Death) flow in very well with the stories as they are answers to innocent question from either Becky or Joe.
But it is, before everything else, a book for children (of all ages) and it does not fail us. I could not read it in one sitting, unfortunately, but my daughter did. She likes Becky, even though my daughter is only 10 and I suspect she is trying to develop telekinesis in secret.
If you have not read it yet, then do it now. The kindle version, if you have a kindle, is very affordable. I read somewhere that Mr Ashmore was going to release soon number 4, so, get ready. This is the series of the Time Hunter, but each book can be read independently. There is some background info so, you can catch up who is who and the background info does not impede the reading at all.
You will love Uncle Percy. He is, I would say, an Indiana Jones with a touch of the mad professor. He must be quite dishy too as many of the ladies in the Time Travelling Community make doe eyes at him (not that he notices anyway) and a real gentleman hero. Becky would like to be like any sixteen year old girl and has some problems to come to term with her ''special'' abilities, but she is very wise for her years and Joe, well, Joe is heavy, cheeky, boisterous, but as I have a twelve year old son, I can really say that he is quite well portrayed.
There is also the enigmatic Will, Edgar the Minotaur and other wonderful people like Maria and her husband, the housekeepers, and Barbie, the ... robot helper.
As a parent, I have no hesitation in recommending the three books of the Time Hunters. As a reader, I recommend them to anyone who is young at heart and loves fantasy. Young at heart because you have to remember that they are principally written for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spear Of Great! (Sorry), 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
I can't tell you how much I love Carl Ashmore's books. The joyous atmosphere created by Carl is right up there with J K Rowling for sheer enjoyment.

Slightly darker than the previous books, The Spear Of Fate sees our heroes up against that evil Emerson Drake and a hideously evil Nazi doctor, Aribert Heim. The fact that this guy actually existed makes for slightly uncomfortable reading at times.

Humour, action and unadulterated pleasure combine to make this another outstanding read. Can't wait to see what Carl has up his sleeve for the next book.

Simply outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice age 11, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
An amazing book definitely recommend!a good read full of adventure and mystery.it great learning about the adventure to stop Emerson Drake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
Thu book Is one of those ones that once you pick up you just can't put down again this book Is. The third in th time hunters series an defiantly th best ! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
I thought you would like to know that I am 70 years of age and thoroughly enjoyed the three books in this seri
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
Liked the concept shared story with grandson. Bought hard copy of first book in series for him. Age difference 50 years between us both enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - A Real Winner!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Grandma (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
A couple of days ago I read and reviewed The Time Hunters (Book 1 of the acclaimed series for children of all ages). I enjoyed that book so much that when I noticed author Carl Ashmore had just released a third book in the series, The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate, I couldn't One-Click fast enough! (Again with the staying up half the night reading!)

A great mix of science fiction, mystery, archeology and mythology, Becky and Joe are back for Christmas vacation in The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate. This time they'll attend a Christmas "do" deep under the sea, visit Ancient Egypt and make new friends in Tibet in a fast-paced adventure. Older readers will find some real surprises here, including a very special blue policeman's phone booth. (See how many you can find!)

Written for Young Adults (Age 11/12 or Grade 8 up through ~17) but imminently suitable for science fiction fans and, to quote the author, "children of all ages" this is a brilliantly done series that has Grandma very impressed. Can't wait to see what Carl has in store for us in book #4!

Very Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapism, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
After thoroughly enjoying the first 2 books in the series I was so excited when Carl published this third instalment. I am falling in love with the characters more with each instalment. The story is pacey and exciting but also touching and funny. It very cleverly incorparates real historical facts with the concept of time travel. Thanks Carl for helping me escape into the happy world of Uncle Percy and co!. As with all good books; my only criticism is that it had to end. Roll on number 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book that has got Everything and Then Some ..., 7 July 2014
By 
Michael Haberfelner (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
Ancient Egypt and German warplanes, minotaurs and Atlantis, the real shape of the sphinx and how it got its new face, mummies and monsters, time travel and the Beatles playing a gig at the bottom of the Ocean, a 14 year old telekinetic girl and Doctor Death - well, there's a book that has got it all, but it takes amazing skill as a storyteller to tie all these things together in a coherent narrative and telling an extremely entertaining story that works independently as well as within the series storyarc. And while this was written for a younger audience and definitely not for a jaded cynic like myself who has read a few too many books, seen a few too many movies about time travel, I still enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars weasel time, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Time Hunters and the Spear of Fate (Kindle Edition)
so dip dip dip all sms all so ask eek Russia-Y dish hair dish for rosy weep all did doc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews