Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
77
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2014
If you are a fan, as indeed I am, of classic british 60's and 70's horror films then this is a must. Lovingly restored to near perfect HD picture quality for blu-ray. Includes the full ending occasionally absent from previous releases.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
I also own the previous anchor bay release and I must say this transfer is superior. the picture is superb for an older movie. the anchor bay release features commentary from the director, writer and actress Linda Hayden as well as a featurette on Linda, so I'm glad I have the previous release for these extras, but for the movie this release is far superior in picture quality.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Well what can I say about this film other than an absolute classic .... This is one of my favourite horror films of all
time and rates as No.1 on my list of favourite horror films .... This folk horror film is a very creepy and spooky film
with a great soundtrack by Mark Wilkinson that adds to the flavour of the film .... The location shots are very spooky
and menacing ... The film begins with a lonely ploughman, Ralph Gower calling to his mistress, Cathy Vespers over the valley
.... the music then suddenly goes very creepy as the viewer knows that something frightening is going to happen as the ploughman suddenly unearths what looks like a human skull buried in the earth .... and exposes an eyeball left in the socket of the skull with an earthworm crawling on it .... The mood of the film is really brilliant as we're taken into the opening credits and Wilkinson music score ... What makes this film work is the low camera angle shots and disturbing scenes of woodland and the countryside that give it an awesome creepy and eerie feel and adds to the witchcraft that is taking place
.... These scenes are perfected by director Piers Haggard and superb photography from Dick Bush ... I think I recall that most of the location shots were taken around the countryside of Buckinghamshire in a village called Bix ..... The ploughman goes on to report his find to a local Judge, Patrick Wymark and when returning to the scene finds that the skull has somehow disappeared .... The Judge immediately concludes that no such being had ever been there .... Later the central character in
the film, Angel Blake (played by saucy sexpot actress Linda Hayden who was I believe only seventeen at the time and had only done one previous horror film for Hammer, Taste the Blood of Dracula)....Well an Angel she certainly ain't !! She corrupts the local youngster of the village into forming an occult Devil Worshipping group that goes around murdering each other
to supply limbs for a Satanic figure they are worshipping who marks the children with hairy patches on their skin ...
Michelle Dotrice (Frank Spencer's Betty) also appears in the film when there is a shocking rape scene and murder.
She later has a patch of the hairy skin removed from her leg by a local doctor after the locals chase her and throw her in the
lake and assume she's a witch .... This is a great film from Tigon that was released in the early 70s and is very much regarded
as an accompanying film to Witchfinder General also made by Tigon a couple of years earlier .... This film was done on a low
budget whereby it would have been impossible to pay wages for the top horror actors Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing to have
starring roles ... However the cast in the film are still remarkable and deliver outstanding performances ... This is a must
for all horror fans who have loved the Wicker Man and Witchfinder General ... A definite must have !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Just Brilliant. The Colours just Shine out of the Screen. The Sound Is the Original Mono recording, And Is Huge With lots of Bang for Your Buck. Voices are Held Rock Solid on the Center Speaker. And the Rest Is Nicely Ambient. There Is no 5.1 or DTS Sound on this disc. And there Should not be Ether. Everything Is as Original as can be, Given the Age of the Film. There Is no Grain on the Film That Blights most Films of this Period. The Picture transfer Is Superb. The Whole Restoration Is Fantastically Done. And the Next Best thing Is, It Is UNCUT. Just Buy and Enjoy. For anyone Making or thinking of Making a Horror Movie. Then this Is Your Benchmark. It's Got Everything. I Remember Watching this from Behind the Coach When It was First Broadcast. (My Dad Worked Nights and I stayed up to Keep Mum Company) And It has Remained a Film I have always Wanted. And Now I Own It.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Heaven knows, it could have been far, far better than it is. Be certain to read the accompanying leaflet by the way, assuring you that it's set in a feudal medieval England. Where on earth do they find the tossers who write these things?
Plus point: Linda Hayden, as ever. Minus: Simon Williams looking like a drugged-up member of some circa 1970 rock group. Plus: Patrick Wymark, who was a fine actor and died too young. But this does not have the atmosphere of an underrated movie like 'Horror Hotel' (if Patricia Jessel doesn't give you the creeps, then there's something wrong with you), nor of 'Witchfinder General'. Nor even, if it comes to it, a Hammer movie in the days when that studio still had a grip on itself, circa 1960-ish. Barry Andrews couldn't act if his life depended on it; and what is James Hayter doing in there with his bumbling James Hayter act?
Still and all, having watched 'Mission To Mars' last night, this isn't half bad. At least the children in this are children (or meant to be) rather than modern American 'grown-ups' who seem to do everything other than suck their thumbs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
A British horror film that I have seen translated into several foreign languages. Set in 15/16 century agricultural England, when witch craft was supposedly in its hey day
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
There are some British horror films that deserve cult status and some that don't and this one has me going with the "not" camp. However, it is nevertheless a strangely beguiling piece of horror hokum. It is hard to define but if you like quirky horror films like Witchfinder General, Horror Hotel and The Wicker Man then you're probably on the right lines but it doesn't quite match any of them. Great atmosphere and beautiful photography and a very classy young cast (Michelle Dotrice of Some Mothers Do 'Av 'Em, Wendy Padbury already famous as Zoe in Dr Who, Robin Davies of Catweazle...). The ending doesn't live up to (most of) the rest of the film but probably only The Wicker Man does that well. One for the collection if not the awards ceremony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This movie is a really good horror flick. It is very period authentic and it gives a great feel for what people really feared in those days. You can imagine that most people in villages of the late 1600's would believe that every bit of this was possible. They probably sat around and told tales just like this one. Which makes this a fantastic movie that doesn't try to be hip, it goes for a good creepy tale of horror. People were highly superstitious right up until the `1900's in most places only this tale plays it as not a village in hysteria which did happen in those very repressed days, but as a real evil lead corruption. The evil corrupts and leads people into violence ,sex and murder. In reality the hysterias would lead innocent people into getting killed by fearful people who believed stories just like this one!. Which we enjoy today as a horror movie.
That makes this story a eye opener if you watch this flick and look at it like that. I thought the acting was excellent as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
This is arguebly the best horror film ever made. I can write lengthy reviews but is repeating what everyone else is saying if you google. Like everyone said the only negative was the devil in the finale that looked unconvincing. I think the maker of the film share that view too. It was done on a budget and special effect at the time was not good enough. I'm not one for remakes but I would support the idea of updated scenes (like they did for Star Wars episode 1-4) so that they could make the devil look more credible and update the fight scene too.
I wonder if there are additional footage that did not make the cut back then but worthy of inclusion now?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 April 2012
I'm always saying that I'm not a true fan of horror movies but do appreciate a good shocker and that might let me off writing a decent review. But it doesn't, of course.

I saw this on The Horror Channel and I'm afraid, people, that it's not up there with 'The Wicker Man', which is a true classic, nor quite 'The Witchfinder General'. Both these others are often used as comparatives with 'Blood On...' and certainly they do have similarities; namely the folky witchcraft and devil worship deep in the quaint English (& Scottish) countryside.

Whilst The 'Wicker Man' is superbly paced and there is a real sense of menace throughout and features one of the greatest endings of all time and 'The Witchfinder...' has Vincent Price swooping around on horseback and quite a lot of juicy violence, these aspects aren't as prevalent in this film.

It's still good, of course, though the lack of star names require the actors to work a bit harder for our approval and enjoyment. Patrick Wymark and Linda Hayden are fine and play their roles with gusto and I noticed Mrs Frank Spencer (Michelle Dotrice) had a good and meaty role.

When the sinister acts do occur, they are definitely worth waiting for, with just the right amount of nudity and carnal lust, mixed in with violence and chilling ritual. If I have a gripe, it's as I said, that the pretty landscapes dominate the picture too much and the nitty-gritty take too long to come. The ending and a scene of ritualised rape in the middle were very well done and the final scene unfolded most dramatically.

All in all, a good, but not outstanding chiller, even though horror aficionados may say otherwise. I don't doubt their choice, in their eyes and it does remain one of British cinema's better horror flicks, from an admittedly chequered catalogue.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)